We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Who writes those other reviews? TripAdvisor trolls?” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Long Island City/Queensboro Bridge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Long Island City/Queensboro Bridge to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Long Island City/Queensboro Bridge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   29-27 40th Road, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in Long Island City
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Who writes those other reviews? TripAdvisor trolls?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Because trust me - the hotel they describe is not the one I visited.

Look - it's a Marriot so it has the usual Marriot amenities and touchs.
But that's where it ends.
Why they even stuck it here is anyone's guess.

1 - It is located in the "hood".
OK - so maybe all of NY looks like a hood to this Texan, but this area is sketchy to say the least. There is nothing charming nor interesting about the area. It's a typical ridden rough, put up wet type of New York neighborhood.

2 - Spacious room? My closet at home has more space. Need an example. Go ahead and book a stay there and try to fit into the desk chair that is only 2 feet from the bed. (2 Full size bed room admittedly) The rooms are tiny. So tiny, that there is only one small dresser, and they have to implant the flat screen TV in the wall to save space. To refer to these rooms as spacious is an insult, and whoever posts such reviews using that reference is obviously on the Marriot payroll.

3 - Parking? Noooooo...how do you feel about parking on the other side of the "street". So that of course means emptying everything from you car that isn't nailed down. If all else fails, you can park on the sidewalk. Super.

4 - "Manhattan View" - Oh come on. Seriously. I was on the 7th floor and there was only a hint of the Brooklyn Bridge far off in the distance. It is by no means any sort of Manhattan view. By any stretch of the imagination.

I would not recommend this location to anyone. You can stay at the Newark Airport, for the same price, have a truly expansive room, and still be within 15 minutes of Manhattan.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RaviPersaud, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Long Island City/Queensboro Bridge, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear PatMeDownPlease,

I am terribly sorry to hear that you had a disappointing stay during recent trip to Long Island City.

At the Fairfield Inn & Suites - Queensboro, we certainly do strive on providing every guest with 100% Satisfaction. Based upon the feedback that you have provided, I am not certain that you stayed at our particular property. Please allow me to address the concerns that you had to clarify any uncertainties as well distinguish the difference between our property and the hotel in which you are describing.

First and foremost, our hotel is centrally located a few blocks away from the Queensboro Bridge / Queensboro Plaza Station. Although some of the area is in its development stages, there are many different businesses and attractions nearby that bring hundreds of visitors to this area daily. With a high flow of commuter traffic, there is authority presence available 24 hours a day.

In regards to our guest rooms, they are definitely spacious in comparison with other New York City rooms. Each one of our guest rooms are equipped with an I-Home docking station, Refrigerator, In-Wall Safe, Complimentary Wi-Fi, & a 32 Inch Flat Panel TV that is mounted on the work desk and not on the wall as mentioned.

For guest parking we do offer a hassle-free Valet Service that is available to each one of our guests 24 Hours a Day. Our parking facility is secured and is monitored by surveillance cameras as well as an attendant 24 Hours a Day. We have 2 areas on property that we utilize to park the vehicles giving us adequate room to accommodate all of our guests that have vehicles. In the event that you do not wish to utilize our Valet Service, there certainly is street parking available throughout the perimeter of the property as well as nearby Parking Garages.

Our City View rooms offer a dynamic view of New York City's Midtown Skyline. These rooms are strategically located on our top 3 Floors for Optimal Views.

As mentioned earlier, there are certainly some differences from the hotel that you described and our particular property. I welcome the opportunity to discuss your review in more detail should you have any additional concerns. Please feel free to reach out to me anytime at Ravi.Persaud@Marriott.Com.

Ravi Persaud I General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    71
    25
    10
    7
See reviews for
53
40
14
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I was stuck at LGA due to weather and had to find a hotel "nearby" as all the airport hotels were sold out. So, I ended up here. It's a $15-20 cab ride from the airport, and the immediate area around the hotel -- Queens Plaza - is shabby and has nothing to offer. But, the hotel itself is just fine -- it's new-ish, very clean and the rooms are bigger than I'd expected for an NYC hotel. There's no room service, but the staff were helpful with take-out options. There's probably no reason to ever stay here unless you're stuck -- but if you are, this is a good option.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RaviPersaud, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Long Island City/Queensboro Bridge, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Out8974,

We appreciate you taking the time to provide a candid review of our hotel. Our rooms are indeed spacious in comparison with other NYC Hotel Rooms, and our property is in fact new as we have been open for less than a year.

Although, certain areas of Long Island City are in its development stages there are many different attractions that brings hundreds of visitors to this area daily. Some of these attractions are Dining/Night Life, Proximity to Manhattan and Airports, Close Proximity to Citi Field & Tennis Stadiums, Shopping, Museums & History, just to name a few.

I certainly would like to welcome you back to our hotel in the future (hopefully for a longer layover), so that you may have the opportunity to heed all this area has to offer at the comfort of a relaxing & welcoming hotel environment.

Regards,

Ravi Persaud I General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale FL
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel a few times now. The price is usually much better than staying in Manhattan and it's a quick 2 stops on the Subway to be over in Manhattan and only 4 stops to be at Times Square. Taking the subway IS part of the NYC experience!

The hotel is clean and quiet. The bed and linens are nicely upgraded. There is a spacious lobby(rare for NYC) and the staff are pleasant. A morning breakfast is provided.including eggs/bacon and a good selection of juices and "continental" style foods.

Plenty of restaurants nearby. Excellent for business or as a point for leisure trips.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RaviPersaud, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Long Island City/Queensboro Bridge, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Semrich,

Thank you for kind words of our hotel and staff. We are delighted to hear that you continually enjoy your stay with us and look forward to your next visit!

Ravi Persaud I General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

The hotel is situated very close to three subway stations and is convenient for travel to mid town, downtown, Flushing, and Citi Field. The area itself is undergoing redevelopment, so if you want to overlook a nice park, then forget it, but I found the area fine for my purposes, it's a base for sightseeing in New York. I walked back in the dark from the Queensboro subway station and did not feel threatened. However, as with anywhere care should be taken.
The hotel offers breakfast which is pretty standard but perfectly acceptable fare, if there is a criticism it is that breakfast finishes at 9am weekdays.
The rooms are clean and functional. The staff are excellent, and this I found to be great. They couldn't do enough for me, giving directions, helping with any query I had about the area or where to visit, they are friendly and smile. I stayed for 8 nights and enjoyed my stay at this hotel and in New York City.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RaviPersaud, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Long Island City/Queensboro Bridge, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear David M,

Thank you for sharing your kind words of our hotel & team members with the Trip Advisor Community. We certainly do appreciate & value your business and look forward to welcoming you back in near future.

Ravi Persaud I Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keerbergen, Belgium
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We spent 4 nights here and were very pleased with it.
It is clearly a new hotel. The rooms are large and clean. Staff is very friendly and although breakfast is not the same as in Europe or Asia (amount of choice), for a NYC hotel it is pretty good.
We were only a couple of minutes away from the subway with just 20min to Times Square and we never felt unsafe. We even went to a nice Brazilian restaurant in Astoria (15min walk from the hotel) in the evening.
You may say that the close by subway causes a lot of noise, but you get used to it after 1 night. It even rocks you asleep after a while.
Would definitely come back here. We stayed in a luxurious hotel for 2 nights after this one, but that one cannot compete with this Fairfield Inn, which is much better and less expensive.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RaviPersaud, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Long Island City/Queensboro Bridge, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear MamaMara,

We are thrilled to hear that you had a great experience with us and want to thank you for sharing it with the Trip Advisor Community.

In an increasingly competitive industry, we do realize that there are many choices. Thus we continuously strive to deliver exceptional service while maintaining a great product that the Marriott Brand is so well renowned for.

Thank you for you staying with us and we certainly do look forward to your next visit!


Best Regards,

Ravi Persaud I Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My wife and I flew into NY-Kennedy on May 23 from Europe to discover our continuing flight was cancelled due to bad weather. After trying to transfer unsuccessfully to a flight from LaGuardia, we found ourselves badly in need of a hotel...all the airport hotels were fully booked. Through the Marriott 800 number we got a reservation for this hotel, and with the help of a taxi driver arrived about 9:00 pm (exhausted from our travels and the time zone change). The area around the hotel looked like an industrial zone under construction. However, the welcome we received from the desk clerk,Eleni was warm and efficient. She immediately got us checked in and apologized for only having a double room available.

The next morning we were very impressed with the free breakfast which included hot (eggs, waffles, bacon,and sausage) and cold items (yogurt, fruit, cereal etc).

Since we could not get a flight out until the 25th we asked about staying another night and a place for lunch and were sent to a wonderful deli/restaurant, Zante's about 2 blocks away and then given a tutorial on how to use the subway to get to the World Trade Center by the manager, Louis Gonzalez.

As we checked out on the 25th about 8:30 Eleni was again at the front desk wishing us a safe trip home.

All we can say is this hotel and its staff turned what could have been a disaster into a pleasant experience.
Cincinnati Victor

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RaviPersaud, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Long Island City/Queensboro Bridge, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Cincinnati Victor,

Thank you so much for your fantastic review of our hotel and recognition of our team members!

Each one of our team members are committed to ensure every guest has a wonderful experience. Although your trip was not planned, we are glad that we were able to fulfill our commitment and turn what could have been a negative experience into a positive one.

We do look forward to welcoming you back in the near future, and certainly hope that it will be a planned visit the next time around!

Best Regards,

Ravi Persaud I Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

The hotel itself is very nice. But when the staff tells you not to go outside due to the unsafe surroundings - you know you've made a bad choice. Saving a few bucks, but not being able to leave your hotel is not worth it. There were vagrants / drunks / drug addicts in and around the hotel. Perhaps this is an up and coming neighborhood, but wait until it has come up before you stay here.

The restaurant is very expensive and is your only option. There is nothing else in the are and we were advised not to leave to try to find anything else.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RaviPersaud, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Long Island City/Queensboro Bridge, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Bob H,

I am terribly sorry that you had a mixed review of our hotel. While customer service is paramount, guest security is most certainly important as well, and I am sorry that you did not feel safe with the surrounding area.

Although Long Island City is in its developing stages, the area is definitely as safe if not more safe as any other major city in the United States. With both the Queensboro-Bridge & Queensboro-Plaza(Major Subway Station) within about a 3 block radius there are authorities present 24 hours a day monitoring the area. However, we do encourage our guests if traveling late in the evening to travel with someone just because a big city such as New York can at times feel intimidating if not familiar.

Aside from complimentary breakfast, we do have a full-service bar with a selected menu in the evening. However, if requesting for a more extensive menu there are a variety of restaurants that deliver to our hotel (some 24 hours) and numerous within walking distance, which we do encourage our guests to take full advantage of.

Based upon your feedback, it seems if incorrect information was provided to you and I certainly do apologize for this. I would love the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel the next time your travel needs brings you the Long Island City area. Please contact me directly at Ravi.Persaud@Marriott.com so that I can personally ensure that you have a wonderful stay!

Best Regards,

Ravi Persaud I Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Long Island City/Queensboro Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Long Island City/Queensboro Bridge

Address: 29-27 40th Road, Long Island City, NY 11101
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Long Island City/Queensboro Bridge 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Long Island City/Queensboro Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Long Island City/Queensboro Bridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Long Island City/Queensboro Bridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.