We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant pre-cruise stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   42 - 24 Crescent Street, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #13 of 23 hotels in Long Island City
Callahan, Florida
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Pleasant pre-cruise stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

One block from Queensboro Plaza Station....Gateway to Times Square-Grand Central on the 7, Rockefeller Center, Penn Station and Downtown on the Q and N (no elevator or escalators available). Two blocks from Queens Plaza Station (E, M, R) which has elevators to platform level.

Very accommodating staff...one minor room problem quickly resolved with a swift room change. Good breakfast that includes eggs and sausage.

Check out the Burger Garage (about three-block walk).....GREAT BURGERS!

Room Tip: Stay off first floor (sub-ground level) if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortinnlic, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank You for taking the time to write such a nice review about our hotel.
I am sure other travellers will find it very helpful.
We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    76
    169
    56
    13
    14
See reviews for
68
121
25
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

I chose to stay in Long Island City because of its easy proximity to Manhattan and also Queens for the US Open Tennis games. I did a lot of research and finally settled on the Comfort Inn because of the reasonable price (~$175) and being only a block away from the Queensboro Plaza station.

I flew into JFK with my parents and we took the Airtrain and E subway to Queens Plaza, then it was a quick 5 minute walk to the hotel. As many other people have said, the area is rundown, very industrial, and not very safe for single people at night. That's the main reason for only giving it a 3 rating and nothing higher. Super sketchy area early in the morning and late at night. It was okay because I was always walking with others, but I would definitely NOT walk by myself. Take a $20-30 taxi from Manhattan instead and get dropped off right at the door.

The staff did everything they could to make our stay enjoyable. They even let us check in as early as 10am, given we had just gotten off a red eye flight. Very professional and well run hotel, just not in the best area. Buffet breakfast was also a nice touch.

The 2 double/full bed room was cramped, but provided a decent bathroom with nice countertop and toiletries. The view of the Empire State and Chrysler Buildings was also a nice bonus - just don't look down onto the metal junkyard below haha.

If I'm that much on a budget again, I might consider staying here again. However I would recommend the extra $50-100 a night for a room in the heart of the city, and a much safer area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

Its,was a nice time, staff was great, friendly, and helpful, our rooms were in nice shape and cleaned every time we came back to our room, breakfast was hot and tasty, except one lady kept playing with her hair by all the food ewww!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We stayed here for almost two weeks in early-August 2012. We specifically chose this hotel because of its proximity to the subway station (and subsequently Manhattan). We were not disappointed!

First of all, other reviews are spot on, this place is incredibly close to the Queensboro' Plaza subway station. Train 7 will take you right into Times Square in about 15 minutes. This made things much easier for us as we are not familiar with the area.

The hotel itself is very clean and the staff are both friendly and extremely helpful. Our room was on the 6th floor and we had a partial view of Manhattan and the nearby junkyard! Don't let the junkyard put you off, it's across the street and it didn't bother us one bit.

Our room gave us everything we needed: large bed, HD television, a safe, a big shower, coffee machine, an iron/ironing board and hairdryer. The room was cleaned daily and we felt incredibly comfortable in it. If I'm being picky, it would have been nice to have a fridge in the room and a kettle (us British like our tea after all!) - but these are minor requests.

Breakfast is served daily. As others have mentioned, the breakfast area is very small. We managed to get a table a couple of times, however I found it easier to take a tray, load up and take this back up to our room. It really wasn't *that* much of a problem.

All in all, we'd definitely stay here again. Considering how easy it is to reach central Manhattan from the hotel it's an absolute gem!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortinnlic, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are thrilled to read that you enjoyed staying in our property and look forward to being of service to you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bredsten, Denmark
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights during our stay in NY, and I would recommend to everyone visiting NY to stay in Long Island instead of Manhattan, as you get a lot more for your money here!

Two subway stations can be reached within 5 minute walk, there are several dining options near the hotel, and breakfast is included in the price as well as a prive bathroom!

Rooms are not really that big, but when in NY, who spends all their time in the hotel room??

