We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We gave this hotel a second chance; closest to our kids' apt.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn to your Saves list
Comfort Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   42 - 24 Crescent Street, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #14 of 25 Hotels in Long Island City
McKinney, Texas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“We gave this hotel a second chance; closest to our kids' apt.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

1. When we checked in we were asked if we wanted a Subway map and got one. When we asked where were we on the map the clerk marked a spot and said they were on Queensburo Plaza, on Skillman Ave. In fact, the hotel is about 14 blocks away on Crescent St. Staff needs education as to where they work.
2. We have iPhones 4s and 5s with iso 8.1.1. No problem hooking up to your Wi-Fi, but your Wi-Fi at most times was not connected to the internet. Reported this to staff on 2 separate days.
3. Channels on the left side of TV info card were very fuzzy. The channels on the right (which includes the major networks) would go in out of signal constantly. The only other time we have seen this on cruise ships in the middle of the Atlantic. How can that happen in Long Island City?
4. Safe instructions: to open safe require code and hit “open” button. There was no “open” button. The battery quit so I quit trying.
5. Room clean but Very worn with quite dated decor.
6. We ate breakfast at three different times and there was NEVER enough room for all to eat in the 'breakfast room. Never happened at other Comfort Inns.

Room Tip: WIFI never worked adequately but it was free. As to outside noise, do as we did and bring a sound m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortinnlic, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay.
I would like to apologize for the inconvenience and am sorry to hear that you were not completely satisfied with your stay.

We do take a lot of pride in providing clean and comfortable accommodations to our guests and once in a while things do go wrong - but we do everything in our control to make it right.

As we have explained in our previous communications regarding these same issues, I would like to inform our readers:
The hotel is located on crescent st., just a block away from the Queensboro plaza subway stop and may be there was a misunderstanding for which we sincerely apologize.
We have recently upgraded our WiFi components and made them better than what is required by the brand. If there is a problem with connecting your device, we can help you. Our staff is trained for that.
The channels being fuzzy was probably a loose wire which happens not only in the atlantic ocean but also in our homes - I wish you would have given our staff a chance for our staff to fix these problems.
Regarding the safe - As soon as you enter the correct pin - it opens up - so even if there is no open button - it's ok. It's just generic instructions.

We urge our readers to please give us a chance to fix any problems you may have during your stay as it may be an easy fix and you will be able to enjoy and make use of the amenities during your stay.

On behalf of the entire staff and management, I Once again apologize for all the inconvenience and hope you give us another chance in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    175
    62
    14
    14
See reviews for
70
127
27
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel was ok, the location was the main reason we stayed here. Its so close to queensboro station to hop on the subway. Made for getting back and forth to Manhattan a breeze. The free breakfast was ok. For free what can you complain about. Eggs, sausage, cereal, muffins, toasts, make your own waffles juice, coffee.... Our room was a nice size. But there was black mold on the ceiling in the shower. We didnt notice it the first day because we didnt use the shower. But when we did we were thinking, how on earth did the cleaning lady not see that. We didnt make a fuss about it, we were gone all day and didnt spend much time at the hotel. Id probably stay here again just for the conveinance of getthing the subway. The staff were super friendly and arranged our cab to our next destination upon checkout. And helped with some of our travel questions.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Visited this hotel about a week ago.
Booked this hotel because of the fair prices and it's location (very close to Manhattan).
The area is definitely safe, and the nearness of the metro lines N Q R and 7 can become very handy if you dont want to use a cab all the time.
The Queensboro metrostation is just a walk of 50 seconds max.
The first station on Manhattan is Lexington Avenue which is just a couple of minutes (+/-3m) away.
The staff is friendly and helpful. Check in was very swift.
Breakfast is simple(buffet) but there was just the right amount of variation to have something else every day.
The eating room is very small though, so I recommend to come before 8 o clock during weekdays. But it isnt a problem to eat in the lobby or taking something like cereals to your bedroom.
Housekeeping cleaned our room every day, and did it a great job, nothing to complain about.
Thr kingsizebed felt like heaven everytime I came back from discovering New York City, the greatest city of the world!

Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We arrived late, check in was quick, and everything worked OK, hot breakfast was served, tasty croissants, everything else scrambled eggs toasts waffles etc were good too. We stayed there for two nights, its close to Manhattan, approx. 20+ minutes on taxi in traffic, and that's what we valued while were there ... staff was polite. We liked that place and would stay there again.

Room Tip: we were on 8th floor; OK
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baulkham Hills, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed in the Comfort Inn LIC for 5 nights in early November,
the staff were fantastic, Madi was especially helpful

the room is small (although I have stayed in smaller in Tokyo) but is reasonably comfy, the decor is dated but hey, its a cheap hotel close to Manhattan so you shouldnt really expect much.

this hotel is really close to 2 subway stations Queensborough Plaza and Queens Plaza (use Queens Plaza if you have baggage because there is no lift at Queensborough Plaza) and plenty of trains coming by, I was able to get to World Trade Centre and Coney Island

I would have liked a fridge in the room, but you cant have everything.
next time I am in New York I will consider this place again.

Room Tip: Stay away from the lift, I was in 704 and got the noise of people waiting for the lift and the ice m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2014

Queensboro station outside the door. Minutes into manhatton. Clean and very comfortable. Lovely big bed and very helpful staff. Will def be back.
Food not great but I'd say the same for the whole of new york.
Brilliant value for money.

Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortinnlic, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, November 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are happy you enjoyed your stay! We appreciate your review and thank you for your feedback!

Hope that we have the opportunity to serve you again.

regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel in a good location for travelling in to Manhattan by subway . Queensborg plaza station at the top of the road ....ideal after a day in New York .
The hotel is clean and was quiet whilst we were there. It is older and could probably do with a freshen up.
Complimentary breakfast was very welcome and set you up for the rest of the day. Limited table space but bedroom is only a lift journey away.
Room was smallish but cleaned everyday with fresh towels and toiletries restocked .
We would return .

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortinnlic, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, November 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Feedback from our guests is very important to us and your input helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay.

We look forward to serving you again.

regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 42 - 24 Crescent Street, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 25 Hotels in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn - Long Island City is located at the base of the famed Queensboro/59th st. bridge that connect Queens to Manhattan. We are just minutes away from Midtown Manhattan. We are located just 1 block away from NYC Subways - which is the best way to get around NYC. Located just 7 miles from LGA and 12 miles from JFK. A great way to stay in NYC without having to pay the high Manhattan prices. Free Wi-Fi, Free Breakfast, Complimentary use of Business Center and Fitness Center, Free Newspapers, Iron/Ironing boards, In-room Safe, In-room coffee makers all come standard with your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Hotel Long Island City
Long Island City Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Long Island City, New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.