We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely Surprised!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Long Island City/Queensboro Bridge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Long Island City/Queensboro Bridge to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Long Island City/Queensboro Bridge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   29-27 40th Road, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in Long Island City
East Norriton, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Extremely Surprised!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

For the first time stayed @ this Fairfield Inn and was extremely surprised by
+Extraordinary Customer Service
+Well Maintained property
+Close to subway stations
+Surroundings a bit sketchy, but appears to be safe (of course did not venture out @ night alone)
+Close to multiple large offices like Jet Blue, MetLife, Citi, etc

Room Tip: Prefer higher floors to minimize subway noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RaviPersaud, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Long Island City/Queensboro Bridge, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Venkat B,

Thank your review of our hotel and the kind words of our facilities and staff members. We genuinely appreciate you sharing your feedback with the TripAdvisor Community and hope to welcome you back our hotel soon!

Best Regards,

Ravi Persaud I Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    70
    24
    9
    6
See reviews for
52
36
12
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Close to Manhattan, but still expensive for $300/night. Rooms are very small, mine didn't have a curtain; asking the staff reveiled that the room was on a higher floor so nobody could look inside anyway....??? Location of hotel is horrible in terms of surroundings (feels like the Bronx) although conveniently close to subway directly into Manhattan (5 min walk, 10 min sub). Mentioned of hot breakfast is a joke, only thing hot is the coffee, unless you want to throw one of those horrible bagels wiith bacion and cheese in the microwave......
Only good thing about this hotel is client friendlyness of most of the staff, which is a rare thing in NY.
Marriott seriously is damaging their image.

Room Tip: Don't go hear, unless you get a rate <$200 or have a lot of Marriott points you want to spend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RaviPersaud, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Long Island City/Queensboro Bridge, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Arnoudhuisman,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the accommodations and service provided to you during your most recent stay. Based upon your feedback, I believe you were in one our City View Rooms which is located on our top 3 floors. For optimal views of New York's dynamic skyline, our west wing windows in these rooms are curtain less. However, if requested in advance, we can definitely make accommodations in placing one in the room. Also, since your most recent visit, we have enhanced our breakfast selection with new items such as scrambled eggs, bacon, & sausage.

Please contact me directly (Ravi.Persaud@Marriott.Com) the next time your travel needs brings you back to the New York City Area. This will enable me to personally ensure your next stay with us, is nothing short of spectacular.

Best Regards,

Ravi Persaud I Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

My wife and I stayed one night at this Marriott property. Frankly, we chose this hotel because it was the nearest-to-Manhattan location eligible for our free-night certificate. It's close to 2 subway stops less than 15 minutes to Midtown. The surrounding area is a bit sketchy but perfectly safe during the day with many other tourists walking to a few other area hotels.

Proximity to the subway is also a minus as overhead tracks run very close to hotel and clang, clang, clang is heard from early morning to late at night.

The room was fine, clean and nothing to complain or rave about. The free breakfast was standard, though a nice staff person promptly supplied more bananas upon request.

All in all this is a good, economical choice if you don't mind riding the subway to and from the city.

Room Tip: Ask if any rooms are shielded from subway noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

You are 2 train exits away from Manhattan and at a more reasonable price. Employees Miguel Espinoza and Emily Yew were very helpful in making my family feel comfortable at this hotel. We were in the city all day so weren't hanging around that much, but when we were--felt very comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quetzaltenango, Guatemala
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Once my family and I spent a few nights at a Times Square area hotel and decided it was not worth the money, instead of that we returned to our usual Queensboro Bridge area stay. This time we decided to try another hotel instead the one we have used before. We found this Fairfield inn to be even better located, a short block walk from the hotel to Queens plaza station will put you right on the blue and orange metro lines that will take you fast either on the 9/11 memorial area or in Central Park, Times Square, just anywhere in Manhattan. Other metro stations are also close to this conveniently located hotel.
The facilities are brand new, instead of the micro rooms you will find in Manhattan the rooms here have a good size and a large bathroom, there is a mini refrigerator inside the room, a safe box and a closet. High definition TV comes with a large selection of direcTv channels. The only thing I did not like and don't understand is why they put such a small lavatory and faucet in the bathroom , it makes difficult even to wash your hands.
Housekeeping and manteinance are good.
Lobby area is quite large and generally speaking the services are easy to find and access. breakfast options are several and it may be the best I have seen in this kind of express breakfast service.
The very best thing about this hotel is their staff, ALL of them proved to be well trained and with good service and communication skills. We arrived 9:15 am after a very hard trip and they offered a cup of cofee while they arranged a room for ultra early check in (check in was at 3:00pm), a few minutes ago we were receiving our fresh and clean room. Keep on the good job guys.
This is our new reference hotel when visiting New York.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesboro, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Hotel is your typical Fairfield Inn. They offer valet parking, however parking is free on the street and isn't typically that hard to find. The rooms are smaller than normal Fairfield Inn rooms, but are very typical for NYC. Elevators are fairly quick. Hotel is directly beside the train, and if you are a heavy sleeper you will have no problem, otherwise bring some ear plugs! The staff was extremely helpful and friendly!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I just stayed last weekend from Thursday 3/21 til Monday 3/25/2013. Everyone was great with excellent service. The place is brand new I heard opened in November. It is super convenient to Manhattan with 2 subway stations very close to the place (both short walks away within 10 mins or less). One has the E,M,R (closer to the hotel) and just a slightly more walk is the N,Q and 7.

The rooms were spacious, beds nice and comfy (just the right firmness), there is direct TV and many channel options. The elevators were very prompt and I loved that you did not have to slide your key card but tap it to the sensor on the door. (Loved it!) When we were missing things or needed things, they were brought promptly to our room. All our questions were answered with courtesy, knowledge and in a friendly manner. Whenever we left and came back we were always greated with a smile and I was by name too.

There was a big school group from Florida but there was still good service. You can hear the subway a little but it is not too distracting as I am a heavy sleeper.

The breakfast was good for the price. We got apples/bananas, packets of oatmeal, 4 choices of cereal-corn flakes, frosted flakes, raisin bran, or fruit loops, 3 brands for flavored yogurt (single serving), heat to serve omelette in pita bread or 2 types of jimmy dean sandwichs with biscuit egg bacon cheese or egg sausage and cheese. There was also OJ/apple juice, coffee , tea, and some pastries. It fueled us for the day.

The place was clean and well kept. Convenient to the subway too. Even when we forgot our toothpaste and couldn't find a shower cap, they promptly provided us with them.

There are 2 computers in the lobby to use and I enjoyed the complimentary wifi throughout the building that you had to renew every 24 hours.

My parents want to stay there again. If you are a light sleeper it might be noisy due to the trains but we are not.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Long Island City/Queensboro Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Long Island City/Queensboro Bridge

Address: 29-27 40th Road, Long Island City, NY 11101
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Long Island City
#7 Business Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Long Island City/Queensboro Bridge 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Long Island City/Queensboro Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Long Island City/Queensboro Bridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Long Island City/Queensboro Bridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.