We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Testaccio Ristorante

Testaccio Ristorante
47-30 Vernon Blvd., Long Island City, NY
Website
Update restaurant details
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Lovely place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Very good dinner. Found out wine is $5 at the bar and $10 at a table. Too late.The bread pudding for dessert was excellent though small to share.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    13
    18
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great italian pasta!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Nice Italian restaurant located on Vernon. Some great pasta dishes if you are craving some italian. Also great for happy hour at the bar with some good value wines and yummy appetizers. Another local favorite of mine. Atmosphere is good too whether it be for an afterwork dinner or date!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Top Contributor
527 reviews 527 reviews
355 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Testaccio is absolutely amazing... in all aspects!

My fiancee and I wanted to have our rehearsal dinner here, with our main reason being that Testaccio is in close proximity to our venue. After our initial tasting experience, our minds were blown out of proportion and we were left dazed and speechless. I can't wait until the actual rehearsal dinner day itself.

We selected the $45/person party menu and were pampered for the next two hours. Our server, Denise, was immaculate and we were assured that the same impeccable service should be expected on the day of. The manager would check in on us every so often as well and make sure that everything was taken care of and to our liking. Food kept overflowing on our table, and I swear this was a complimentary tasting for six people, not two.

I was surprised with the bread assortments. They were delicious. The salad was fresh and the Antipasto del Testaccio was interesting and unique. Super thin crust pizza, baked in a brick oven imported from Italy, was fabulous. These items would be refilled to our guests until all the entrees have been fulfilled.

Denise and the staff started us off on the Ravioli agli spinaci and the Lasagna al ragu', spinach/ricotta ravioli and veal lasagna, respectively. These were outstanding dishes, and I was delighted. I'm a huge fan of ravioli and lasagna and they put the perfect ingredients on it to make it tons better than expected. I never expected Testaccio to top these plates next with the Ciccia al pepe rosa and the Filetto di merluzzo al basilico, skirt steak and codfish fillet, respectively. The skirt steak was cooked in a delicious seasoning/sauce. It was tender and juicy. It came with sauteed spinach that really caught me by surprise. I never expected to enjoy spinach this much. The fish was just as amazing, if not better, and was cooked to perfection. All these entree dishes at the tasting were only half sizes of what would appear on the day of, but the portions were still huge.

Dessert was clutch. The Tortino di cioccolato e caffe' is a dark chocolate and espresso flan with rum caramel sauce and whipped cream. Wow. I was in paradise. We were already full and dying in our seats, but we killed the dessert in an instant because it was just that good.

I highly, highly recommend Testaccio. Great owner, manager, and servers. Awesome food. Lovely decor and a pleasing ambiance. Perfection...

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Brunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Value and Quality, visit Testaccio for Brunch and you will not regret it. huge portion and tasty food. service is very responsive

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“good friends dining together”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

cute little restaurant with a friend in L.I. C.
menu is good.
service is great. drinks are wonderful.
food is good. my lambchops were wonderful.
the waiter was so accomodating . no cocktails but mixed drinks are available.
bread basket was not good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Testaccio Ristorante also viewed

Long Island City, NY
Long Island City, NY
 
Long Island City, NY
Long Island City, NY
 

Been to Testaccio Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Testaccio Ristorante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.