We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy commute to NYC !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn to your Saves list
Comfort Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   42 - 24 Crescent Street, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Long Island City
Quebec City, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Easy commute to NYC !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We stayed at this hotel from June 20th to June 24th 2014.
As a lot of other reviews say, the front desk staff offer a great Customer service.
We had a large room on the 4th floor with a king size bed, very comfortable and the room was clean. We could barely hear the subway from our room, so we did not have issues with that.

As far as the morning breakfast goes....there is a lot of room for improvement.
The size of the breakfast room is way too small for the size of the hôtel, the breakfast does not offer very much in comparison to other Comfort Inn's I've visited in NY and elsewhere. I believe the management should try and do something to improve on that, I think by adding extra space and offering a few more options (like scrambled eggs, another choice of juice, English muffins, bagels for exemple, would improve greatly) BUT we did not mind the variety as much as the lack of space available. Then again, it's not anything major, I would return to this hotel anyway!

As far as location is concerned, it's great! We purchased a Metro card for 1 week at the price of 30$ for unlimited rides. If you plan on taking the subway a lot, it's well Worth it! You may purchase the card directly at the subway station, there is a booth or you can just use the vending machine.

The subway station is just around the block which makes it very convenient and even though the neighborhood is kind of run down, it's very safe to walk back at night. The subway ride is 10 minutes to get to Midtown. Either the 7 train or the N,Q,R train can be used depending on where you'd like to go. Ask the front desk staff if you need help, they're great with that!.

If you visit during summer and you feel like going to the beach....it's very easy. Jump on the N train to Coney Island and you'll be at the beach! The train ride is 1 hour but well worth it!

If you want food near the hotel, there is a little diner at the corner of the street, you can grab something after a long day in NY and eat in room! On that same street you can also find a Pizza place, Subway restaurant, Checkers and the front desk staff can also recommend a lot of places in the area.

Lastly, if you are traveling by plane use the car service for either JFK or Laguardia. It's cheaper than a cab ride and easy to book. Just ask the front desk!!

Thanks for a great stay, we'll see next time ;-)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    173
    59
    13
    14
See reviews for
69
126
26
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

I've stayed in LIC several times on my visits to NYC. I love the proximity to everything. I booked an early flight for right after I got off working my night job. I waited in a long security line, waited in a long line to board the airplane, waited to get off the airplane (thanks LaGuardia) and waited in a very long line to get a yellow cab. Needless to say by the time I got to the hotel, I was ready to crash. The front desk confirmed by reservation, gave me a key and up to my room I went. As soon as I stepped in, I stepped right back out without even turning on the lights. You know that smell you have after turning on the A/C in the car for the 1st time in awhile? That urine smell? Thanks to either carpet left wet for too long or the window AC unit it had the smell of a men's bathroom urinal. I waited another 45 minutes for another room to become available and guess what? Same freaking smell! Too tired to go back to the front desk. Too tired to wait only to perhaps find out that it's simply what all the rooms smell like thanks to a need to upgrade to central air instead of archaic window units. I love staying in Long Island City but this will be the last time I stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

First time in New York! This hotel is amazing! Cheap, next to the subway station, very close to Manhatten core, free wifi, free internet and printing, free tasty breakfast! The area is safe. I have nothing negative to say.

Room Tip: The rooms on the south side face the garbage yard (its gonna be taken care of in the next couple yea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

This was our first time staying in a hotel in NYC other than in Manhattan. We came to NYC for our daughter's birthday and since she lives in Queens we decided to stay closer to her. What a pleasant surprise. First of all we took the N train from 34th and 6th and were able to get off one block away from the hotel. The hotel is very reasonably priced and is a great deal for the money. Clean room, comfortable bed, very helpful staff. We were given maps and directions to everywhere we wanted to go by the front desk staff. This hotel is very convienient to Manhattan by either the N or E train if arriving from Penn Station. There is a lot of construction but this an up and coming neighborhood and will become very popular soon. Absolutely no complaints. If you are looking for a reasonable alternative to expensive Manhattan hotels this one is highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Okay, New York City is NO cheap stay but our travel agent found this little gem only steps away from the Queensborough subway station that is minutes away from Midtown Manhattan. Two major lines to select and you're in heart & hub of NYC!!!
All around the hotel is construction because of gentrification. So you will have to put up dust and noise. You can hear the freeway and the Metro cars running but you'll be so exhausted from walking to all the sites in NYC, you'll fall asleep to the rhythmic sounds of all that traffic.
The hotel staff are friendly and helpful. The stay is basic as is the breakfast which is included. The rooms are tight but always clean. We got wifi free. There is a decent but basic fitness room in the basement and a business center with 2 desktop computers with a laser printer... No charge.
A very good budget stay and there's is plenty safe.

Room Tip: Book early, while we were there we noticed that prices were up 20-30%as vacancies diminished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsville, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

First have to thank Andre for facilitating my brother in law and I when we visited NYC for the NFL draft last week. We had a queen bed reservation and had been asked to have a room with two beds. When one came available after we checked in, Andre came and moved us to the new room. That right there made our stay.

Aside from that, the hotel is decent and great value for the money. I would stay here again as it is close to the Queensboro subway station. We only used it for sleep, since NYC has so much to do.

Room Tip: Try and stay off Floor #1 - Its ground level and a bit dingy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 42 - 24 Crescent Street, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn - Long Island City is located at the base of the famed Queensboro/59th st. bridge that connect Queens to Manhattan. We are just minutes away from Midtown Manhattan. We are located just 1 block away from NYC Subways - which is the best way to get around NYC. Located just 7 miles from LGA and 12 miles from JFK. A great way to stay in NYC without having to pay the high Manhattan prices. Free Wi-Fi, Free Breakfast, Complimentary use of Business Center and Fitness Center, Free Newspapers, Iron/Ironing boards, In-room Safe, In-room coffee makers all come standard with your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Otel, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Hotel Long Island City
Long Island City Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Long Island City, New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.