We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality and great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn to your Saves list
Comfort Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   42 - 24 Crescent Street, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #15 of 26 Hotels in Long Island City
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good quality and great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We were initially skeptical of staying here considering some of the bad reviews on tripadvisor. However, we were pleasantly surprised when we arrived. The staff were very friendly and helpful and could answer all our questions about how to get to and from places. The room was clean and comfortable. We had the window that looked over the scrap/rubbish yard but to be honest - who spends their entire holiday looking out of the window?! So we weren't that bothered! Although at night you could see Manhattan lit up beautifully which was quite a special sight! We never had any noise problems from any other guests and the bed was comfy.
The choice of continental breakfast was adequate for us and we would agree that the breakfast area is very small (about 3 tables for the entire hotel!) so either get there early, or you can take your breakfast back to your room which was fine. The room was cleaned very well every day and there was also a safe to put your valuables in. There are vending machines too if you crave a midnight snack!
The hotel is perfect and affordable for subway transport right into the heart of Manhattan - about 10/15 minutes journey takes you straight to Times Square. The area directly around the hotel is not much to write home about - the only walking in the area we did was to the subway station which was about 3 minutes away.
Overall, if you want affordable, clean accommodation in a great location then this is the place!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    196
    73
    15
    14
See reviews for
79
141
32
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milazzo, Italy
Level Contributor
43 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed in this hotel twice when we first came to New York and the second time when we went back to Italy. The hotel is very close to train stations which will bring you to the heart of the city. It is also accessible to & from the airport. The surroundings have some rubbish but aside from that, the place is recommendable. Breakfast is good compare to other Comfort Inn hotels or under Choice hotels chain we have stayed, they have more choices. The service was good and room is clean. It's no five star so don't expect a 5 star standard. It's comfortable, safe, clean the beast factor is the accessiblity (location)!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

The price and the location is what makes this hotel great. The hotel is within 2 minutes of walking distance to the 7 train which takes you into the city. We have stayed here both times during our visits to NYC. You want find any thrills here, but you will find a comfortable bed and a clean room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

I had a business trip to NY in June. My last business trip to NY was in Mar. and I was stayed in another hotel in Manhattan, but due to that hotel has neither free-wifi nor breakfast, so I chose Comfort Inn in Long Island City this time. Though I have to take subway to go to my company, but it's very convenient as it's only turn a corner fm the hotel to subway. It has many kinds of delicious breakfast that I enjoyed them much. Then the most satisfying is that the bedding and pillow are VERY VERY comfy! I stayed in a lot of hotels before and Comfort Inn's are most comfy, it's even better than my owns! I slept very well every night and even want to stay longer time as I was not willing to leave those nice bedding and pillows, heeehe~~ Also the staff are very polite and passional, I'm impressed by their high quality service. Comfort Inn in Long Island City will be my 1st choice in future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

This place is convenient if you want a very affordable alternative to Times Square. Roughly 15 minutes from the hotel door to Central Park, and maybe another 5-8 to Times Square.

Rooms are tiny. Our friends' room literally didn't have room on the outsides of the beds. No real closet to speak of. Typical continental buffet...plus some microwave-type eggs and sausage.

Rooms are up to date, and were clean. Road noise (compared to Manhattan) was not noticeable.

Biggest problem was I have used dozens of hotels / Starbucks / whatever hotspots and NEVER gotten the number of security warnings from Chrome and IE 10.0 explicitly stating their internet was not secure and outside sites could easily be spoofs, etc. I asked three different staff to resolve -- their answer - "ignore the warnings and just hit "OK". Brilliant. So, when my office gets hacked, I'm sure they'll understand. Thus, I couldn't get any necessary work done on site during my week there. Ugh. Even if it's true that it IS safe (?) it's poor customer service, and not acceptable. "Those bedbugs? ignore them...they're safe, too."

Room Tip: Try not to be near the ice makers. Some people were using at 3:00 am two nights and woke us up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortinnlic, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share your reviews.

I would like to apologize for any inconvenience during your stay.
Just to avoid misleading our potential guests, I would like to address a few of your concerns:

The security certificate has to be acccepted if you wish to use our hotel wireless network. If you do not do so, it will ofcourse keep popping up each time you try to connect.

While our staff may not be IT specialists, we do have a toll free number to address your concerns.

For our business guests we offer a choice of Wired connetion as well in each guest room.

Unlike Starbucks and other public networks we require all our guests to accept the security certificate, enter the password to connect to the network and then again a username and password to connect to the internet. We believe this is a decent amount security for a hotel network and in keeping with the Choice Hotels High Speed Internet Access requirements.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

A friend and I were traveling to NYC on vacation and chose to stay at this hotel due to its convience of location and afordability. We stayed here for six nights and I would totally reccomend it to others. The staff here is awesome...they are more than willing to accomidate, for example, we arrived at 6am and they had us in our room by 11am when check in is not until 3 and the day we left, they held our bags until our late night flight out. The hotel also offers a shuttle service to and from JFK for a flate rate of $40 (just let them know 5-10 minutes before). The breakfast is simple, but its enough to get you moving in the morning and saves you a few dollars. They also provide coffee, water and tea at all times. The room was small but clean and has an air conditioner, which was helpful in the summer. Also, its a one minute walk to the subway....which can get you to most locations in about 25 minutes. The hotel also has a small gym and a buisness center which was helpful when needing to print boarding passes, book tours, etc.
The area, although it looks a little questionable, was fine and we didnt run into any issues.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, MD
Level Contributor
64 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I had a quick night here after being bumped out of an oversold Manhattan hotel. Despite the very late arrival (1:30am), the desk clerk was friendly and helpful. The room was very clean and the bed was quite comfortable. Didn't use the mini-fridge, but was glad to see it. Only complaint was that somebody had left the alarm set for 5:15am, but that happens.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel
#13 of 26 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 946 reviews
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson
#18 of 26 in Long Island City
3.5 of 5 stars 1,158 reviews
0.3 mi away
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collectio...
#5 of 26 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sleep Inn - Long Island City
Sleep Inn - Long Island City
#8 of 26 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 571 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View
Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhatta...
#3 of 26 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 671 reviews
0.4 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York Long Island City/ Manhattan View
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York ...
#2 of 26 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 42 - 24 Crescent Street, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 26 Hotels in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn - Long Island City is located at the base of the famed Queensboro/59th st. bridge that connect Queens to Manhattan. We are just minutes away from Midtown Manhattan. We are located just 1 block away from NYC Subways - which is the best way to get around NYC. Located just 7 miles from LGA and 12 miles from JFK. A great way to stay in NYC without having to pay the high Manhattan prices. Free Wi-Fi, Free Breakfast, Complimentary use of Business Center and Fitness Center, Free Newspapers, Iron/Ironing boards, In-room Safe, In-room coffee makers all come standard with your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, EasyToBook, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Hotel Long Island City
Long Island City Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Long Island City, New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.