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortinnlic, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are glad you find our hotel to be a good value. We are honored that you recommended us to other travelers. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton/Cincinnati OH
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

VERY clean. Not "old feeling" in ANY way.
INSANELY close to the Queensboro Plaza subway/train station (only 1 block).
Room was on the small side as others have mentioned, but still PLENTY big enough. (been in MUCH smaller rooms in Chicago)
Breakfast room was VERY packed every morning, but good HOT food (eggs, sausage) as well as hard boiled eggs, toast, cereals, donuts, and muffins.

Parking lots around the area SAY they only charge $15 (or whatever) for "overnight" parking, but the "trick" is it doesn't START till 10PM and you have to be OUT by 10am !! i.e. NOT practical in ANY way...
So they want you to pay the $15-$20 DAY rate and THEN the OVERNIGHT rate and then the next DAY rate too !!
We said NO WAY to that, and only drove around for 20min (on a Wed at 11:30-noon) and found street parking about 4 blocks southwest...
The area is "light industrial" with a few office buildings around.
The next day we drove down to Coney Island and Rockaway beach and didn't get back to the hotel area untill AFTER 5:30pm, and got a spot RIGHT next to the hotel !
So I agree with others reviews that once the "working people" leave the neighborhood you can EASILY find street parking. Just read the NO PARKING signs VERY CAREFULLY ! And google how close you are allowed to park from a fire hydrant or a corner...
Our car was unharmed in either place. Didn't see any evidence of cars broken into or anything like that.
Walked back from train (1 block away as mentioned) and bus terminal (a few more blocks over @ the Queens Plaza station on Jackson) AFTER DARK, with our 4yr old, with NO problems or worries...

Only $85 with advance purchase thru ChoiceHotels website (booked in May 2012).
As others mentioned, I asked for "NOT LOWER FLOOR" and was very pleased to get a room on the top (8th) floor.
Elevator is very slow and VERY busy in the mornings though.
There is NOT a "service elevator" so the cleaning crew uses the same elevator to lug all the laundry, etc. up and down also...

My wife says the fitness center is not great for cardio as there was only a stair stepper and an exercise bike. She would've preferred a treadmill beacuse she didn't feel comfortable running outside alone at 6am. She also said they did have a nice set of free weights. It was also a little weird that the business center is just a cubicle in the fitness center. While my wife was working out she had the TV cranked up and a family came in to use the computers... Not so great for them probably.

Overall, VERY PLEASED we stayed here. VERY great for the money, and SO SO SO close to everything via the subway or bus !
If you can just be patient and drive around to find street parking this hotel is THE PLACE TO STAY !!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortinnlic, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you for your thorough review. We are sure that by sharing your experience a lot of potential guests will be convinced to stay with us. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egypt
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Pros:
-Good location nears Queens plaza with direct subway accessibility to all NY destinations
-Price is OK
-Close to Manhattan

Cons:
-Receptionist gave us a room on 1st floor, which turned out to be a basement floor that has a bad smell all over, and room windows at foot level
-Excessive noise from cars
-Area is not nice and may be a bit scary at night
-Breakfast area is so cramped and has no space for more than 3-4 tables

I should have chosen another hotel even if it was more expensive

Room Tip: Don't take a room on floor #1. It's the basement
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortinnlic, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
We are sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. Our lower floor rooms are discounted and therefore may have been assigned to you based on the rate.
As other reviewers have noted, the area is still somewhat industrial, and therefore may appear not to be safe, however is perfectly safe. We hope that you stay with us again. You may find a higher floor room more to your liking next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 42 - 24 Crescent Street, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Long Island City
#9 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn - Long Island City is located at the base of the famed Queensboro/59th st. bridge that connect Queens to Manhattan. We are just minutes away from Midtown Manhattan. We are located just 1 block away from NYC Subways - which is the best way to get around NYC. Located just 7 miles from LGA and 12 miles from JFK. A great way to stay in NYC without having to pay the high Manhattan prices. Free Wi-Fi, Free Breakfast, Complimentary use of Business Center and Fitness Center, Free Newspapers, Iron/Ironing boards, In-room Safe, In-room coffee makers all come standard with your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Hotel Long Island City
Long Island City Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Long Island City, New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.