We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hostel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Q4 Hotel

Save Saved
You added Q4 Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Q4 Hotel
29-09 Queens Plaza North, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel amenities
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“good hostel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

pluses:
Very close to multiple subway line stops, easy access from JFK and manhattan.
Hostel is new, all furnishings are new.
The lounge downstairs was a nice place to hang out.
Helpful boards listing various activity possibilities
CoinOp laundry machines in basement.
Good Wifi everywhere, although sometimes slow probably due to everyone using it.

Minuses:
No elevator. Had to drag heavy bags upstairs.
Noise. The 7 train elevated track is very close and runs all day and night. bring the earplugs.
it's a hostel. The cramped 6-person room I was in had very little floor space for luggage.
It was hard to access my luggage without blocking the entry/exit to the room.
Strangers come in at 2AM and would pack up and leave at 5AM. Bring the earplugs.
I wouldn't spend any more time in the room beyond sleeping and showering, unless you're with friends.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    41
    10
    6
    2
See reviews for
4
13
39
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Taichung
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

The hotel looks fancy and modern but that is not what a traveler cares about. There is no individual light for each person in the room, which means if someone shut the big light, everyone else needs to do their things in the dark. There is no closet or place for the people at upper bunk to place their stuff. I heard my roommate dropped off something at night more than twice, which was really disturbing. And plus, for the people at upper bunk, there is no plug to use. Toillet and shower are in the room which I don't like it either because of the layout of the room. I slept very close to the shower room. People who came late and use the shower woke me up. And the shower does not have enough shelter and hanger to put clothes and stuff. The only good thing is probably its cleanliness. I really don't enjoy the stay here and don't know why the scores got so high. A youth hostel is far better than this..

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

10 minute subway ride from Central Manhattan, clean, helpful & polite staff, new, relatively safe and good value - this ticks most of the boxes. Yes, it is noisy - what's with all the car hooting in NY?! But there's a big jar of ear plugs on the front desk, and once those were in I had a decent sleep.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

I enjoyed my stay here, the only thing I didnt like was i thought the bed and pillows were uncomfortable. There was no free breakfast but generally a nice place to stay, It is clean and close to public transport.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed at the last floor (3rd) in a Double Private Ensuite, which has its own bathroom (no elevator). The location is great because the subway and train entrance are on the other side of the road, however that's a minus as well because the sound of the trains is like someone is sharpening a knife on a grinding stone the entire night, but you get used to it (there are free ear plugs at the reception!). The room has a skylight which, unfortunately, lets all the cold in. The only way to change the intensity of the rooms AC is to ask the reception to change it (there is no phone in the room). Bed is comfortable.

Common areas are good, nice couches and TV's, there's also a ping pong table. In the lower living room there is a safe room still with the huge door (like a bank) but it's now a room with couches and lots of pillows, the TV is strategically positioned so you can watch it from the safe room.

The hotel seemed packed so my suggestion to the hotel is that they use their money to get double windows so the noise won't come inside...

Room Tip: Whatever the room you'll choose, it will be loud with the trains passing by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smokinggun0759
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I was realy impressed this was a real hostel . not some woman tossing beds in a room in her house and cramming people in for money illegally. its a real hotel with a professional staff . its in an old bank building that was renovated pretty cool that the safe room is a chill spot in basement . some people traveling to nyc dont get it that hostels here are not like in Europe except a few like this one and loft hotel in Brooklyn that are realy done with thinking . not some guy looking to make quick money by doing the cheapest thing . then they close down. Ok , the place is well done like a gym , u get towel bed and sheet locker is on bottom of bed which is cool. not that small or big. they at least have a real luggage room not that ur bags are left in hallway like a hostel i stayed at..
I read people complain about shower which is one complaint i had.. because i had to use my wash cloth to wipe up water .. so they need bath mat. the shower was realy great . itallian tile glass tile and large sunflower shower head.
the kitchen" yea," i can say it did lack dishes and cups. they had a blender and maybe i can give them my old juicer.. Its near the q r train, just like block across street. the guy at desk gave me wrong directions and i was walking into queens far down. i didnot hear noise in my room and it would not have bothered me. i stayed in a hostel in queens where the astoria blvd was to much noise .. with no class rooms and basic..this is far better deal , and an experience in architectural design. somewhat.
its in long island city near psi art museum walking distance.. alot of privacy in basement common area and room to move around. dont know why someone complain about that.
tv flat screen .. the rooms were not that big or small. six bed i stayed in . i dont know about the mattress it seemed for some reason what they call it tempropedic where it molded to my body or just old and had a dent in it . I didnot mind the staff because my experience in others hostels with unprofessional staff who are there laughing at people abusing them is realy bad . they find some one who needs a job with no personality and put them in hostel. i was ok with staff despite wrong directions. This place is easier to get to than the West Way hotel and a breath of fresh air from someone just putting beds in a room with the intent to make alot of money off tourist.
great envioremnt high ceilings clean new , a hotel hostel environment ,cooking facility. needs mor dish and plate cups. a juicer.. and also to designate better the recycle thing in basement and make a compost. if that is what the silver pail was for make it a sign that says compostables which they should to green up the place.. it was hard to know what was glass and plastic.
they have bathrooms at least in common area and u can chll out after u check out. good tv.
furnishings and other.. NO FREEzer !!! that was also a strange thing cause people had ice cream . there was no freezer just fridge.. labels provided.. they charge for baggage check afer u check out. bring ur own lock. not pay 6 dollars for a lock..or buy one at 99 cent store dont buy a lock..people who give low ratings to better hostels are people who have not stayed in many nyc or usa hostels. This is a good deal.. when price is lower.. its great.. travel for bussienss fun.. and search for place to live in nyc..

Room Tip: i prefer top rooms in places. but people i read complain about top rooms facing train track. i was i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Stayed at the Q4 for 2 nights, September 20, 21. The place it self is clean. The common room in the basement is an awesome place to hang out on a rainy night. Most of the people I met there were from across seas and also claimed that the Q4 was a nice place. The staff was relatively freindly, and the night security guard was a real cool guy, gave my group directions that saved us almost 30 mins in travell time. Can't recall his name but that born and raised newyorker was one of the best people i"ve met in that city.... Remember people this is a hostil,,not a hotel.

Room Tip: room 107 is where i stayed, thats just right in front of the main check in desk,, our security guy k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Q4 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Q4 Hotel

Address: 29-09 Queens Plaza North, Long Island City, NY 11101
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty lodging in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand New Fully Renovated Hostel! 3 Stories, Full Basement and Rooftop of pure comfort, convenience and unbelievable affordability! Long Island City is located in western Queens, just across the East River from Midtown Manhattan and the Upper East Side. It is one of the most "vibrant areas in Queens and all of New York City." "In the last twenty years overwhelmingly industrial Long Island City has become a major cultural center with world-class art and working artists." Only 10 minutes from Midtown Manhattan and a few short blocks to the subway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Q4 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Q4 Hotel Long Island City, New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Q4 Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.