We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pretty awesome hostel... I experienced a hiccup” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Q4 Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Q4 Hotel to your Saves list
Q4 Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   29-09 Queens Plaza North, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel amenities
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“pretty awesome hostel... I experienced a hiccup”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

So the location is great, the rooms were big, the bathroom was beautiful, the beds were big and comfortable and had plug sockets and lights above them. The common area is incredible... one of the best ive seen.

My hiccup. I came back from a mets game and someone was sleeping in my bed. I asked the receptionist to assist me.. he said " y'all better wake him up and tell him to move" -_- eventually someone he worked with helped me. The rest of the staff were great.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    70
    19
    7
    4
See reviews for
6
22
62
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Finland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Stayed here last year and was interested to see if it had stayed the same. This time I stayed in three and four bed female dorms on the first and third floor. The rooms are as neat and clean as they were last year when this place had just opened. Location is excellent and the staff friendly, i also appreciate that they offer free towels and provide earplugs for those who are bothered by the outside noise.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We got this hostel as the reviews were good and it was! We were in a 3-bed dorm for 4 nights and we had 2 different roomies throughout our stay which was interesting. The room was a bit small so we had to take turns opening our luggage but that's okay since we were out most of the time anyway. There are lockers in the room for each bed but you'll have to bring your own lock or you have to buy it from the counter. The towels and linen were relatively clean and the bed was not too bad. Toilet had a slight smell but we didn't use it that often as well so it didn't bother us too much.

The best part of this hostel has got to be the common spaces. The basement is pretty awesome with an equipped kitchen, television, pool table, table tennis table and lots of hang out spaces. We managed to make a few new friends here while watching basketball games and boiling water. It's a perfect place to meet new people and really encourage interaction. There is also a reading room on the second floor which we didn't really use much but looks really comfy and homely as well.

The guy at the front desk was really friendly and recognised us on our second day onwards. Try asking whether you could get a quieter room on the higher floors when checking in because we were on the first floor right next to the front desk and even though it felt safer, it can get pretty noisy at night and early in the morning. Oh, and you have to pay to store your luggage and it is charged per person.

The location of the hostel is pretty good, as it is of walking distance to both Queen's Plaza and Queensborough stations which gives you access to a few lines. Not much restaurants or eating places around though, except for sandwiches, burgers and a Subway but that's not too bad. There's a bakery right at the entrance to Queensborough which sells awesome bagels but I think they close on weekends.

Overall, it was a good stay & we enjoyed ourselves!

Room Tip: Higher floors might have less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Nice and cheap hostel, with clean rooms, shower and toilets. The location is useful and there is sufficiently quiet. The tube is near, and there is ten hops to Penn station, not more. I am highly recommending this place.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laval, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

After loosing ZIP112 in Williamsburg, this hostel brings a similar cleanliness (wich is the most important quality for me), big dining area with well equiped cooking utilities. The decor is also nice. It has a good quality-price value. I was in a 4-females dormitory with bathroom, and it was awesome, and I slept really well (the noise of the nearby train didn't bother me). Minus= the neiborhood is boring with a couple of hobos walking by.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

A great little funky and modern Hostel, located conveniently just across the river on Queens Plaza. The hostel would have only been 5-10 years old at my time of visit, and was very clean with all modern fixtures and amenities. Staying in a dorm room for 8 people, it was a comfortable fit, with more than enough room to move about the room. The common room was decked out with table tennis, a snooker table and a common kitchen -- which was great for getting to meet people. The travel time into the city was minimal, with a train station located just 5 minutes walk down the road. It is a bit external to the hustle and bustle of Manhattan island, but for that reason, it's a great place to come and clear your head after a big night out on the town.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

I was in town visiting friends and needed a cheap place to sleep for the night. What I got was definitely better than I was expecting! I have stayed in hostels before, and they are hit and miss as far as cleanliness goes. The Q4 was VERY clean and comfortable. Everyone in the room I stayed in was friendly and quiet. And the hostel itself seemed quiet. Loved that there was a bathroom in the room and not down the hall. Also, the location was pretty great, right next to the subway line and a 10 min ride into Manhattan.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Q4 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Q4 Hotel

Address: 29-09 Queens Plaza North, Long Island City, NY 11101
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Q4 Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand New Fully Renovated Hotel & Hostel! 3 Stories, and Full Basement of pure comfort, convenience and unbelievable affordability! Long Island City is located in western Queens, just across the East River from Midtown Manhattan and the Upper East Side. It is one of the most "vibrant areas in Queens and all of New York City." "In the last twenty years overwhelmingly industrial Long Island City has become a major cultural center with world-class art and working artists." Only 10 minutes from Midtown Manhattan and a block from subway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Q4 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Q4 Hotel Long Island City, New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Q4 Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.