We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a decent deal for its price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   42 - 24 Crescent Street, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #13 of 23 hotels in Long Island City
Kiev, Ukraine
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“a decent deal for its price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night only, so it's probably not much of experience, but I'll share it anyway:) well, to cut a long story short: it's nice. A comfortable bed, new furniture, dragon-blowing hair dryer, and clothing iron and board (which we didn't need, but it was a pleasant surprise nevertheless) - altogether a good place to stay for 100 USD per night (booked via Priceline). I wouldn't say the neighbourhood is unsafe (as others mentioned here) or really noisy, but the dumpster is right under the window, that's true.
Subway station, however, is 5 minutes walk away, and that's a pretty good advantage. And yes, the staff (all Indian guys as far as I can tell) was extremely friendly!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    104
    229
    75
    15
    15
See reviews for
63
117
25
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We picked this hotel to be able to access the subway easily, and it is great for that. Only about 2 blocks to the station. The hotel itself is a very well done Comfort Inn. Staff is very helpful, friendly. Rooms are small, but very clean, comfortable bed, good linen and pillows Bathroom and towels are also clean, Fixtures, furniture, everything is in good shape, not shabby. In room heat/AC works well. Good, well tended breakfast bar. Able to get into Manhattan quickly and only pay a reasonable price. The area around the hotel is industrial, so that means very few retail businesses and very few places to eat: a couple sandwich shops, a Chinese buffet and pizza shop, but all good. Also no decent place to go for a walk. Also, you can hear all the trains and cars, but it is sort of like 'white noise'. So this hotel works well as a good place to sleep and access Manhattan or Queens

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights. I booked it via Agoda for 70 USD per night. I wasn't expecting much and i was positively surprised. Very clean and conviniently located. The hair dryer in my room broke down and got instantly replaced. As others mentioned the breakfast area is small but i never had a problem with finding a seat. My only complain is that the heating system is noisy. It won't affect you if you go in the warmer months. Great place if you are on a budget.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The staff was very friendly and helpful. I forgot some toiletry items, which they had on hand and gave me - very convenient. Also, when I arrived the hotel had begun to fill up, so they upgraded my room with no extra charge to King Suite. Overall the hotel is a little aged, but the room was comfortable, very clean. Nice big flatscreen TV, and a Jacuzzi oversized bath tub. Room had a safe, as well as iron and board and hairdryer. Breakfast was ok, fruit was very fresh. I would stay here again as the location was close to where I was visiting. Also used the 'Gym' which has a few machines and some dumbbells.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Congratulations to the Comfort Inn Hotel at Long Island City in Queens N.Y. This was our 3rd. and best stay at this well known brand hotel. Our first visit 4yrs. ago and again 2 yrs. ago was picked primarily because the room rate was more reasonable than N.Y.City prices and the Comfort Inn offered breakfast as well. The staff THEN was indifferent and not very cordial. This recent visit again was selected because of the favorable pricing and we were now familiar with the area.

This 3rd stay was wonderful. The Hotel was spotless. The rooms while not large are immaculate, perfectly maintained, with a gleaming bathroom. The room also included a room safe and flat screen TV. The breakfast room is attractive and the variety of items were impressive, tasty and generous.

The staff are courteous, welcoming, knowledgeable and cheerful. Special note: Sonny is a great host and were pleased that he is still with the Comfort Inn.

Other reviews and reviewers will cover the easy access to Manhattan and the other boroughs.

Enjoy the hotel and I feel the area is safe.

Room Tip: Stay of top level floors, more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austria
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

canceled and no room availabe.

After 2 houres of negotiation with the staff and Orbitz on the phone I had to leave the hotel without a room in this hotel and no room elsewhere because the offers by Orbitz where bad.

In the end I paid on night for 150$ and had no room at all.
Poor service by both, the hotel that canceled the room knowing that I would come (they said that the webform did not work) and by Orbitz who did not contact the hotel and told them that I would come a day later.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

the area was very sketchy and not safe and very noisy coz from the industrail around the hotel and next to a dumpster. the room was very small and mildewy smell. so we end up buying lysol to spray the room and we saw a bug crawling by the window. plus once you enter the lobby you smell cigarette all the way to the elevator and all the hallways. and we asked the receptionist and she said its a smoke free hotel. that's a big lie! we never had breakfasy coz its always packed and no place to sit in. the only plus side of this hotel is close to the train station. just don't walk by yourself at night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 42 - 24 Crescent Street, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Long Island City
#9 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn - Long Island City is located at the base of the famed Queensboro/59th st. bridge that connect Queens to Manhattan. We are just minutes away from Midtown Manhattan. We are located just 1 block away from NYC Subways - which is the best way to get around NYC. Located just 7 miles from LGA and 12 miles from JFK. A great way to stay in NYC without having to pay the high Manhattan prices. Free Wi-Fi, Free Breakfast, Complimentary use of Business Center and Fitness Center, Free Newspapers, Iron/Ironing boards, In-room Safe, In-room coffee makers all come standard with your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Hotel Long Island City
Long Island City Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Long Island City, New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.