We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Q4 Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Q4 Hotel to your Saves list
Q4 Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   29-09 Queens Plaza North, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel amenities
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Overall a great (and quite cheap) place to stay.
Public transportation gets you easily and in just 10 mins in Manhattan.
Rooms are extra clean, with A/C, wooden floor. beds are confortable.
It's not a party hostel, it's very quiet at night.
The only problem could be the neighborhood, kind of scary at night.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank desolationrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Ontario
Level Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Stayed at Q4 in the fall of 2012. Was not sure what to expect but was more than pleasantly surprised. The staff were incredibly friendly, the room was immaculate, the common room and shared kitchen was fantastic and the location was ideal. It was a bit noisy but it is NYC after all. Thank you for the great stay and please keep up the good work.

Room Tip: We had a private room at the back, much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank snogginca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

The common room is amazing, you can make your own food, cook more healthy things, or walk a block down the road and get fast food/ cafe food! There is a small corner shop just down the road with multiple subways. It was cheap too, you meet loads of people - It has a pool table, ping pong and a laundry room! The staff are amazing too, real nice people! Out of my stay in New York this was by far the best!! HIGHLY reccomend if you want luxury for a few dollars! The only thing that I would say is for travellers free food is always an eye catcher, so breakfast in the morning is the only thing that I would add! Overall its brilliant! Thank you Q4 Staff :)

Room Tip: One tip is to stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Really nice, modern, secure hostel. Hotel prices in Manhattan are a criminal, cramped and expensive. Stay just one metro stop over the river and you have this place. Cheap, clean, and better than many of the hotels I've stayed in in Manhattan for 10 times the price.

Kitchen, lounge area, free wifi. We took a 4 bed dorm (2 of us) - it was great.

Only down side is that the metro passes overground, right outside, so you do get quite a bit of noise - nothing a pair of earplugs won't fix though.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
285 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

No breakfast. Price is good. Clean and very near to the metro. Is that all you for enjoy New York in the budget.
Expect a lot of noises in the rooms from the trains and traffic jam outside. bed female dorm insuite for example was 43 dolares per night. You cannot find this price in a hostel in New York.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nany M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Pro: A really nice clean hotel that is in a great location. There are 2 stations within walking distance and time square is only 4-5 stops away. Transport running 24hr makes it easy to get home at anytime! The hostel was a bank originally so the downstairs/vault has been converted into the kitchen/common area. There's a projector, table tennis, pool table as well as a large tv with cable. A great place for hanging out and meeting others. It can seem pricey for a hostel but this is the cheapest decent accommodation in NY. Free printing of boarding passes too.

Con: The wifi is free but signal is very poor, computers cost to use as does luggage storage ($5 a day). Beds are really soft, way to soft.

If these things were different then I would have gave it 5 stars!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JakeIsaac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I stayed here with two of my friends for two nights, and overall the experience was great. The rooms were very clean, and the common area downstairs was nice. One of the negative things that we found that was there was only one overhead light. We were in a room with 4 bunk beds and it would have been great to have small lights on each of the beds, for more control. For example, when we got back to our room each night there was a different girl sleeping in the extra bed and the room was already dark. It made getting ready for bed a bit awkward, It is a small thing but i think would make a big difference. The staff was very helpful and even printed us a map for places to go for breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kateduncan20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Long Island City
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long Island City / Manhattan View
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long ...
#3 of 26 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 219 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sleep Inn - Long Island City
Sleep Inn - Long Island City
#6 of 26 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 719 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#16 of 26 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Long Island City
Quality Inn Long Island City
#17 of 26 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 337 reviews
0.3 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York Long Island City/ Manhattan View
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York ...
#1 of 26 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 529 reviews
0.5 mi away
Howard Johnson Long Island City
Howard Johnson Long Island City
#21 of 26 in Long Island City
3.5 of 5 stars 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Q4 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Q4 Hotel

Address: 29-09 Queens Plaza North, Long Island City, NY 11101
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Q4 Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand New Fully Renovated Hotel & Hostel! 3 Stories, and Full Basement of pure comfort, convenience and unbelievable affordability! Long Island City is located in western Queens, just across the East River from Midtown Manhattan and the Upper East Side. It is one of the most "vibrant areas in Queens and all of New York City." "In the last twenty years overwhelmingly industrial Long Island City has become a major cultural center with world-class art and working artists." Only 10 minutes from Midtown Manhattan and a block from subway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Q4 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Q4 Hotel Long Island City, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing