We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stuck at LGA, airport hotels sold out? Good option” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Long Island City/Queensboro Bridge

Save Saved
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Long Island City/Queensboro Bridge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Long Island City/Queensboro Bridge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   29-27 40th Road, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #10 of 23 hotels in Long Island City
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Stuck at LGA, airport hotels sold out? Good option”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I was stuck at LGA due to weather and had to find a hotel "nearby" as all the airport hotels were sold out. So, I ended up here. It's a $15-20 cab ride from the airport, and the immediate area around the hotel -- Queens Plaza - is shabby and has nothing to offer. But, the hotel itself is just fine -- it's new-ish, very clean and the rooms are bigger than I'd expected for an NYC hotel. There's no room service, but the staff were helpful with take-out options. There's probably no reason to ever stay here unless you're stuck -- but if you are, this is a good option.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RaviPersaud, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Long Island City/Queensboro Bridge, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Out8974,

We appreciate you taking the time to provide a candid review of our hotel. Our rooms are indeed spacious in comparison with other NYC Hotel Rooms, and our property is in fact new as we have been open for less than a year.

Although, certain areas of Long Island City are in its development stages there are many different attractions that brings hundreds of visitors to this area daily. Some of these attractions are Dining/Night Life, Proximity to Manhattan and Airports, Close Proximity to Citi Field & Tennis Stadiums, Shopping, Museums & History, just to name a few.

I certainly would like to welcome you back to our hotel in the future (hopefully for a longer layover), so that you may have the opportunity to heed all this area has to offer at the comfort of a relaxing & welcoming hotel environment.

Regards,

Ravi Persaud I General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    51
    21
    8
    5
See reviews for
40
27
10
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale FL
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel a few times now. The price is usually much better than staying in Manhattan and it's a quick 2 stops on the Subway to be over in Manhattan and only 4 stops to be at Times Square. Taking the subway IS part of the NYC experience!

The hotel is clean and quiet. The bed and linens are nicely upgraded. There is a spacious lobby(rare for NYC) and the staff are pleasant. A morning breakfast is provided.including eggs/bacon and a good selection of juices and "continental" style foods.

Plenty of restaurants nearby. Excellent for business or as a point for leisure trips.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RaviPersaud, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Long Island City/Queensboro Bridge, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Semrich,

Thank you for kind words of our hotel and staff. We are delighted to hear that you continually enjoy your stay with us and look forward to your next visit!

Ravi Persaud I General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

The hotel is situated very close to three subway stations and is convenient for travel to mid town, downtown, Flushing, and Citi Field. The area itself is undergoing redevelopment, so if you want to overlook a nice park, then forget it, but I found the area fine for my purposes, it's a base for sightseeing in New York. I walked back in the dark from the Queensboro subway station and did not feel threatened. However, as with anywhere care should be taken.
The hotel offers breakfast which is pretty standard but perfectly acceptable fare, if there is a criticism it is that breakfast finishes at 9am weekdays.
The rooms are clean and functional. The staff are excellent, and this I found to be great. They couldn't do enough for me, giving directions, helping with any query I had about the area or where to visit, they are friendly and smile. I stayed for 8 nights and enjoyed my stay at this hotel and in New York City.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RaviPersaud, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Long Island City/Queensboro Bridge, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear David M,

Thank you for sharing your kind words of our hotel & team members with the Trip Advisor Community. We certainly do appreciate & value your business and look forward to welcoming you back in near future.

Ravi Persaud I Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keerbergen, Belgium
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We spent 4 nights here and were very pleased with it.
It is clearly a new hotel. The rooms are large and clean. Staff is very friendly and although breakfast is not the same as in Europe or Asia (amount of choice), for a NYC hotel it is pretty good.
We were only a couple of minutes away from the subway with just 20min to Times Square and we never felt unsafe. We even went to a nice Brazilian restaurant in Astoria (15min walk from the hotel) in the evening.
You may say that the close by subway causes a lot of noise, but you get used to it after 1 night. It even rocks you asleep after a while.
Would definitely come back here. We stayed in a luxurious hotel for 2 nights after this one, but that one cannot compete with this Fairfield Inn, which is much better and less expensive.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RaviPersaud, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Long Island City/Queensboro Bridge, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear MamaMara,

We are thrilled to hear that you had a great experience with us and want to thank you for sharing it with the Trip Advisor Community.

In an increasingly competitive industry, we do realize that there are many choices. Thus we continuously strive to deliver exceptional service while maintaining a great product that the Marriott Brand is so well renowned for.

Thank you for you staying with us and we certainly do look forward to your next visit!


Best Regards,

Ravi Persaud I Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My wife and I flew into NY-Kennedy on May 23 from Europe to discover our continuing flight was cancelled due to bad weather. After trying to transfer unsuccessfully to a flight from LaGuardia, we found ourselves badly in need of a hotel...all the airport hotels were fully booked. Through the Marriott 800 number we got a reservation for this hotel, and with the help of a taxi driver arrived about 9:00 pm (exhausted from our travels and the time zone change). The area around the hotel looked like an industrial zone under construction. However, the welcome we received from the desk clerk,Eleni was warm and efficient. She immediately got us checked in and apologized for only having a double room available.

