We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the pay....cosy to stay.....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn to your Saves list
Comfort Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   42 - 24 Crescent Street, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #16 of 26 Hotels in Long Island City
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Worth the pay....cosy to stay.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Actually this hotel was chosen by my sis in law....who lives in San Jose....coz we were new to the city...but wow......the hotel was near to the subway station.....jus about 2 to 3 mins walk......as well you get a good complimentary breakfast......along with nice clean rooms....were the room was made everyday and refilling the stuff.....service was soon nice....we loved it...the people at the reception were so friendly.....and must say.....you can get good Indian food outside the hotel in just a 3 mins walk.......

Stayed August 2015, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank subashinigandhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights over New Years so the Comfort Inn was an affordable choice for our visit to NYC. Just around the the corner from the Queensboro Plaza sub station giving easy access to transport links to Manhattan and other areas. We bought a week pass for $31 and definitely got our money worth. We had a basement level room making our nights very quiet for sleeping. The room was very clean, a little cramped for all our luggage, but had good lighting, comfy king bed with choice of pillow types. Breakfast is included but we only made use of this one morning as it was very crowded with only 4 tables for 8 floors of guests. We ate in our room. The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful as were all the housekeeping staff we came across. We were able to store our luggage on checkout and the front desk arranged a private car to JFK for $40 which was worth it to us to not have to navigate the subway with 5 pieces of luggage. My friend and I enjoyed our stay and I would definitely return. On one day of our trip we did a loop of the New York water taxi from Pier 79 -$32 for hop on hop off style which took us to many areas of lower Manhattan including a close up look at the Statue of Liberty and Brooklyn Bridge.

Stayed December 2015, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank tashk82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgerton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The best thing about this hotel is that staff are helpful and nice and it is close to the metro so getting around is easy. The hotel itself is clean, but in need of an update. Carpets are horrendous, but the beds are comfortable. We were here for a wedding over New Years so the prices were jacked up. Had we paid $100.00 for the room, I would say it was a bargain for the price. However, we paid about $250.00 per night which was way overpriced for this 2 star hotel.

  • Stayed December 2015, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2015 via mobile

First time in New York and and we stayed in a wonderful Hotel. The comfort inn just finished remodeling the hotel and everything was wonderful all the down to the breakfast. Walking distance of a couple stores very friendly staff will stay there again

Stayed June 2015, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank fullerkwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Jackson, Ohio
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2015

Stayed here for a girls weekend in NYC, room was clean, was a good size for NYC,and staff was very nice, even though the breakfast area is small with only 4 tables, it was a great price, close to subway and again it was Clean!!! I would Stay Here Again!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stang21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corning, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2015

A basic hotel which is fine given that it is much less expensive than staying in NYC. The staff is very friendly and the rooms were clean, although noisy, especially given the construction going on across the street. Breakfast was basic but has the essentials - eggs, waffles, yogurt, cereal, etc.

  • Stayed December 2015, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2015

I chose this hotel because at the time of my search it was the most reasonably priced, especially considering its easy proximity to Manhattan. You frankly never know what you're going to get at the under-150 price point, but I am happy to report that this hotel was cleaner and better kept than I expected. No weirdness in the room at all -- no peeling paint/wallpaper, no bugs, no eyebrow-crinkling odors, no questionable stains. Everything was neat and clean and in good order.

Another wild card at this price point is typically the staff's attitudes, but again I was pleasantly surprised that everyone I encountered was friendly and accommodating.

They serve complimentary breakfast, and though it was adequate for filling the tummy it was not particularly tasty. It's probably best to stick with cereal, yogurt, and whatever else they might be offering that they didn't cook. They have a waffle iron, though, and you get to make your own Belgian waffles, and that's always a good time. Also, the dining room was comically small (like three or four tables), so if you arrive at whatever the peak time is, there's a chance you won't find a seat.

I will add this about parking -- I didn't have a car, so I don't know what the parking situation actually is, but heads-up: the street situation looked a bit chaotic to me. The streets in that particular area are super confusing because they're at weird angles to each other (as opposed to being on a simple square grid like they are in midtown and upper Manhattan). Additionally, there was a lot of construction. I certainly wouldn't have wanted to be driving in that mess. Therefore, if you have a car, it is my recommendation that once you figure out how to get there, and once you get parked, leave the car and take advantage of NYC's public transportation system, which with all its issues never ceases to amaze and fascinate me and is by far the best way to get around. The hotel is a pretty short walk to two different large subway stations (Queens Plaza and Queensboro Plaza - and yes their names are annoyingly similar, but they are two completely separate stations), which between them serve several subway lines. From there you can get anywhere in the City that your heart desires without having to think at all about where you're going to have to park (and how much you're going to have to pay) on the other side.

Just in case you're also looking at City View Inn in Long Island City, this Comfort Inn is the better choice of the two. It's a nicer facility, the staff is better (I was pretty sure the front desk lady at City View wanted me to stop breathing, haha), and it's a lot closer to the subway.

Bottom line, as long as you aren't looking for luxury accommodations, this is a good choice.

Stayed November 2015
Helpful?
4 Thank Kim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
0.4 mi away
Sleep Inn - Long Island City
Sleep Inn - Long Island City
#6 of 26 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 719 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel
#11 of 26 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,142 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Long Island City
Quality Inn Long Island City
#17 of 26 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#19 of 26 in Long Island City
3.5 of 5 stars 1,337 reviews
0.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Long Island City
Howard Johnson Long Island City
#21 of 26 in Long Island City
3.5 of 5 stars 558 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ramada Long Island City
Ramada Long Island City
#22 of 26 in Long Island City
3.5 of 5 stars 765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 42 - 24 Crescent Street, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 26 Hotels in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn - Long Island City is located at the base of the famed Queensboro/59th st. bridge that connect Queens to Manhattan. We are just minutes away from Midtown Manhattan. We are located just 1 block away from NYC Subways - which is the best way to get around NYC. Located just 7 miles from LGA and 12 miles from JFK. A great way to stay in NYC without having to pay the high Manhattan prices. Free Wi-Fi, Free Breakfast, Complimentary use of Business Center and Fitness Center, Free Newspapers, Iron/Ironing boards, In-room Safe, In-room coffee makers all come standard with your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Choice Hotels and Travelocity so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Hotel Long Island City
Long Island City Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Long Island City, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing