We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hostel or hotel?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Q4 Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Q4 Hotel to your Saves list
Q4 Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   29-09 Queens Plaza North, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel amenities
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Hostel or hotel?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Great price, fantastic location and even en-suites!

Right next to a subway station, the location is ideal of you want to get about New York City & surrounding areas. Staff were friendly and really helped us out by recommending some great places to eat. We did have a bit of a problem with beds - these were assigned and we weren't told, but it was very well-resolved by the manager.

The eating area is cleaned regularly but still a bit messy as you'd expect in a hostel; plenty to cook with and lots of fridge space though. Bedrooms and bathrooms on the other hand were really tidy and the showers are hot. They don't even run out when the rest of your roommates get there before you!

We felt pretty safe here and there are large lockers for each guest (I could fit my carry on suitcase in it if I wanted) but bring your own padlock, and don't pick the wrong-lettered locker or they'll cut your lock. Also met some lovely friendly people during our stay and although there was quite a bit of noise from other rooms/reception through the night we managed to get a good night's sleep.

Room Tip: If you have lots of luggage, go for the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    64
    18
    6
    4
See reviews for
6
18
60
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Killarney
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

This is a very modern hostel located a short subway hop from Manhattan. We stayed during summer last year just after the place opened. The building is a renovated old bank, they even have the vault as a chill out space in the basement. There is fee wifi throughout the place for guests. The staff were a little cold and not too friendly but the price of the place more then made up for it. AVOID rooms at the front of the building as the overhead 7 subway line will keep you awake all night! The place has full air conditioning although it can sometimes be turned off by reception, make sure to get them to switch it back on. The hostel/hotel is popular with European back-packers and you'll get to meet a good bunch of fellow travelers.

Room Tip: A room at the rear of the building, avoid the front and east side due to the noise from the overhead...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petah Tiqwa, Israel
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

On my stay in New York City, I stayed at two different hostels, both of which are highly rated. The other one was actually more highly-rated than this one, and the prices were the same.

Two words: no comparison. Q4 was better in every single way: the staff was friendly and helpful (and there was enough staff to help all the guests), the rooms were clean and new, the hostel has an en-suite bathroom (not something you had in New York hostels, or indeed most hostels in the world), there was a large common room and plenty of space to store food, a locker, etc. But really what bought me was the en-suite bathroom.

The location is also excellent. People often complain about this hostel's location, but in fact since it's so close to the subway it couldn't be better placed. There are a number of lines going from Q4 to the city, and it's also very close to the line to Roosevelt Island, from where you can take the cable car with an awesome view of Manhattan (for me it was the first time view).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

This was the first time I ever stayed in a Hostel and it wasn’t all that bad. The rooms were clean and so was the restroom. The staff was great and accommodating. Though located a ways from all the sites in Manhattan you still are able to access them easily with a subway right across a couple of streets. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

The room was very clean. The decor was also modern and updated. We had a room with a private bathroom, and it was clean and good-sized. The shower was rather spacious. The only downside is that the above ground subway was very audible from the room, so it is definitely important to bring earplugs and even then it was hard to sleep through rush hour in the morning.

The common room in the basement is great. The kitchen has been updated and there's more than enough dishware/fridge space/cooking utensils available for everyone. There is also a great large, dining room table with a TV, ping pong tables and a lounge area. The fact that this room is in the basement means that the noise in the common room is not audible in the bedrooms.

There is a grocery store about 10 minutes away by bus, and a small convenience store across the street for any emergencies. The subway is right next to the hostel and it is a direct line to downtown Manhattan. The location is therefore great - and the costs are much cheaper than in Manhattan!

Room Tip: Try and see if you can choose a room that is more on the interior or farther away from the above gro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

could not have been happier! stayed here for 4 nights with a friend. great staff, clean rooms, lovely design throughout, great communal kitchen/entertainment area and all just a few stops from new york city centre. very relaxed!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

The room was clean and the staff friendly but be warned, the hotel is right next to a railway line which can be noisy - when I asked to change rooms I was told the hotel was booked out but they were helpful in offering earplugs.

Upon viewing the evacuation plan which has the size of the rooms displayed on the back of the door, we had the smallest room on level 3 - no elevators. I was disappointed as I had booked 5 months in advance. The location is lousy with a 30 minute walk to the nearest grocery shop. There is NOTHING in the immediate area.

Staff come and go into your room at any time to empty your bin or check for leaks so I didn't feel our stuff was safe, we had a private room with our own bath/toilet (very tiny). I would not recommend really if staying in NYC.

Room Tip: select another place
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Q4 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Q4 Hotel

Address: 29-09 Queens Plaza North, Long Island City, NY 11101
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Q4 Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand New Fully Renovated Hotel & Hostel! 3 Stories, and Full Basement of pure comfort, convenience and unbelievable affordability! Long Island City is located in western Queens, just across the East River from Midtown Manhattan and the Upper East Side. It is one of the most "vibrant areas in Queens and all of New York City." "In the last twenty years overwhelmingly industrial Long Island City has become a major cultural center with world-class art and working artists." Only 10 minutes from Midtown Manhattan and a block from subway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Q4 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Q4 Hotel Long Island City, New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Q4 Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.