The next morning we were very impressed with the free breakfast which included hot (eggs, waffles, bacon,and sausage) and cold items (yogurt, fruit, cereal etc).

Since we could not get a flight out until the 25th we asked about staying another night and a place for lunch and were sent to a wonderful deli/restaurant, Zante's about 2 blocks away and then given a tutorial on how to use the subway to get to the World Trade Center by the manager, Louis Gonzalez.

As we checked out on the 25th about 8:30 Eleni was again at the front desk wishing us a safe trip home.

All we can say is this hotel and its staff turned what could have been a disaster into a pleasant experience.
Cincinnati Victor

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RaviPersaud, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Long Island City/Queensboro Bridge, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Cincinnati Victor,

Thank you so much for your fantastic review of our hotel and recognition of our team members!

Each one of our team members are committed to ensure every guest has a wonderful experience. Although your trip was not planned, we are glad that we were able to fulfill our commitment and turn what could have been a negative experience into a positive one.

We do look forward to welcoming you back in the near future, and certainly hope that it will be a planned visit the next time around!

Best Regards,

Ravi Persaud I Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

The hotel itself is very nice. But when the staff tells you not to go outside due to the unsafe surroundings - you know you've made a bad choice. Saving a few bucks, but not being able to leave your hotel is not worth it. There were vagrants / drunks / drug addicts in and around the hotel. Perhaps this is an up and coming neighborhood, but wait until it has come up before you stay here.

The restaurant is very expensive and is your only option. There is nothing else in the are and we were advised not to leave to try to find anything else.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RaviPersaud, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Long Island City/Queensboro Bridge, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Bob H,

I am terribly sorry that you had a mixed review of our hotel. While customer service is paramount, guest security is most certainly important as well, and I am sorry that you did not feel safe with the surrounding area.

Although Long Island City is in its developing stages, the area is definitely as safe if not more safe as any other major city in the United States. With both the Queensboro-Bridge & Queensboro-Plaza(Major Subway Station) within about a 3 block radius there are authorities present 24 hours a day monitoring the area. However, we do encourage our guests if traveling late in the evening to travel with someone just because a big city such as New York can at times feel intimidating if not familiar.

Aside from complimentary breakfast, we do have a full-service bar with a selected menu in the evening. However, if requesting for a more extensive menu there are a variety of restaurants that deliver to our hotel (some 24 hours) and numerous within walking distance, which we do encourage our guests to take full advantage of.

Based upon your feedback, it seems if incorrect information was provided to you and I certainly do apologize for this. I would love the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel the next time your travel needs brings you the Long Island City area. Please contact me directly at Ravi.Persaud@Marriott.com so that I can personally ensure that you have a wonderful stay!

Best Regards,

Ravi Persaud I Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

A couple of us visited NY for the first time and stayed at this hotel as Manhattan was far too expensive. The hotel had only opened in the week we began our stay (November 2012).

The location is ideal and not far from Manhattan for those who choose not to stay in Manhattan. The nearest subway station, Queens Plaza/Queensboro Plaza, is literally a 2-3 minute walk down the road and you can be in Times Sq in 10 minutes. It is a very well connected station allowing you to get to other parts of NY efficiently.

We were kindly greeted by Noel and Chalay upon arrival who really helped get us settled in and understood that it was our first time in NY and so were more than happy to assist us.

The hotel was very clean and we were very impressed with the rooms. The decor was fantastic and modern with the rooms being very spacious and clean. The facilities were excellent including a large flat screen HD TV with lots of channels (sports, news, kids TV etc) and a generously sized shower/bathroom which was immaculate. There was also a generous helping of towels too. The beds were very comfortable and not the cheap, firm beds that can be found in some hotels.

We had breakfast included within our rates and there was a small area on the ground floor from which you have a wide ranging continental style breakfast available. Gaudy was brilliant and she remembered what we wanted to eat and made sure it was available every morning. There was also a bar on the ground floor with a good seating area.

All of the staff went out of their way to assist us with any questions we had and to ensure our stay was pleasant, particularly Noel, Chalay, Louis, Emily and Gaudy.

There was some development work taking place around the hotel and a overhead subway line passing not too far from the hotel which could be heard. But this was not an issue for us.

Overall, I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel and would not hesitate in recommended this hotel to others or booking foy myself personally when I visit NY again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RaviPersaud, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Long Island City/Queensboro Bridge, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear SKS104068,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review and recognition of our team members. We are definitely thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and highly appreciative that you shared your experience with us through this medium. We look forward to welcoming you and your friends back whenever your travel needs brings you back to the New York City area!

Ravi Persaud I Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Long Island City/Queensboro Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Long Island City/Queensboro Bridge

Address: 29-27 40th Road, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Long Island City/Queensboro Bridge 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Long Island City/Queensboro Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Long Island City/Queensboro Bridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Long Island City/Queensboro Bridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.