We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“80% Recommended? What A Let Down.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn to your Saves list
Comfort Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   42 - 24 Crescent Street, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #14 of 26 Hotels in Long Island City
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“80% Recommended? What A Let Down.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

I've stayed in LIC several times on my visits to NYC. I love the proximity to everything. I booked an early flight for right after I got off working my night job. I waited in a long security line, waited in a long line to board the airplane, waited to get off the airplane (thanks LaGuardia) and waited in a very long line to get a yellow cab. Needless to say by the time I got to the hotel, I was ready to crash. The front desk confirmed by reservation, gave me a key and up to my room I went. As soon as I stepped in, I stepped right back out without even turning on the lights. You know that smell you have after turning on the A/C in the car for the 1st time in awhile? That urine smell? Thanks to either carpet left wet for too long or the window AC unit it had the smell of a men's bathroom urinal. I waited another 45 minutes for another room to become available and guess what? Same freaking smell! Too tired to go back to the front desk. Too tired to wait only to perhaps find out that it's simply what all the rooms smell like thanks to a need to upgrade to central air instead of archaic window units. I love staying in Long Island City but this will be the last time I stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    193
    70
    15
    14
See reviews for
77
139
32
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

First time in New York! This hotel is amazing! Cheap, next to the subway station, very close to Manhatten core, free wifi, free internet and printing, free tasty breakfast! The area is safe. I have nothing negative to say.

Room Tip: The rooms on the south side face the garbage yard (its gonna be taken care of in the next couple yea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

This was our first time staying in a hotel in NYC other than in Manhattan. We came to NYC for our daughter's birthday and since she lives in Queens we decided to stay closer to her. What a pleasant surprise. First of all we took the N train from 34th and 6th and were able to get off one block away from the hotel. The hotel is very reasonably priced and is a great deal for the money. Clean room, comfortable bed, very helpful staff. We were given maps and directions to everywhere we wanted to go by the front desk staff. This hotel is very convienient to Manhattan by either the N or E train if arriving from Penn Station. There is a lot of construction but this an up and coming neighborhood and will become very popular soon. Absolutely no complaints. If you are looking for a reasonable alternative to expensive Manhattan hotels this one is highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
81 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Okay, New York City is NO cheap stay but our travel agent found this little gem only steps away from the Queensborough subway station that is minutes away from Midtown Manhattan. Two major lines to select and you're in heart & hub of NYC!!!
All around the hotel is construction because of gentrification. So you will have to put up dust and noise. You can hear the freeway and the Metro cars running but you'll be so exhausted from walking to all the sites in NYC, you'll fall asleep to the rhythmic sounds of all that traffic.
The hotel staff are friendly and helpful. The stay is basic as is the breakfast which is included. The rooms are tight but always clean. We got wifi free. There is a decent but basic fitness room in the basement and a business center with 2 desktop computers with a laser printer... No charge.
A very good budget stay and there's is plenty safe.

Room Tip: Book early, while we were there we noticed that prices were up 20-30%as vacancies diminished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsville, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

First have to thank Andre for facilitating my brother in law and I when we visited NYC for the NFL draft last week. We had a queen bed reservation and had been asked to have a room with two beds. When one came available after we checked in, Andre came and moved us to the new room. That right there made our stay.

Aside from that, the hotel is decent and great value for the money. I would stay here again as it is close to the Queensboro subway station. We only used it for sleep, since NYC has so much to do.

Room Tip: Try and stay off Floor #1 - Its ground level and a bit dingy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Stayed for seven nights. Conveniently situated to take the subway to Manhattan(5 minutes on foot). Much cheaper than the hotels in the downtown and it's the main reason that i chose this hotel. Quite satisfying choice. Breakfast was also nice and the staff were friendly and helpful to make reservations at restaurants and concerts. ★★★★

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

We stayed here for 7 nights and had a great time. Helpful and friendly staff every day. The rooms were a good size and cleaned each day very well. The breakfast in the morning was simple but had everything you need. The best aspect to the hotel is the location, it's within seconds walking distance of Queensboro Plaza subway station which has the 7 line and NQR (both within a few stops of Grand Central and Times Square). Definitely brilliant value for money (especially in comparison to what you can get in Manhattan for the same price) and great to stay somewhere with quality and so close to Manhattan.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 42 - 24 Crescent Street, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn - Long Island City is located at the base of the famed Queensboro/59th st. bridge that connect Queens to Manhattan. We are just minutes away from Midtown Manhattan. We are located just 1 block away from NYC Subways - which is the best way to get around NYC. Located just 7 miles from LGA and 12 miles from JFK. A great way to stay in NYC without having to pay the high Manhattan prices. Free Wi-Fi, Free Breakfast, Complimentary use of Business Center and Fitness Center, Free Newspapers, Iron/Ironing boards, In-room Safe, In-room coffee makers all come standard with your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Choice Hotels and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Hotel Long Island City
Long Island City Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Long Island City, New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.