We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vietnam in NY” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cyclo

Cyclo
5-51 47th Avenue, Long Island City, NY
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Restaurant details
New York, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Vietnam in NY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

This is as good as it can get, tasty rolls, amazing soups, real original Vietnamese food that you will not get anywhere else in NYC.
You must go.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    6
    5
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Queens, NY
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Vietnamese Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I had take from Cyclo. My wife ordered the Bo Luc Lac" a marinated cubed sirloin beef dish while I had the Bahn Mi sandwich. They were both excellent. The cubed beef was extra tender and the sandwich was pretty substantial with a good amount of pork that was very good. Also, i called in the order and it was ready when i got there 15 minutes later.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, New York
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Quite Delectable!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Cyclo was a welcome addition to the LIC neighborhood of Queens, NY, by where our job is located. Its menu boats of quite a few Vietnamese dish options, ranging from noodle soups to the traditional Vietnamese sandwich. We’ve visited Cyclo for dinner once and have ordered food to go on a number of occasions.

The ambiance is less than that you would expect and see from the usual Asian infused restaurants located in Manhattan, NY. They still play traditional music and do have some décor, albeit a select few, that suggests that it is a Vietnamese restaurant.

The menu offers quite a few selections but not too much that it overwhelms. It is perfect for the location as most patrons do visit the place for a quick bite.

We’ve had a couple of the sandwiches and have tried one of the Chef’s Specials. All were done quite well. Both were flavorful and were just the right serving.

The price is quite reasonable and as expected for the neighborhood and location with dish options ranging from $8 - $15. I would recommend Cyclo for those desiring something different as, I myself, would definitely re-visit the place when craving the same!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Vietnamese food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Great food!! We had beef Pho soup, beef skewers, beef on rice and curry chicken on rice. Fantastic food all around. It's clean, reasonable priced and has friendly staff. I would recommend it to anyone who likes Good Vietnamese food. I will come here again.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“I take it back...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

I had given this place average rating based on their soup portions but since then I had their sandwich and I must say it was excellent.
So good that i have been there almost twice a month with my wife. We order one sandwich to share (bah mi), order soups and traditional coffee... Btw all this costs about $30.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cyclo also viewed

Long Island City, NY
Long Island City, NY
 
Long Island City, NY
Long Island City, NY
 

Been to Cyclo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cyclo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.