We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location great price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn to your Saves list
Comfort Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   42 - 24 Crescent Street, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Long Island City
Charlton MA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great location great price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This hotel is in a great location to the metro and the price is reasonable. Additional good points are the breakfast and was very clean. The parking is tight but that's nothing new in NY and the area looks a little scary but it's fine. Only stayed one night and there were no complaints but it was just an average place.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    173
    59
    13
    14
See reviews for
69
126
26
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Wasn't expecting much from a Comfort Inn in Queens but this was a great surprise. Lovely, clean, well furnished and well decorated rooms. Didn't feel cheap at all. The staff were very friendly and helpful, plus there was someone always in reception so you felt very safe coming in and out.

Neighbourhood wasn't the best but as the hotel was only 2 minutes from the subway it wasn't a problem, with trains into time square regularly.

Breakfast was really good, wide range of food with staff very good at refilling. Could have done with some more table and chairs though.

Overall a great location to spend a week sightseeing in New York. Would recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed in one of Long Island City's boutique hotels two days prior. My departing flight was canceled, so I needed to quickly find lodging for the evening. As much as I enjoyed the other place, I was in search of a relatively low price and, hopefully, free and functioning WiFi.

This hotel is half a block from Queens Plaza - making it very easy to access numerous subway lines.

The interior is a little worn, but the bed was comfy; bath products were nice; WiFi was fast! And, since I had to leave before breakfast, I appreciated the in-room coffee.

Supposedly, I received an upgrade, and that makes me wonder what my room would've been like without one...

If you're looking for charm, this isn't the place. If you're looking for a reasonably priced place to set up home base in NYC, this may be the perfect place for you.

I would consider staying here again for my next whirlwind trip.

Stayed September 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014 via mobile

I had low expectations when reserving my room for the Halloween weekend for an event, but the hotel was easy to find, free parking with no worry of break ins, the front desk was more than helpful about what trains to take on the subway and gave is excellent recommendations on places to eat, the subway platform entrance was right around the corner of the hotel. Clean room, clean shower, plenty of towels, quiet guests, nice amall breakfast (orange juice, milk, bagels, cereal, etc).
Overall was satisfied with the hotel and got a great rate with my Choice Hotels Privilege Rewards program.
Would attend again soon

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levittown, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

I stayed here for work and we have a policy with a limit for our rooms. Needless to say they shouldn't have a limit in NYC. The room was clean but small. The neighborhood was not so nice and I didn't feel safe.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Pros - very good location being very close to subway where a number of main lines passed through. Rooms satisfactory for sleeping in. Breakfast satisfactory. Clean and reasonably priced. Felt safe day and night walking to and from hotel to subway. The view of a scrap yard that many refer to is no longer as it has been removed in what appears to be a redevelopment of the area.

Cons - only 4 tables in breakfast resulting in either a long wait for a table or the need to carry your breakfast to your room. Rooms were small. In advance of my stay I had sent a few queries by email which never got a response. I had to mail numerous times before I eventually got a response. One of my queries was in relation to the hotel organising transport from JFK to the hotel. I was told to ring the hotel on my arrival and they would organise transport for me. When I arrived I rang the hotel to make these arrangements. On doing so I was asked for my mobile number so as the taxi driver could ring me to advise pick up point. It was at this point when I gave my number which was a UK number I was told that the driver was unable to ring international numbers. I was stranded with no transport!! I ended up taking a taxi from outside the vaiport for which I was charged $125. Originally I was quoted $65 by the hotel. All along during my communication with the hotel they knew I was from Northern Ireland but failed to inform me of this issue. When I arrived at the hotel I complained about the situation I found myself in but the reception staff were very dismissive of the situation and made the comment upon hearing what I paid for the taxi that they advise everyone to use a yellow taxi.......I wasn,'t told that. Not a great start to the holiday.
My second request at time of booking(7 months in advance) was for a room on the eighth floor this was ignored with a room on the fourth floor offered.
Since my return home ( over two weeks ago) my son realised that he left behind the charger for his laptop. I contacted the hotel to see if there was someway if organising its return. Surprise surprise the mail has been ignored and I still await a response.
Overall I found the hotel adequate but found the staff unhelpful, dismissive and very unwelcoming.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Having visited New York several times we decided to stay somewhere different.
This is a great hotel near enough to Roosevelt Island in a residential area of LIC. Public transport into manhattan is cheap and easy to use

Room Tip: High room away from lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 42 - 24 Crescent Street, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn - Long Island City is located at the base of the famed Queensboro/59th st. bridge that connect Queens to Manhattan. We are just minutes away from Midtown Manhattan. We are located just 1 block away from NYC Subways - which is the best way to get around NYC. Located just 7 miles from LGA and 12 miles from JFK. A great way to stay in NYC without having to pay the high Manhattan prices. Free Wi-Fi, Free Breakfast, Complimentary use of Business Center and Fitness Center, Free Newspapers, Iron/Ironing boards, In-room Safe, In-room coffee makers all come standard with your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Otel, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Hotel Long Island City
Long Island City Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Long Island City, New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.