We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to subway, short journey to Manhattan” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn to your Saves list
Comfort Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   42 - 24 Crescent Street, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #13 of 25 Hotels in Long Island City
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Close to subway, short journey to Manhattan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The hotel was in a good location close to the subway station so could get to Manhattan in around 5 minutes and had good links to JFK. Bedroom and bathroom were a good size with all usual facilities. Staff were friendly and helpful and were able to hold our bags after checkout which was good. Breakfast was nice but there was limited seating. Overall great hotel for the price and proximity to Manhattan.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    181
    63
    14
    14
See reviews for
71
130
28
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lynnfield, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Less than two blocks to subway. Rooms larger than in the city. Excellent hot breakfast. Hotel will not call a taxi for you. They have a car service that is about double a normal taxi charge. Take the subway to the city and it is an economical place to stay.

Room Tip: Know exact address of Hotel if taking taxi, or could be hard to find. Stay above 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortinnlic, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Thank You for staying with us and taking the time to share your review.

We would love for you to stay with us again in the future.

The Yellow Taxis in NYC have to be hailed on the street and cannot be arranged by calling any number; so the Hotel works with a Black car Service for the convenience of our guests.
We have negotiated a very great flat rate for the area airports comparable to the yellow taxis.
Also the cars we arrange have a flat rate so don't have to worry about the meter running too high in traffic or the driver taking different routes like the yellow taxis.

But yes, you are right - the most economical way to travel in NYC is to take the subways - They are well priced, run 24 hours and gets you quickly to your destination without having to worry about the traffic.

Thanks once again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sliema, Malta
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

the hotel is in an exellent location. round the corner from the subway and 2 stops away from 5th Avenue. Breakfast was good enough and ample only the area was too small, only 4 tables. Price was good. Reception, especially Andre was very helpfull, especially with directions. The room was a little small.

Room Tip: ask for a room which isn't too small
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Im glad that I stayed in this hotel. It is decent and clean with good sized room and acceptable wifi access. Breakfast is good - very basic but filling. It is located very close to the train station making it very accessible to Manhattan.

Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2014

1. When we checked in we were asked if we wanted a Subway map and got one. When we asked where were we on the map the clerk marked a spot and said they were on Queensburo Plaza, on Skillman Ave. In fact, the hotel is about 14 blocks away on Crescent St. Staff needs education as to where they work.
2. We have iPhones 4s and 5s with iso 8.1.1. No problem hooking up to your Wi-Fi, but your Wi-Fi at most times was not connected to the internet. Reported this to staff on 2 separate days.
3. Channels on the left side of TV info card were very fuzzy. The channels on the right (which includes the major networks) would go in out of signal constantly. The only other time we have seen this on cruise ships in the middle of the Atlantic. How can that happen in Long Island City?
4. Safe instructions: to open safe require code and hit “open” button. There was no “open” button. The battery quit so I quit trying.
5. Room clean but Very worn with quite dated decor.
6. We ate breakfast at three different times and there was NEVER enough room for all to eat in the 'breakfast room. Never happened at other Comfort Inns.

Room Tip: WIFI never worked adequately but it was free. As to outside noise, do as we did and bring a sound m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortinnlic, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, December 9, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay.
I would like to apologize for the inconvenience and am sorry to hear that you were not completely satisfied with your stay.

We do take a lot of pride in providing clean and comfortable accommodations to our guests and once in a while things do go wrong - but we do everything in our control to make it right.

As we have explained in our previous communications regarding these same issues, I would like to inform our readers:
The hotel is located on crescent st., just a block away from the Queensboro plaza subway stop and may be there was a misunderstanding for which we sincerely apologize.
We have recently upgraded our WiFi components and made them better than what is required by the brand. If there is a problem with connecting your device, we can help you. Our staff is trained for that.
The channels being fuzzy was probably a loose wire which happens not only in the atlantic ocean but also in our homes - I wish you would have given our staff a chance for our staff to fix these problems.
Regarding the safe - As soon as you enter the correct pin - it opens up - so even if there is no open button - it's ok. It's just generic instructions.

We urge our readers to please give us a chance to fix any problems you may have during your stay as it may be an easy fix and you will be able to enjoy and make use of the amenities during your stay.

On behalf of the entire staff and management, I Once again apologize for all the inconvenience and hope you give us another chance in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

This hotel was ok, the location was the main reason we stayed here. Its so close to queensboro station to hop on the subway. Made for getting back and forth to Manhattan a breeze. The free breakfast was ok. For free what can you complain about. Eggs, sausage, cereal, muffins, toasts, make your own waffles juice, coffee.... Our room was a nice size. But there was black mold on the ceiling in the shower. We didnt notice it the first day because we didnt use the shower. But when we did we were thinking, how on earth did the cleaning lady not see that. We didnt make a fuss about it, we were gone all day and didnt spend much time at the hotel. Id probably stay here again just for the conveinance of getthing the subway. The staff were super friendly and arranged our cab to our next destination upon checkout. And helped with some of our travel questions.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2014

Visited this hotel about a week ago.
Booked this hotel because of the fair prices and it's location (very close to Manhattan).
The area is definitely safe, and the nearness of the metro lines N Q R and 7 can become very handy if you dont want to use a cab all the time.
The Queensboro metrostation is just a walk of 50 seconds max.
The first station on Manhattan is Lexington Avenue which is just a couple of minutes (+/-3m) away.
The staff is friendly and helpful. Check in was very swift.
Breakfast is simple(buffet) but there was just the right amount of variation to have something else every day.
The eating room is very small though, so I recommend to come before 8 o clock during weekdays. But it isnt a problem to eat in the lobby or taking something like cereals to your bedroom.
Housekeeping cleaned our room every day, and did it a great job, nothing to complain about.
Thr kingsizebed felt like heaven everytime I came back from discovering New York City, the greatest city of the world!

Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 42 - 24 Crescent Street, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 25 Hotels in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn - Long Island City is located at the base of the famed Queensboro/59th st. bridge that connect Queens to Manhattan. We are just minutes away from Midtown Manhattan. We are located just 1 block away from NYC Subways - which is the best way to get around NYC. Located just 7 miles from LGA and 12 miles from JFK. A great way to stay in NYC without having to pay the high Manhattan prices. Free Wi-Fi, Free Breakfast, Complimentary use of Business Center and Fitness Center, Free Newspapers, Iron/Ironing boards, In-room Safe, In-room coffee makers all come standard with your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Hotel Long Island City
Long Island City Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Long Island City, New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.