We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save Saved
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Long Island City/Queensboro Bridge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Long Island City/Queensboro Bridge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   29-27 40th Road, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Long Island City
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A good stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Stayed at this hotel 9-15 of December and for most parts our stay was very good.

This hotel is in a good location if you want somewhere cheap but still easy to get into Manhattan. Yes, its near a building site and there isn't much local but it took us about 3 minutes to walk to the subway station (we used Queens Plaza). If you get lost like we did, use the big clock tower as a reference as the hotel is located very close to it.

Understandably, some people may find it difficult to sleep due to the train rails running close by however we were in room 601 which looked directly out at the subway and we slept fine every night. The rooms are nicely decorated, maybe let down a little by the bathroom which didn't have great lighting. This made getting ready and doing makeup quite difficult. However, there is a nice, comfortable bed and good T.V. Also a mini fridge and coffee making facilities.

Breakfast is okay, we only ate it 2 out of our 6 nights as it can get quite boring.. but for a free breakfast you can't complain. Only thing which was annoying was that it ended at 9am, since we had been on a long flight would have preferred to eat breakfast later on our first day. Since you serve yourself all the breakfast, including the hot food, we couldn't really see why it only ended at 10am on weekends. There is no room service but you can order takeaways to your room which is nice, theres a range of local takeouts which deliver including Chinese, Italian & American food.

The main thing that I feel let this hotel down is some of the staff (not all, as some were lovely!). We called one day as we were lost and asked for directions to the hotel. The lady who answered the telephone was very rude, abrupt and not helpful at all. We also had some issues with payments which staff dealt with quite rudely.

In all, I think if I was returning to New York at this time of year again, when hotel prices in Manhattan shoot up, I would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    57
    21
    9
    5
See reviews for
44
30
11
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Stayed 5 nights during recent business trip with a weekend stay in the middle if it. Overall, typical Fairfield Inn features but in the latest and most modern incarnation of the brand. Very clean property, decent free breakfast, lobby bar is not something you get at a FFI. Manhattan is very easy to reach by subway with the 39th ave station served by the N & Q trains. Only drawback is the noise from the century-old elevated track. Best to choose the highest floor you can get at this property. It didn't bother me at all, after a while it becomes routine. There is a good bar down the street called Dutch Kills Centraal that is new and friendly - good beers on tap, well-made cocktails, and decent pub fare. Feels like a laid-back local neighborhood place and not something uptight and snobby, right next to Manhattan.

Room Tip: Highest floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Hotel close to subway so it is easy to get to Manhattan. Rooms are great, clean and comfortable. Very clean. Lobby is very nice and bar staff is great but today it is -6c and snowing. The lobby is freezing! Please turn in the heat in the lobby. Had a good stay and would come back for sure.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Just returned from what would have been a wonderful New York weekend spoilt by a very poor accommodation choice (and I read these reviews before booking). This hotel is in a neighborhood which is deserted by locals in the evenings and immediately opposite a building site which operated from 6.30 am on the Monday morning. There are also elevated railway lines within 50 yards of the hotel and the noise especially in the early hours is quite deafening. Our stay was further spoilt by teenage, high octane partying on two nights with all the delights of being kept awake by shrieking, shouting, hysterical laughter, doors opening and closing etc I phoned guest services at 12 am, 1am and 2am on the second night. and was told the teenagers were underage and they could not find a adult responsible for them. I was offered a room change as the only solution. (We didn't accept- at that time we just wanted to sleep .........desperately needed to sleep and not pack up and change rooms!). I rang down again at 8 am to ask if the people concerned were checking out before our third night and an hour later no-one had bothered to ring back. Later, at front desk, the manager was made aware of our problems, but preferred to send messages rather than come out and speak to us. We accepted the only thing we were offered, which was a room change for our final night.
If that wasn't enough, the exit door to the stairwell was inoperable for two of our three nights we stayed. We needed it because the elevator was slow at breakfast (not an emergency) but we reported it to the housekeeping supervisor who was in the elevator when it (finally) arrived - nothing happened. The next day, we mentioned it again to the maintenance guy, who was there and the problem was solved by the evening.
When we checked out, I asked for the name and address of a senior person at Fairfield Suites I could address my concerns to, I was given a hand written gmail address. Does the management at Fairfield Suites seriously operate from gmail accounts or was I just being fobbed off with a personal e-mail?
I think there are serious issues here and would not return under any circumstances. I would strongly recommend that If you want a safe and comfortable place to stay in New York to go somewhere else!

