We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NO PARKING!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn to your Saves list
Comfort Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   42 - 24 Crescent Street, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Long Island City
Huber Heights, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“NO PARKING!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Arrived about 2:30 p.m. to find out the hotel had no adequate parking. If no spaces available on the street (none), we would have to go 2 blocks to a parking structure and pay $18.95/night. We are 2 seniors and unable to haul all our luggage let alone walk back and forth so many times to get our bags moved. We were traveling cross the country from CA and had lots to baggage. I cancelled my reservation and they were going to charge me $140.00, but after arguing they reduced the charge to $70.00. Rip Off! NEVER STAY AT THIS HOTEL!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortinnlic, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank You for taking the time to share your reviews. I am sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience and decided not to stay at our hotel. If you had stayed, yoou would realize how convenient it is to travel back and forth from Manhattan with the Subway just 1 Block, Free Wi-Fi and Free Breakfast every morning.

Unfortunately, we do not have a parking lot and that is with the majority of smaller hotels in New York City. We do not make that a secret but advertise in Bold Red Letters on our website so travelers are not inconvenienced.

We ask our guests to park in fron tof the hotel, use our luggage cart to unload and then park in the lot or on the street. Parking lots start at $8/12 hours and $16/24 hours. Either that or you could stay at a hotel which would cost a lot more and have a parking structure.

I am genuinely sorry for the inconvenience and hope you continue to stay at choice hotels on your future trips.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    173
    59
    13
    14
See reviews for
69
126
26
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denmark
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We arrived after midnight as our flight was delayed, and our first impression was a dark street in a seedy neighbourhood. It was the first time that we were staying outside Manhattan, and we were afraid that we would be too far from the action and waste time on transport. We could not be more wrong. Despite the late hour, we were warmly greeted by the night reception, and our room was waiting for us. The room was clean and had a comfortable king-bed, a desk, and a clean bathroom. The neighbourhood looked quite different the next morning. The hotel is very close to the Queensborough Plaza metro, which takes you to Grand Central or 42nd Street just as fast as if you had stayed at a Manhattan hotel at a much higher rate.
The complimentary breakfast is typical coffee, fruit, cereal and pastry. Nothing fancy, but OK to start the day. Seating was limited, but I saw guests taking breakfast up to their rooms.
The staff was very friendly and helpful. We could print our boarding passes;store our luggage until our departure in the evening. Also staying here means that you are much closer to JFK international airport, and therefore cut cost of hiring a cab.
We were happy to have stayed at this Comfort Inn, and can warmly recommend it as a good budget option for a visit to New York.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortinnlic, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank You for sharing your kind review regarding your recent stay at the Comfort Inn - LIC.
We constantaly make updates and upgrades to accommodate our guest needs. We are glad you chose to stay with us and were happy with our hospitality.

We appreciate your business and hope you stay with us on your future trips to NYC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Stayed here for 6 days and 5 nights when we visited family in New York. The neighborhood isn't the best looking, but it was safe. A subway station is a minute away with trains that take you right to Manhattan. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The room was a bit cramped, but it was alright since I was with my family. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom was clean. The TV had a good selection of channels.

Free breakfast (yogurt, fruit, waffles, sausages, egg, cereal), and free wifi made it a great value. You can also use the business center to plan your itinerary and print out tickets for free. I would definitely consider staying here again :)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany via Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I've visited NYC several times, usually staying right downtown near 42nd to be close to everything. When hubby suggested this hotel I feared we'd feel too far from the sights and waste time commuting back and forth. I was wrong. This hotel is very close to the Queensborough Plaza metro, we were one stop away from Central Park, and the hotel is newer and cleaner feeling than anything I've stayed at downtown. We took advantage of the free street side parking right in front of the hotel and had no problems. The complimentary breakfast is typical coffee, fruit, cereal and pastry. Nothing fancy, but it's a nice to start your day. Our room was very clean and comfortable., and the staff members were all very friendly and helpful. I'd love to stay at this Comfort Inn again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

The hotel sits in a neighborhood on the up-swing, like the rest of LIC. The Queens Plaza 'hood will see the same revitalization that changed the Vernon-Jackson area so dramatically over the past decade. ALL good. I give the hotel all top 4s and 5s. It's showing a little wear, but the hard-working staff of competent young immigrants keeps it clean and humming. We had trouble with the small safe in the closet. They came back 3x in quick response till they finally got it working. When we went out at noon for 15 mins, we told the desk staff that the cleaning people could have the room. When we returned, the room was completely made-over. You don't get that in a fancy Manhattan hotel. Pannini Shop on the corner has one of the fastest and best short-order cooks in the city. There are 2 convenient Subway Lines, and busses too. The 7 train is only 1.5 short LIC blocks away. Caution for older folk. There is no alternative to the mean steps you need to climb for the Queensboro Plaza Station. Another 1.5 blocks away is the Queens Plaza (underground) station, complete with nice elevators. The ride into Manhattan is ez and short no matter where you go. But don't forget 'the hood'. LIC has hidden treasurers (like MOMA @ PS1 and the world-class dining room there) And the wonders of Old World Poland (called Greenpoint) are only a short bus-ride away. By bus you can see where you want to get off. Overall, a Hidden Gem...and the Price is Right! (May, '13).

Room Tip: First floor rooms are actually half-basement; thereby quiet & convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

This motel is a great find if you are seeking affordable accommodations while visiting NYC. The rooms and bathrooms are small, but the property is clean, comfortable, and exceptionally well managed. The neighborhood is rather seedy--our room overlooked a salvage yard, and we were entertained by three drunks' arguing down on the street one morning. But that's the charm of Queens. The subway is one block away, and the line goes directly to Grand Central and then to Times Square. The breakfast is good, but the seating is limited.

Room Tip: Bring a wind machine to soften the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 42 - 24 Crescent Street, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn - Long Island City is located at the base of the famed Queensboro/59th st. bridge that connect Queens to Manhattan. We are just minutes away from Midtown Manhattan. We are located just 1 block away from NYC Subways - which is the best way to get around NYC. Located just 7 miles from LGA and 12 miles from JFK. A great way to stay in NYC without having to pay the high Manhattan prices. Free Wi-Fi, Free Breakfast, Complimentary use of Business Center and Fitness Center, Free Newspapers, Iron/Ironing boards, In-room Safe, In-room coffee makers all come standard with your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Otel, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Hotel Long Island City
Long Island City Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Long Island City, New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.