We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pleasant Surprise and Wonderful Port in a Storm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Long Island City/Queensboro Bridge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Long Island City/Queensboro Bridge to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Long Island City/Queensboro Bridge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   29-27 40th Road, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in Long Island City
Cincinnati
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Surprise and Wonderful Port in a Storm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My wife and I flew into NY-Kennedy on May 23 from Europe to discover our continuing flight was cancelled due to bad weather. After trying to transfer unsuccessfully to a flight from LaGuardia, we found ourselves badly in need of a hotel...all the airport hotels were fully booked. Through the Marriott 800 number we got a reservation for this hotel, and with the help of a taxi driver arrived about 9:00 pm (exhausted from our travels and the time zone change). The area around the hotel looked like an industrial zone under construction. However, the welcome we received from the desk clerk,Eleni was warm and efficient. She immediately got us checked in and apologized for only having a double room available.

The next morning we were very impressed with the free breakfast which included hot (eggs, waffles, bacon,and sausage) and cold items (yogurt, fruit, cereal etc).

Since we could not get a flight out until the 25th we asked about staying another night and a place for lunch and were sent to a wonderful deli/restaurant, Zante's about 2 blocks away and then given a tutorial on how to use the subway to get to the World Trade Center by the manager, Louis Gonzalez.

As we checked out on the 25th about 8:30 Eleni was again at the front desk wishing us a safe trip home.

All we can say is this hotel and its staff turned what could have been a disaster into a pleasant experience.
Cincinnati Victor

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RaviPersaud, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Long Island City/Queensboro Bridge, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Cincinnati Victor,

Thank you so much for your fantastic review of our hotel and recognition of our team members!

Each one of our team members are committed to ensure every guest has a wonderful experience. Although your trip was not planned, we are glad that we were able to fulfill our commitment and turn what could have been a negative experience into a positive one.

We do look forward to welcoming you back in the near future, and certainly hope that it will be a planned visit the next time around!

Best Regards,

Ravi Persaud I Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    70
    23
    9
    6
See reviews for
52
36
12
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Traverse City, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

The hotel itself is very nice. But when the staff tells you not to go outside due to the unsafe surroundings - you know you've made a bad choice. Saving a few bucks, but not being able to leave your hotel is not worth it. There were vagrants / drunks / drug addicts in and around the hotel. Perhaps this is an up and coming neighborhood, but wait until it has come up before you stay here.

The restaurant is very expensive and is your only option. There is nothing else in the are and we were advised not to leave to try to find anything else.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RaviPersaud, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Long Island City/Queensboro Bridge, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Bob H,

I am terribly sorry that you had a mixed review of our hotel. While customer service is paramount, guest security is most certainly important as well, and I am sorry that you did not feel safe with the surrounding area.

Although Long Island City is in its developing stages, the area is definitely as safe if not more safe as any other major city in the United States. With both the Queensboro-Bridge & Queensboro-Plaza(Major Subway Station) within about a 3 block radius there are authorities present 24 hours a day monitoring the area. However, we do encourage our guests if traveling late in the evening to travel with someone just because a big city such as New York can at times feel intimidating if not familiar.

Aside from complimentary breakfast, we do have a full-service bar with a selected menu in the evening. However, if requesting for a more extensive menu there are a variety of restaurants that deliver to our hotel (some 24 hours) and numerous within walking distance, which we do encourage our guests to take full advantage of.

Based upon your feedback, it seems if incorrect information was provided to you and I certainly do apologize for this. I would love the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel the next time your travel needs brings you the Long Island City area. Please contact me directly at Ravi.Persaud@Marriott.com so that I can personally ensure that you have a wonderful stay!

Best Regards,

Ravi Persaud I Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

A couple of us visited NY for the first time and stayed at this hotel as Manhattan was far too expensive. The hotel had only opened in the week we began our stay (November 2012).

The location is ideal and not far from Manhattan for those who choose not to stay in Manhattan. The nearest subway station, Queens Plaza/Queensboro Plaza, is literally a 2-3 minute walk down the road and you can be in Times Sq in 10 minutes. It is a very well connected station allowing you to get to other parts of NY efficiently.

We were kindly greeted by Noel and Chalay upon arrival who really helped get us settled in and understood that it was our first time in NY and so were more than happy to assist us.

The hotel was very clean and we were very impressed with the rooms. The decor was fantastic and modern with the rooms being very spacious and clean. The facilities were excellent including a large flat screen HD TV with lots of channels (sports, news, kids TV etc) and a generously sized shower/bathroom which was immaculate. There was also a generous helping of towels too. The beds were very comfortable and not the cheap, firm beds that can be found in some hotels.

We had breakfast included within our rates and there was a small area on the ground floor from which you have a wide ranging continental style breakfast available. Gaudy was brilliant and she remembered what we wanted to eat and made sure it was available every morning. There was also a bar on the ground floor with a good seating area.

