We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Any reply of your question” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Nesva Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Nesva Hotel to your Saves list
Nesva Hotel
2.5 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   39-12 29th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Long Island City
Bologna, Italy
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Any reply of your question”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I booked this hotel with booking.com for May 2013. Then I got an email, there is problem with credit card, so I tried another one (I booked five different hotels without problem the same week), but again was not working. So I contacted hotel, came just generic information they will contact me asap, but they never even reply, and they cancelled my booking. Not impress by the customer service of the hotel. What a pity, because on the pictures looks very nice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nesva H, Manager at Nesva Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. Your credit card declined when we attempted to authorize your reservation. We requested a new credit card with booking.com. We are not able to cancel your reservation unless you do not provide a new credit card within 24 hours of the request, as per booking.com policy. The information requested was never received and therefore booking.com canceled the reservation.

We apologize for the miscommunication and hope to welcome you to our hotel in the future.

All the best,

Shirley (shirley@nesvahotel.com)
Nesva Hotel - New York City Vista
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    83
    12
    2
    4
See reviews for
46
53
7
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We spent one night at Nesva in mid-February, 2013. After we checked out, they charged one of our cards additional $170. When we contacted them, their General Manager Tim Westwig wrote us very rudely that those charges were for damaged curtains and smoking inside. Both of these accusations are nonsense, we didn't damage any property or smoke anywhere close to this hotel. We suspect that this was a way to cover their own mistake, as they had some problems with their reservation system when they were checking us out. Avoid this place, they are shameless!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nesva H, Manager at Nesva Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
This was a complicated situation. The guest never actually did get charged or pay for the damage that was done to the room. However , it was a seperate issue this $170.00 referred in the guest comment, this was actually a mistake a staff member had made. There had been multiple reservations made by two different people but it really was a single reservation. The staff member did make a mistake, I personally apologized to the guest for this mistake, and we did submit a refund for that amount. Even though damage was done to the room I let that go in light of the staff making this mistake. So the comment left here is factually completely false and we think trip advisor should be more responsible to remove comments like this that are 100% not true.

If our staff makes a mistake we take responsibility for it and fix it as fast as we can.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Limerick, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed 5 nights at the hotel and enjoyed every night of it. The rooms and toilet (even the hall ways) were very clean, the cleaning staff is definitely doing a terrific job. The hotel is a couple of minutes walk away from the 39th Ave subway station and you're off to the city.

The room was a bit tight though but no complains with the 2 queen beds we have. A bit on the downside would have been a small chair to sit on, and that cleaning staff always tend to forget to replenish our supplies of tissue and toiletries. But other than that, the great smiles of the front desk staff (Katya in particular, forgot the names of the others) are enough to make us want to stay at the hotel the next time we visit New York. Very friendly and accommodating hotel staff!

Room Tip: Hopefully next time we're at New York, we still get Room 501.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nesva H, Manager at Nesva Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Many thanks for posting on Tripadvisor. It is so great that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you liked our location and staff so much. Come back to visit us again soon, we’ll have our warm welcome ready for you!

All the best,

Shirley (shirley@nesvahotel.com)
Nesva Hotel - New York City Vista
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at hotel. Two nights are in the twin bed room, the third night is in the king bed room. The king bed room is nice, definitely recommended but the twin bed room is not. The bed is really small, and air condition is loud, doesn't work well, keeping popping hot air and making the room too hot, but it is too cold to turn it off completely. We did hear the rooster and cat fight but it is not too bad if you're at 8 floor. They have some simple breakfast offered. The surrounding area is safe but doesn't have much to offer. It is convenient to go to downtown area by subway. Overall the hotel is worth the money.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

I stayed at this hotel during the Hurricane Sandy snowstorm. Initially, I was a little worred because 1. I'd never heard of it, 2. When I tried to google it from work, it was blocked, and 3. This was the ONLY hotel that had availability, which made me wonder why.

Fortunately, I was pleasantly suprised! This hotel is relatively new (only about a few months old) so most people probably aren't aware of this little gem. The room was really nice, very hip with a cute little balcony. It was a little small, but I would attribute that to NYC standards. There are only about 4 rooms on each floor which is great because you don't have to worry about people running up and down the halls. The staff was very nice and knowledgeable about food options in the area. The hotel also has free breakfast but I didn't have any. They also get points for free wifi.

Overall, I was very pleased with my one night stay. I'm not sure I could have done more than a night or two simply because of the smallness of the room. But the balcony definitely helps make the space feel a little larger. If you are looking for somewhere to stay without paying Manhattan prices, I'd recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the side of the hotel facing the east river. I think the view might be a little bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnolia, MA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

For a 3 day business trip to MSKCC (1st Ave/68th St) the choice was to pay $400+ in Manhattan or $152/night just over the bridge at this brand new (opened this summer) small but fine place in Queens. The rooms are very clean, no smells, nice firm beds, all bathroom fixture work fine. Mine had a balcony to the west, i.e. view of the bridge and Manhattan. Free Wifi and nice big-screen TV, both worked very well. Phone and alarm clock in room. Continental breakfast included - that's muffins, croissants, coffee, tea, juice, yoghurt, bananas, and oranges. They kept running out of stuff, but responded quickly to requests.
The neighborhood looks a bit shady at night, but just fine during the day. Lots of people on the streets; small shops and restaurants around. Cab ride over the bridge ~ $15.00. Street parking available.
Just one problem, and this is not their fault: Someone has a rooster in the neighborhood, and it woke me up at 4:30 every morning.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, get a room on the north-east corner; the rooster seems to be south-we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Shying away from the excessive prices over in Manhatten on a business trip, I just tried the Nesva. Good choice on my behalf despite my initial concerns. Located only 2 blocks from the Q line, access to a dinner over in Manhatten was quick and easy.
Rooms are good although not spacious but clean and neat with good staff.

Room Tip: Top floors allow view of the City.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nesva Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nesva Hotel

Address: 39-12 29th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Long Island City
#6 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Nesva Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nesva Hotel is a brand new modern boutique hotel offering striking views of the legendary Manhattan skyline. Located in the Long Island City (LIC) section of New York City, one Subway stop from Midtown Manhattan. Close to area attractions and major city airports. A mere two blocks from N & Q Subway Lines and four blocks from E, M, R, & 7 Subway Lines. Only a short walk across the scenic Queensboro Bridge into the heart of posh 59th Street shopping and sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Nesva Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nesva Hotel Long Island City, New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nesva Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.