We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dissapointed” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   42 - 24 Crescent Street, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #13 of 23 hotels in Long Island City
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“dissapointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

the area was very sketchy and not safe and very noisy coz from the industrail around the hotel and next to a dumpster. the room was very small and mildewy smell. so we end up buying lysol to spray the room and we saw a bug crawling by the window. plus once you enter the lobby you smell cigarette all the way to the elevator and all the hallways. and we asked the receptionist and she said its a smoke free hotel. that's a big lie! we never had breakfasy coz its always packed and no place to sit in. the only plus side of this hotel is close to the train station. just don't walk by yourself at night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    73
    165
    55
    13
    14
See reviews for
63
119
25
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I had checked the prices of various hotels in NY city area, most of them were in 300's, 400's and 500's. Priceline was able to give me an offer for my price at this hotel. We stayed for 5 nights at about 150$ a night. Includes breakfast. We, like every other tourist, came to NY for sightseeing and did not spend much time at the hotel. We were at Room 602, it was facing some industrial area - didn't bother me since we were out all day. The room size was about 14 * 14 feet, the smallest hotel room that i have stayed in USA. It came with a Queen size bed. the room size didn't bother me much either, since all we wanted was a place to sleep over. i didn't recall anyone talking about the size of the hotel room in reviews; so i am guessing that i got the smallest room cos of my priceline rate.
Breakfast, free internet, easy access to NY city / Manhattan are the things that I wanted. So, I am happy overall. The neighborhood is not that great, lot of shops closed down and graffiti on the walls, etc., but thankfully never had any safety issues.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I stayed with my family in this hotel during our summer visit to NYC. Hotels are very expensive in Manhattan and we chose this hotel to save some money and we were not dissapointed.

The hotel itself is clean and secure, the area where is located is kind of run down but sub station is only one block away and we nevel felt insecure even coming back to the hotel late at night.

The breakfast bar is nice and varied, the area where is located is cramped (just 3 tables) however you can take your food either to the lobby or to your room.

Overall we saved money and enjoyed our stay, I woud definetely stay again and I would recommend it to anyone considering a stay.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utica, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

My husband and I just returned from a two nite stay at the Comfort Inn. We would definitely return. We were visiting our daughter who lives in Manhatten and didn't want to pay those prices. After learning that you must get off and exit near the South Street exit you are practically a minute walk to the hotel. Front desk very friendly, our room was clean...bathroom was very nice.....breakfast great....we had a problem with blow dryer not working and a friendly young man from staff came up after we called and brought us one. No problem...other than that great time!~We will definitely book again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

They had awful breakfast with cheapest ingredients and shower stream is barely enough to rinse the soap off.

However location and the value is really good comparing the NY prices. It is easy to get around.

5Pointz in walking distance.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

I am retired and had to stay in Manhattan a lot in Manhattan doing business and contary to what the locales think the world does not revolved arround them. Because of that my first reaction was to rate the hotel average. But the room and bath was clean. Wi Fi and breakast was very good. Close to the sub way to Manhattan. The desk staff was very helpfull as the airline lost one of my bags and they kept me informed that I had to again the call airline since the bag had not arrive as promissed. The desk will call you a town car to get to LGA. On the negative side: the room was small and the breafast area only sat about a dozen persons. But again, that's what is expected in the Manhattan area unless you pay big $$. We staved on the fifth floor so the out side noise was not as bad.

Room Tip: 5th floor for less outside noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I stayed here a few weeks ago for some action after a fun date. Didn't feel like paying a ridiculous amount in the city, and I live with other people so taking her back to my place was out of the question. The hotel is nice; being a native New Yorker I'm used to the whole industrial environment. Breakfast was delicious, and my partner and I had a fun night. If you're looking for a cheap place to stay while visiting NYC or a place to get some action when you can't get it at home, this is the place for you. Def. plan on coming back

Room Tip: Get one on the upper floor. You get a better deal
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 42 - 24 Crescent Street, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Long Island City
#9 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn - Long Island City is located at the base of the famed Queensboro/59th st. bridge that connect Queens to Manhattan. We are just minutes away from Midtown Manhattan. We are located just 1 block away from NYC Subways - which is the best way to get around NYC. Located just 7 miles from LGA and 12 miles from JFK. A great way to stay in NYC without having to pay the high Manhattan prices. Free Wi-Fi, Free Breakfast, Complimentary use of Business Center and Fitness Center, Free Newspapers, Iron/Ironing boards, In-room Safe, In-room coffee makers all come standard with your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Hotel Long Island City
Long Island City Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Long Island City, New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.