All of the staff went out of their way to assist us with any questions we had and to ensure our stay was pleasant, particularly Noel, Chalay, Louis, Emily and Gaudy.

There was some development work taking place around the hotel and a overhead subway line passing not too far from the hotel which could be heard. But this was not an issue for us.

Overall, I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel and would not hesitate in recommended this hotel to others or booking foy myself personally when I visit NY again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RaviPersaud, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Long Island City/Queensboro Bridge, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear SKS104068,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review and recognition of our team members. We are definitely thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and highly appreciative that you shared your experience with us through this medium. We look forward to welcoming you and your friends back whenever your travel needs brings you back to the New York City area!

Ravi Persaud I Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altus, Oklahoma
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is in a bad location with a lot of new construction within a block. The subway train runs above the ground near by so if you hearing it all night. High priced small rooms with nothing to offer. Marriott should rethink this one.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RaviPersaud, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Long Island City/Queensboro Bridge, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Okiedawg,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback from your most recent stay.

With Long Island City in its development stages because of its proximity to Manhattan & Airports, there are a few projects that are currently in progress to enhance the area.

We do offer a variety of services and amenities at our property including Complimentary Breakfast, Complimentary Wi-Fi, & Double-Pane Windows to reduce exterior noise to name a few. In addition, we are located just minutes away from Manhattan by car and just one station away by subway.

I would love the opportunity to further discuss your review, as our staff is committed in ensuring every guest has a great experience during their stay with us. At your convenience, please contact me directly at Ravi.Persaud@Marriott.Com. Thank you.

Best Regards,

Ravi Persaud I Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Norriton, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

For the first time stayed @ this Fairfield Inn and was extremely surprised by
+Extraordinary Customer Service
+Well Maintained property
+Close to subway stations
+Surroundings a bit sketchy, but appears to be safe (of course did not venture out @ night alone)
+Close to multiple large offices like Jet Blue, MetLife, Citi, etc

Room Tip: Prefer higher floors to minimize subway noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RaviPersaud, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Long Island City/Queensboro Bridge, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Venkat B,

Thank your review of our hotel and the kind words of our facilities and staff members. We genuinely appreciate you sharing your feedback with the TripAdvisor Community and hope to welcome you back our hotel soon!

Best Regards,

Ravi Persaud I Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Close to Manhattan, but still expensive for $300/night. Rooms are very small, mine didn't have a curtain; asking the staff reveiled that the room was on a higher floor so nobody could look inside anyway....??? Location of hotel is horrible in terms of surroundings (feels like the Bronx) although conveniently close to subway directly into Manhattan (5 min walk, 10 min sub). Mentioned of hot breakfast is a joke, only thing hot is the coffee, unless you want to throw one of those horrible bagels wiith bacion and cheese in the microwave......
Only good thing about this hotel is client friendlyness of most of the staff, which is a rare thing in NY.
Marriott seriously is damaging their image.

Room Tip: Don't go hear, unless you get a rate <$200 or have a lot of Marriott points you want to spend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RaviPersaud, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Long Island City/Queensboro Bridge, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Arnoudhuisman,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the accommodations and service provided to you during your most recent stay. Based upon your feedback, I believe you were in one our City View Rooms which is located on our top 3 floors. For optimal views of New York's dynamic skyline, our west wing windows in these rooms are curtain less. However, if requested in advance, we can definitely make accommodations in placing one in the room. Also, since your most recent visit, we have enhanced our breakfast selection with new items such as scrambled eggs, bacon, & sausage.

Please contact me directly (Ravi.Persaud@Marriott.Com) the next time your travel needs brings you back to the New York City Area. This will enable me to personally ensure your next stay with us, is nothing short of spectacular.

Best Regards,

Ravi Persaud I Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

My wife and I stayed one night at this Marriott property. Frankly, we chose this hotel because it was the nearest-to-Manhattan location eligible for our free-night certificate. It's close to 2 subway stops less than 15 minutes to Midtown. The surrounding area is a bit sketchy but perfectly safe during the day with many other tourists walking to a few other area hotels.

Proximity to the subway is also a minus as overhead tracks run very close to hotel and clang, clang, clang is heard from early morning to late at night.

The room was fine, clean and nothing to complain or rave about. The free breakfast was standard, though a nice staff person promptly supplied more bananas upon request.

All in all this is a good, economical choice if you don't mind riding the subway to and from the city.

Room Tip: Ask if any rooms are shielded from subway noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Long Island City/Queensboro Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Long Island City/Queensboro Bridge

Address: 29-27 40th Road, Long Island City, NY 11101
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Long Island City
#7 Business Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Long Island City/Queensboro Bridge 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Long Island City/Queensboro Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Long Island City/Queensboro Bridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Long Island City/Queensboro Bridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.