We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location, great value, really close to Manhattan” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   42 - 24 Crescent Street, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #13 of 23 hotels in Long Island City
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Convenient location, great value, really close to Manhattan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Stayed here for 6 days and 5 nights when we visited family in New York. The neighborhood isn't the best looking, but it was safe. A subway station is a minute away with trains that take you right to Manhattan. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The room was a bit cramped, but it was alright since I was with my family. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom was clean. The TV had a good selection of channels.

Free breakfast (yogurt, fruit, waffles, sausages, egg, cereal), and free wifi made it a great value. You can also use the business center to plan your itinerary and print out tickets for free. I would definitely consider staying here again :)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    169
    56
    13
    14
See reviews for
68
120
25
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Germany via Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I've visited NYC several times, usually staying right downtown near 42nd to be close to everything. When hubby suggested this hotel I feared we'd feel too far from the sights and waste time commuting back and forth. I was wrong. This hotel is very close to the Queensborough Plaza metro, we were one stop away from Central Park, and the hotel is newer and cleaner feeling than anything I've stayed at downtown. We took advantage of the free street side parking right in front of the hotel and had no problems. The complimentary breakfast is typical coffee, fruit, cereal and pastry. Nothing fancy, but it's a nice to start your day. Our room was very clean and comfortable., and the staff members were all very friendly and helpful. I'd love to stay at this Comfort Inn again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

The hotel sits in a neighborhood on the up-swing, like the rest of LIC. The Queens Plaza 'hood will see the same revitalization that changed the Vernon-Jackson area so dramatically over the past decade. ALL good. I give the hotel all top 4s and 5s. It's showing a little wear, but the hard-working staff of competent young immigrants keeps it clean and humming. We had trouble with the small safe in the closet. They came back 3x in quick response till they finally got it working. When we went out at noon for 15 mins, we told the desk staff that the cleaning people could have the room. When we returned, the room was completely made-over. You don't get that in a fancy Manhattan hotel. Pannini Shop on the corner has one of the fastest and best short-order cooks in the city. There are 2 convenient Subway Lines, and busses too. The 7 train is only 1.5 short LIC blocks away. Caution for older folk. There is no alternative to the mean steps you need to climb for the Queensboro Plaza Station. Another 1.5 blocks away is the Queens Plaza (underground) station, complete with nice elevators. The ride into Manhattan is ez and short no matter where you go. But don't forget 'the hood'. LIC has hidden treasurers (like MOMA @ PS1 and the world-class dining room there) And the wonders of Old World Poland (called Greenpoint) are only a short bus-ride away. By bus you can see where you want to get off. Overall, a Hidden Gem...and the Price is Right! (May, '13).

Room Tip: First floor rooms are actually half-basement; thereby quiet & convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

This motel is a great find if you are seeking affordable accommodations while visiting NYC. The rooms and bathrooms are small, but the property is clean, comfortable, and exceptionally well managed. The neighborhood is rather seedy--our room overlooked a salvage yard, and we were entertained by three drunks' arguing down on the street one morning. But that's the charm of Queens. The subway is one block away, and the line goes directly to Grand Central and then to Times Square. The breakfast is good, but the seating is limited.

Room Tip: Bring a wind machine to soften the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Hotel was clean, the front desk staff very helpful and I enjoyed the stay. The breakfast area is on the small side, but the selection was good - and ready about 10 minutes early. The neighborhood is a little sketchy, but it looks to be up and coming. There was a bunch of trash on the street and there were some men camping out to apply for jobs across the street. It is really convenient to the subways and it is less than 10 minutes to Grand Central. Overall, I would stay again.

Room Tip: It can be a bit noisy, so request a room on the upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 42 - 24 Crescent Street, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Long Island City
#9 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn - Long Island City is located at the base of the famed Queensboro/59th st. bridge that connect Queens to Manhattan. We are just minutes away from Midtown Manhattan. We are located just 1 block away from NYC Subways - which is the best way to get around NYC. Located just 7 miles from LGA and 12 miles from JFK. A great way to stay in NYC without having to pay the high Manhattan prices. Free Wi-Fi, Free Breakfast, Complimentary use of Business Center and Fitness Center, Free Newspapers, Iron/Ironing boards, In-room Safe, In-room coffee makers all come standard with your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Agoda, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Hotel Long Island City
Long Island City Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Long Island City, New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.