We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good find close to NYC but for half the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Long Island City/Queensboro Bridge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Long Island City/Queensboro Bridge to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Long Island City/Queensboro Bridge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   29-27 40th Road, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Long Island City
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good find close to NYC but for half the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed here over new year's because the prices in manhattan were outrageous. The location of the hotel is very close to the subway that's two stops off island (not a problem at all - very convenient and easy to get to), but the location in Queens itself is a bit sketchy (it's near a big highway and feels like it's in the middle of nowhere).
Staff was very pleasant, helpful and responsive to any requests. Only downside with the hotel is the free breakfast finishes at 9am, which was a bit early for us. Would definitely stay here again due to the price and location from manhattan.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    62
    22
    9
    5
See reviews for
49
33
12
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

I have complained formally to Marriott so I won't rehash here but this property does not represent the Marriott brand well at all. A poorly run hotel, rooms without all amenities, inconsistent staff at best. There is obviously a management and leadership problem here. As usual there are some well intended workers here, some of which had a very positive demeanor, they just need a better management and leadership team. Marriott really needs to take a visit and have a look around and a sit down.

In summary, a Super 8 experience at the cost of a four star hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmsdale, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Fantastic place to stay while touring Manhatten and all the tourists stops. My husband and two teenage daughters and myself Stayed for five days and found the room very comfortable and clean. The staff at the front desk couldn't do enough for us. They helped us plan our day trips and contacted venues for tickets. The shuttle service was very accommodating and always happy to help in any way. The continental Breakfast was more than enough to start your day. Lots of fresh fruit, sausage,eggs etc. and star bucks coffee that is available all day. Although you're not in the heart of the big apple you are close enough to fall asleep with a great view of manhatten and a quick subway ride there. I don't think you can beat this deal!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Stayed with friends during a busy December weekend. Located a block from the Queens Plaza subway stop (E, M, R lines) with easy 3-stop ride to 5th Av shopping & 6-stop ride to Times Square, and a couple blocks to Queensboro Plaza (7, N, Q trains). The walk to the subway felt safe, it is a slightly gritty industrial type neighborhood that is quickly becoming redeveloped, but you'll for sure have to leave the neighborhood if you want to eat or shop - virtually nothing within walking distance. Check-in was fast and efficient. Rooms are VERY NEW, CLEAN, with modern-looking decoration. Area can be noisy at night with the sound of cars and elevated subway, but I used a white noise app on my phone to sleep at night and was fine. Elevators are quite busy in the morning so be patient - breakfast goes until 9am weekdays and 10am weekends. It's free and decent with hot eggs and sausage as well as continental items. Be prepared to share your table with other guests during busy breakfast time between 9-10am weekends. In the evening you may have to stand on Northern Blvd for a couple mins before a taxi comes, but one always does and we never had to call for car service. Gym on 2nd floor is very small with about 1 elliptical, 4 treadmills, and minimal weight equipment. Also Jackson Heights is a 1-stop subway ride away on the E train if you want a good ethnic dinner in Queens.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evergreen, Colorado
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

STAY AWAY!!!! I left my Tumi toiletry kit and called as soon as I arrived home. I left three messages for "head of house keeping" and a week later he will not return my call. Today I got an email from the "assistant GM " who says no one has turned it in. Hmmm. Let see. I left, then house keeping came in and it's gone. The front desk confirmed that the room was not yet rented again. You think it may be the narcotics from my recent shoulder surgery that is causing memory loss???? Mr. Clarence Grant, did they share??? Pretty creepy this staff roams your room. I am a 24 year Marriott Platinum member and I guess I am naively appalled and candidly hurt. Time to share my story with corporate travel. Maybe our 50,000 plus employee corporate account may sober up Clarence. Theft is not a fluke, it's a bad habit. December 19, room 1406 cleaning staff , you are going down!!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Stayed at this hotel 9-15 of December and for most parts our stay was very good.

This hotel is in a good location if you want somewhere cheap but still easy to get into Manhattan. Yes, its near a building site and there isn't much local but it took us about 3 minutes to walk to the subway station (we used Queens Plaza). If you get lost like we did, use the big clock tower as a reference as the hotel is located very close to it.

Understandably, some people may find it difficult to sleep due to the train rails running close by however we were in room 601 which looked directly out at the subway and we slept fine every night. The rooms are nicely decorated, maybe let down a little by the bathroom which didn't have great lighting. This made getting ready and doing makeup quite difficult. However, there is a nice, comfortable bed and good T.V. Also a mini fridge and coffee making facilities.

Breakfast is okay, we only ate it 2 out of our 6 nights as it can get quite boring.. but for a free breakfast you can't complain. Only thing which was annoying was that it ended at 9am, since we had been on a long flight would have preferred to eat breakfast later on our first day. Since you serve yourself all the breakfast, including the hot food, we couldn't really see why it only ended at 10am on weekends. There is no room service but you can order takeaways to your room which is nice, theres a range of local takeouts which deliver including Chinese, Italian & American food.

The main thing that I feel let this hotel down is some of the staff (not all, as some were lovely!). We called one day as we were lost and asked for directions to the hotel. The lady who answered the telephone was very rude, abrupt and not helpful at all. We also had some issues with payments which staff dealt with quite rudely.

In all, I think if I was returning to New York at this time of year again, when hotel prices in Manhattan shoot up, I would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Stayed 5 nights during recent business trip with a weekend stay in the middle if it. Overall, typical Fairfield Inn features but in the latest and most modern incarnation of the brand. Very clean property, decent free breakfast, lobby bar is not something you get at a FFI. Manhattan is very easy to reach by subway with the 39th ave station served by the N & Q trains. Only drawback is the noise from the century-old elevated track. Best to choose the highest floor you can get at this property. It didn't bother me at all, after a while it becomes routine. There is a good bar down the street called Dutch Kills Centraal that is new and friendly - good beers on tap, well-made cocktails, and decent pub fare. Feels like a laid-back local neighborhood place and not something uptight and snobby, right next to Manhattan.

Room Tip: Highest floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Long Island City/Queensboro Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Long Island City/Queensboro Bridge

Address: 29-27 40th Road, Long Island City, NY 11101
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Long Island City
#6 Family Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Long Island City/Queensboro Bridge 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Long Island City/Queensboro Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Long Island City/Queensboro Bridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Long Island City/Queensboro Bridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.