We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Option Outside of Manhattan” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Long Island City/Queensboro Bridge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Long Island City/Queensboro Bridge to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Long Island City/Queensboro Bridge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   29-27 40th Road, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and save 20%!
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Long Island City
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Option Outside of Manhattan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We stayed here in January 2014 for "Boys Adventure" for a friends birthday and couldn't have asked for a better place.

It's obvious the building is pretty new and the decor is edgy and modern.

The rooms were clean, modern and the staff was very helpful and friendly.

It is extremely close to Manhattan and the subway is literally up the street. Cabs into midtown were under 20 dollars.

I would stay here again!

Room Tip: Always ask for upgrades or specials :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DuJuan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
119 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We were on an apartment hunting trip with our son and we picked this Fairfield because it was convenient to Manhattan and Queens and the price was good compared to Manhattan. It was about a $25 cab ride with tip from LaGuardia. The hotel is fairly new and modern. The beds were comfortable, the wifi was free and worked just fine. We had a large walkin shower in our room, no bathtub. All the staff were friendly. The breakfast was the usual Fairfield type and the staff kept the food items replenished. There was a large church group staying while we were there and when they descended on the breakfast area, food items were depleted. I thought the breakfast staff did a good job of keeping up with this crowd. There is a bar that opens at night on the first floor that also serves bar-type food, small pizzas, sandwiches, etc, which was nice. It was an easy walk, just a few blocks to the N,Q subway line. We took this line into Manhattan and also took it to visit Astoria where we ate dinner on two nights. In Astoria, we ate at the Aliada (Greek restaurant) and Bohemian Hall and Beer Garden and enjoyed both. We took the elevated subway into Astoria to do this. We also ate at Dutch Kills Centraal, which we enjoyed. It was a short walk from the hotel.
We were on the 7th floor. We could hear the elevated subway line from our room but it never disturbed our sleep.
As other reviewers have said, the area is commercial and there is a construction area across the street so it is not in a scenic location. While we never felt threatened or in danger, one person walking from the subway stop to the hotel at night might feel nervous. Unlike Manhattan, there are not many people out on the street at night.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DiverBob_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
56 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

We stayed here before departing on a cruise. It proved to be a very convenient location to the city, without paying the high Manhattan prices! Easy valet service for our car. Friendly bar that stayed open late for us. Nice breakfast... including fresh fruit... every morning. Unfortunately, my husband left some clothes hanging in the closet... never to be seen again, despite our calls to management just hours later. Sigh.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Save a lot by staying here instead of in Manhattan. It's newly built, clean, and about a five minute walk to the E and R trains, a few minutes more to the 7 or N. You can zip into town in about ten minutes. The hotel itself is a typical chain operation and there's not much in the neighborhood (it's semi-industrial but not dangerous at all). You'll need to do your eating, sight seeing and shopping in Manhattan, for sure. The front desk staff is friendly and effective, but the level of service outside of that is pretty minimal. But the bed is comfortable, the room HVAC works, the Wifi is free, and you'll pay $100-150 less per night (at least!) over comparable hotels in Midtown Manhattan.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BetaRen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

This is a solid choice if you don't want to pay Manhattan hotel prices and don't mind taking the subway. This hotel in Queens, just two subway stops from Manhattan. It's located in Long Island City, a gritty, post-industrial neighborhood that only recently has become more residential, so it's a little gritty. The N train overpass is right next to the hotel, but rooms are quiet (we stayed on the 12th floor). The rooms somewhat nondescript, but clean and comfortable. Complimentary WiFi offers a strong signal. The complimentary breakfast is okay, only offering basics—you're better off heading into Manhattan.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank itsedgar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights while visiting NYC.
The hotel is conveniently located just outside Manhattan but near multiple subway stations (within 5-10mins walking). It never took us more than 20 mins to get to Times Square or thereabout.

The staff is very friendly & professional while still being very young :)

Location of the hotel is in a one-way street next to the above ground subway. You have some noise from it (alongside the typical city noise of cars honking and police sirens). We stayed on the top floor and never lost any sleep for the noise. So for us this was not an issue at all.

Free breakfast is the usual US continental stuff with some pieces fo fruit added (fruit salad, apples, bananas).

The hotel offers a car service to the ariports which come out cheaper than the taxi fare (for us at least to JFK). The also were more than willing to keep our luggage the last day until 4pm while we still visited the city.

All in all, we really enjoyed this place and would definitely come back here next time we are in NYC.

Room Tip: From the higher rooms on the streetside you have a view on the NYC skyline
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skwoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

This review is based on a two night stay to attend a wedding in Queens and to visit friends in Midtown Manhattan.

This is a new hotel in an "up and coming" part of queens. There is nothing in the vicinity of the hotel but you are within a 5 min walk of several subway lines. I took the 7 train to get into Manhattan. The area near the hotel felt safe (I feel safe everywhere in NYC), but it is a little desolate, especially late at night.

Room was perfect and the free breakfast was fairfield standard (actually very good). Breakfast room/hotel lobby is very nice with ample power points.

Overall a very good value option if you are okay getting the subway into Manhattan or to your destination in the city and want to avoid the super high Manhattan hotel prices.

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank MR_Gold_IRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
0.1 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York Long Island City/ Manhattan View
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York ...
#1 of 26 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 528 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long Island City / Manhattan View
Hilton Garden Inn New York Long ...
#3 of 26 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 219 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View
Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhatta...
#8 of 26 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Boro Hotel
Boro Hotel
#2 of 26 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 162 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sleep Inn - Long Island City
Sleep Inn - Long Island City
#5 of 26 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 718 reviews
0.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Long Island City Queensboro Bridge
Four Points by Sheraton Long Isl...
#14 of 26 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Long Island City/Queensboro Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Long Island City/Queensboro Bridge

Address: 29-27 40th Road, Long Island City, NY 11101
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Long Island City/Queensboro Bridge 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Long Island City/Queensboro Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Long Island City/Queensboro Bridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing