We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ill say great but could use a half mark for one reason” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Q4 Hotel

Save Saved
You added Q4 Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Q4 Hotel
29-09 Queens Plaza North, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel amenities
smokinggun0759
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“ill say great but could use a half mark for one reason”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I was realy impressed this was a real hostel . not some woman tossing beds in a room in her house and cramming people in for money illegally. its a real hotel with a professional staff . its in an old bank building that was renovated pretty cool that the safe room is a chill spot in basement . some people traveling to nyc dont get it that hostels here are not like in Europe except a few like this one and loft hotel in Brooklyn that are realy done with thinking . not some guy looking to make quick money by doing the cheapest thing . then they close down. Ok , the place is well done like a gym , u get towel bed and sheet locker is on bottom of bed which is cool. not that small or big. they at least have a real luggage room not that ur bags are left in hallway like a hostel i stayed at..
I read people complain about shower which is one complaint i had.. because i had to use my wash cloth to wipe up water .. so they need bath mat. the shower was realy great . itallian tile glass tile and large sunflower shower head.
the kitchen" yea," i can say it did lack dishes and cups. they had a blender and maybe i can give them my old juicer.. Its near the q r train, just like block across street. the guy at desk gave me wrong directions and i was walking into queens far down. i didnot hear noise in my room and it would not have bothered me. i stayed in a hostel in queens where the astoria blvd was to much noise .. with no class rooms and basic..this is far better deal , and an experience in architectural design. somewhat.
its in long island city near psi art museum walking distance.. alot of privacy in basement common area and room to move around. dont know why someone complain about that.
tv flat screen .. the rooms were not that big or small. six bed i stayed in . i dont know about the mattress it seemed for some reason what they call it tempropedic where it molded to my body or just old and had a dent in it . I didnot mind the staff because my experience in others hostels with unprofessional staff who are there laughing at people abusing them is realy bad . they find some one who needs a job with no personality and put them in hostel. i was ok with staff despite wrong directions. This place is easier to get to than the West Way hotel and a breath of fresh air from someone just putting beds in a room with the intent to make alot of money off tourist.
great envioremnt high ceilings clean new , a hotel hostel environment ,cooking facility. needs mor dish and plate cups. a juicer.. and also to designate better the recycle thing in basement and make a compost. if that is what the silver pail was for make it a sign that says compostables which they should to green up the place.. it was hard to know what was glass and plastic.
they have bathrooms at least in common area and u can chll out after u check out. good tv.
furnishings and other.. NO FREEzer !!! that was also a strange thing cause people had ice cream . there was no freezer just fridge.. labels provided.. they charge for baggage check afer u check out. bring ur own lock. not pay 6 dollars for a lock..or buy one at 99 cent store dont buy a lock..people who give low ratings to better hostels are people who have not stayed in many nyc or usa hostels. This is a good deal.. when price is lower.. its great.. travel for bussienss fun.. and search for place to live in nyc..

Room Tip: i prefer top rooms in places. but people i read complain about top rooms facing train track. i was i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    46
    12
    6
    2
See reviews for
4
15
42
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Stayed at the Q4 for 2 nights, September 20, 21. The place it self is clean. The common room in the basement is an awesome place to hang out on a rainy night. Most of the people I met there were from across seas and also claimed that the Q4 was a nice place. The staff was relatively freindly, and the night security guard was a real cool guy, gave my group directions that saved us almost 30 mins in travell time. Can't recall his name but that born and raised newyorker was one of the best people i"ve met in that city.... Remember people this is a hostil,,not a hotel.

Room Tip: room 107 is where i stayed, thats just right in front of the main check in desk,, our security guy k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I booked my hostel there, but they were so rude, I ended up cancelling my entire stay there, despite the penalties. They provided wrong information about date changes on multiple occasions. I even changed bus tickets based on their misinformation. I let them know that their employee provided inaccurate information and but, would not make any accommodations. Some of the staff do not know what they are talking about and the customer service, especially from the manger, I believe her name is Sophia was terrible and I do no recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I was very pleasantly surprised with this hostel. The location in location LIC is good, it's a 10-minute train ride to Manhattan. Brooklyn takes a little longer, but it's still ok. The place is new and the build-quality is hight. I really liked the common area in the basement. It's huge and has a flatscreen tv, pool table, a big kitchen, sofas, games, it's the best selling point of the hostel. I've been in two rooms in this hostel, and the rooms facing the street can get a bit noisy, so bring earplugs.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I stayed in the Q4 hotel in total 4 nights in a room shared with 3 other people. The hotel is clean, people working there friendly and helpful. Of course a lot depends on who you share room with, but in my case the other 3 girls were very nice. My room was from the side of the Subway, which made it a bit noisy, but when you visit NYC probably you'll be so tired every evening, that this won't hold you from sleeping very well. Aha, and in the entrance to subway (where line 7 etc arrive), there is fantastic place called Commissary - just wonderful for breakfast/lunch! Grab something there on your way to discover NYC! Fresh juices, very good coffee, croissants and other delicious things!

Room Tip: MAybe you can ask for a room which is not in the front part (facing subway)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I stayed on level 3 for 4 nights. The noise there never stop, literally 24hrs. Had headache and lack of rest during my stay there. Was terrible.
The only upside staying here was the staff who was friendly and helpful.

On last day, I managed to move to room 107 which according to staff was the only quieter room.

It is cheap for NY but not worth the while if you have other choices.

Room Tip: Room 107 is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I would recommend this hostel, although I may add, it's nothing exciting.
The price is ok for NYC and it's definitely good value - you could go cheaper, but with downs on other parts.
What I would recommend are ear plugs as the hostel is right in front of a metro line.
In detail:
- rooms, common areas, baths are very clean
- common areas are quite nice
- kitchen very well equipped, everything very organized (food in fridge labelled)
- bathroom in the rooms (see previous reviews: some ppl like it some don't; I think it's convenient, although it is of note that the doors are sliding doors and don't shut completely which might be awkward for some ppl)
- room size is ok, lockers under lower bunk, about 35 l backpack size (rather on the small side)
- beds: bunk beds are a bit squeaky (metal frame), mattresses are a nightmare
- staff: uhm... I'd say functional. Neither very enthusiastic nor very helpful or friendly. they do their job.
- hostel policy: NO ALCOHOL allowed. you judge.

Room Tip: Try to get a room to the back or farther away from the metro lines.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Q4 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Q4 Hotel

Address: 29-09 Queens Plaza North, Long Island City, NY 11101
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty lodging in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand New Fully Renovated Hostel! 3 Stories, Full Basement and Rooftop of pure comfort, convenience and unbelievable affordability! Long Island City is located in western Queens, just across the East River from Midtown Manhattan and the Upper East Side. It is one of the most "vibrant areas in Queens and all of New York City." "In the last twenty years overwhelmingly industrial Long Island City has become a major cultural center with world-class art and working artists." Only 10 minutes from Midtown Manhattan and a few short blocks to the subway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Q4 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Q4 Hotel Long Island City, New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Q4 Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.