We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had better places to stay and there are no elevators” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Q4 Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Q4 Hotel to your Saves list
Q4 Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   29-09 Queens Plaza North, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel amenities
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Had better places to stay and there are no elevators”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

The room was clean and the staff friendly but be warned, the hotel is right next to a railway line which can be noisy - when I asked to change rooms I was told the hotel was booked out but they were helpful in offering earplugs.

Upon viewing the evacuation plan which has the size of the rooms displayed on the back of the door, we had the smallest room on level 3 - no elevators. I was disappointed as I had booked 5 months in advance. The location is lousy with a 30 minute walk to the nearest grocery shop. There is NOTHING in the immediate area.

Staff come and go into your room at any time to empty your bin or check for leaks so I didn't feel our stuff was safe, we had a private room with our own bath/toilet (very tiny). I would not recommend really if staying in NYC.

Room Tip: select another place
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    73
    26
    9
    5
See reviews for
6
24
73
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glenn Dale, Maryland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

A nice alternative and affordable to hotel, clean, spacious, close to the train, close to manhattan, a superb lounge area and affordable rates!! It does not look like a hostel but an actual hotel! In the lounge area they even had nice hookah like intimate lounge. :) If you want a nice place to stay then go to the Q4 Hotel. It was great.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

That's a very nice hostel! Breakfast is not avaliable, but there are some places to eat nearby.
Safe place, clean (linens were not changed in four days though), fair price, few meters from Queensboro subway station, free wifi connection. Check the lounge at the 2nd floor, it's very nice.
I recommend this hostel, for sure!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Overall a great (and quite cheap) place to stay.
Public transportation gets you easily and in just 10 mins in Manhattan.
Rooms are extra clean, with A/C, wooden floor. beds are confortable.
It's not a party hostel, it's very quiet at night.
The only problem could be the neighborhood, kind of scary at night.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Stayed at Q4 in the fall of 2012. Was not sure what to expect but was more than pleasantly surprised. The staff were incredibly friendly, the room was immaculate, the common room and shared kitchen was fantastic and the location was ideal. It was a bit noisy but it is NYC after all. Thank you for the great stay and please keep up the good work.

Room Tip: We had a private room at the back, much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

The common room is amazing, you can make your own food, cook more healthy things, or walk a block down the road and get fast food/ cafe food! There is a small corner shop just down the road with multiple subways. It was cheap too, you meet loads of people - It has a pool table, ping pong and a laundry room! The staff are amazing too, real nice people! Out of my stay in New York this was by far the best!! HIGHLY reccomend if you want luxury for a few dollars! The only thing that I would say is for travellers free food is always an eye catcher, so breakfast in the morning is the only thing that I would add! Overall its brilliant! Thank you Q4 Staff :)

Room Tip: One tip is to stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Really nice, modern, secure hostel. Hotel prices in Manhattan are a criminal, cramped and expensive. Stay just one metro stop over the river and you have this place. Cheap, clean, and better than many of the hotels I've stayed in in Manhattan for 10 times the price.

Kitchen, lounge area, free wifi. We took a 4 bed dorm (2 of us) - it was great.

Only down side is that the metro passes overground, right outside, so you do get quite a bit of noise - nothing a pair of earplugs won't fix though.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Long Island City
0.2 mi away
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collectio...
#5 of 26 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,245 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long Island City / Manhattan View
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long ...
#6 of 26 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 96 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#16 of 26 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#19 of 26 in Long Island City
3.5 of 5 stars 1,191 reviews
0.3 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York Long Island City/ Manhattan View
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York ...
#2 of 26 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 396 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel
#12 of 26 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Q4 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Q4 Hotel

Address: 29-09 Queens Plaza North, Long Island City, NY 11101
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Q4 Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand New Fully Renovated Hotel & Hostel! 3 Stories, and Full Basement of pure comfort, convenience and unbelievable affordability! Long Island City is located in western Queens, just across the East River from Midtown Manhattan and the Upper East Side. It is one of the most "vibrant areas in Queens and all of New York City." "In the last twenty years overwhelmingly industrial Long Island City has become a major cultural center with world-class art and working artists." Only 10 minutes from Midtown Manhattan and a block from subway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Q4 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Q4 Hotel Long Island City, New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Q4 Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.