We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Testaccio Ristorante

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Testaccio Ristorante
47-30 Vernon Blvd., Long Island City, NY
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great atmosphere!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

My favorite place in LIC! The pizzas and salads are a must. Great atmosphere and superior service. LOVE LOVE the grilled calamari.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    16
    21
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Quality food in an unpretentious restaurant. Much rather be here than in any high price, high fufu place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Quality food in an unpretentious restaurant. I was pleasantly surprised to find such great food in this location--not that it was a bad neighborhood. We walked around after dinner and enjoyed a great view of Manhatten. We actually found this restaurant by searching reviews on our phones.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Lovely place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Very good dinner. Found out wine is $5 at the bar and $10 at a table. Too late.The bread pudding for dessert was excellent though small to share.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great italian pasta!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Nice Italian restaurant located on Vernon. Some great pasta dishes if you are craving some italian. Also great for happy hour at the bar with some good value wines and yummy appetizers. Another local favorite of mine. Atmosphere is good too whether it be for an afterwork dinner or date!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Top Contributor
586 reviews 586 reviews
395 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Testaccio is absolutely amazing... in all aspects!

My fiancee and I wanted to have our rehearsal dinner here, with our main reason being that Testaccio is in close proximity to our venue. After our initial tasting experience, our minds were blown out of proportion and we were left dazed and speechless. I can't wait until the actual rehearsal dinner day itself.

We selected the $45/person party menu and were pampered for the next two hours. Our server, Denise, was immaculate and we were assured that the same impeccable service should be expected on the day of. The manager would check in on us every so often as well and make sure that everything was taken care of and to our liking. Food kept overflowing on our table, and I swear this was a complimentary tasting for six people, not two.

I was surprised with the bread assortments. They were delicious. The salad was fresh and the Antipasto del Testaccio was interesting and unique. Super thin crust pizza, baked in a brick oven imported from Italy, was fabulous. These items would be refilled to our guests until all the entrees have been fulfilled.

Denise and the staff started us off on the Ravioli agli spinaci and the Lasagna al ragu', spinach/ricotta ravioli and veal lasagna, respectively. These were outstanding dishes, and I was delighted. I'm a huge fan of ravioli and lasagna and they put the perfect ingredients on it to make it tons better than expected. I never expected Testaccio to top these plates next with the Ciccia al pepe rosa and the Filetto di merluzzo al basilico, skirt steak and codfish fillet, respectively. The skirt steak was cooked in a delicious seasoning/sauce. It was tender and juicy. It came with sauteed spinach that really caught me by surprise. I never expected to enjoy spinach this much. The fish was just as amazing, if not better, and was cooked to perfection. All these entree dishes at the tasting were only half sizes of what would appear on the day of, but the portions were still huge.

Dessert was clutch. The Tortino di cioccolato e caffe' is a dark chocolate and espresso flan with rum caramel sauce and whipped cream. Wow. I was in paradise. We were already full and dying in our seats, but we killed the dessert in an instant because it was just that good.

I highly, highly recommend Testaccio. Great owner, manager, and servers. Awesome food. Lovely decor and a pleasing ambiance. Perfection...

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Testaccio Ristorante also viewed

 
Long Island City, NY
Long Island City, NY
 
Long Island City, NY
Long Island City, NY
 
Long Island City, NY
 
Long Island City, NY

Been to Testaccio Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Testaccio Ristorante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.