Room Tip: On the third floor, you seem to be at the same level as the train tracks and the noise is very loud...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed here in early December for 4 nights. The rates were more reasonable than midtown Manhattan. The hotel is very clean with king-size beds. Our mattresses were very comfortable because they were on the firm side. Lots of pillows, too. There is ample lighting in the room. Lots of outlets are available on the nightstands or at the desk which makes it easy to recharge your tablet/laptop/phone while using it. Our bathroom was very clean with a good shower. Good towels, too. Also, there is a mini-fridge, safe (on the small side), iron and board and hairdryer. The hotel provides the usual good breakfast which included hot scrambled eggs, make-your-own waffle, cereals, yogurts, bagels, muffins, fruit (apples and bananas), juices and coffee. The breakfast area is well-monitored and supplied.
The hotel staff is personable and very helpful. They will valet your car and I don't know what they charge as we didn't have one. We used the subway to get into the city and it is very convenient. The hotel is between 2 stations and the closest one is one long block away. It is a 2 minute walk. It gets you to the R train which services midtown and the lower west side. Transfers (free) are available to all other lines so you can get to literally anywhere in the city. The best way to travel on the subway is via Metro-card. It is the cheapest and easiest-especially if you are taking multiple trips. It is refillable and you get a 5% rebate credited to your card when you fill it with $5 or more. You can buy it from vending machines at any station or some stations have a staffed ticket booth. It is about a 5 minute ride to get to the first stop in Manhattan (59th and Lexington) and only about 5 more minutes to get to the Times Square area. Hassle free-no need to park a car and pay the exorbitant parking fees.
Tip: Try to get a room on a high floor (say 10 and above) as the hotel is next to the elevated train and it can be noisy. We had no problem with this (6th floor) although you could hear it.
Tip: Since you can't call for a NYC cab (the cheapest way to get to the airport), there is a service that we used that worked nicely. It is called dial7 car service (dial7.com). We reserved a car (Lincoln sedan) online and he came right on time. He got us to La Guardia in less than 15 minutes. Good driver and clean car. It cost $34 plus tip. I had seen some mixed reviews online concerning this service but we had no problems at all.
Tip: If you don't want to use this service to get to the airport you can also take a cab-you can't call for one but you can hail one on the street. A cab to LGA from the hotel should cost $20-24 plus tip. It is definitely cheaper than the car service. We used the car service because we went with the sure thing instead of hoping to flag down a cab. But next time I would hail a cab because on Northern Blvd. (just steps down from the hotel front door) I discovered that there are bunches of them driving by on that street.
We really enjoyed our time in NYC and staying at this hotel was convenient, comfortable and reasonable. We would definitely consider this hotel in the future.

Room Tip: Go for the higher rooms to avoid the elevated train noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

I hope this hotel keeps realizing that its lifeblood is the shuttle van that takes the guests to, and picks up from the 33/Rawson #7 train station. It is what makes this hotel a viable candidate for commuting into Manhattan. They try to run the van every half hour, but I applaud them for putting an extra service for the morning and evening rush. Generally figure on ten minutes to take the van to the subway. Yesterday, I decided to walk it and from hotel door to train door -walking at a brisk pace with no stopping --it took me 23minutes. Is it worth it? The train takes you directly to TimesSquare or port authority where I needed to go every day for five days. The Fairfield near Times Square was charging over $300/night, in Long Island City I paid less than half that, saved $750. Is it worth saving that to take an extra half hour per commute each day and get some exercise to boot? For me it was. Now caveats: if you walk it could be desolate and lonely. It was my only time ever in New York walking on a street alone. The neighborhood is "industrial" zoned and there is a "correctional" institution on the way walking down vanDam street. When you get to the 33st station it is five flights of stairs to walk up and down. NO ELEVATOR. so if you have baggege keep that in mind. The hotel? Yeah I liked it. Breakfast with warm eggs , sausage, waffles, bread, muffins, cute containers of soy milk, yogurt, fruit&fruit salad etc. the maid did a great job cleaning and making up the room for five days, and dropped new amenities each day. Free wifi, and lots of outlets. My room had a great views of Empire State Building and silver cup studios. The hotel has 12 floors, the higher floors have better views...a hint you have already guessed.

Sent from my iPhone

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bokeelia, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

We stayed @ FF Inn for Thanksgiving/Macy's day parade. The rooms were very nice, but small. Space is expencive in NY. This property is very close to the subway. If you are coming from Times Square take the R. Go to the Queens Plaza not Queensboro station. The breakfast is typical ff. The staff is nice. I felt sorry for the breakfast attendant who was working by herself on the day after Thanksgiving. Everything was empty. There is really not to much around this property, but you are probably going to NYC not Queenboro.

Room Tip: We had a 11th floor, and we could still hear the trains, so ask if they have rooms that you cannot h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Long Island City/Queensboro Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Long Island City/Queensboro Bridge

Address: 29-27 40th Road, Long Island City, NY 11101
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi )
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Long Island City
#7 Family Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Long Island City/Queensboro Bridge 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Long Island City/Queensboro Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Long Island City/Queensboro Bridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Long Island City/Queensboro Bridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.