We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really, really good!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn to your Saves list
Comfort Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   42 - 24 Crescent Street, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #16 of 26 Hotels in Long Island City
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Really, really good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We stayed here for almost two weeks in early-August 2012. We specifically chose this hotel because of its proximity to the subway station (and subsequently Manhattan). We were not disappointed!

First of all, other reviews are spot on, this place is incredibly close to the Queensboro' Plaza subway station. Train 7 will take you right into Times Square in about 15 minutes. This made things much easier for us as we are not familiar with the area.

The hotel itself is very clean and the staff are both friendly and extremely helpful. Our room was on the 6th floor and we had a partial view of Manhattan and the nearby junkyard! Don't let the junkyard put you off, it's across the street and it didn't bother us one bit.

Our room gave us everything we needed: large bed, HD television, a safe, a big shower, coffee machine, an iron/ironing board and hairdryer. The room was cleaned daily and we felt incredibly comfortable in it. If I'm being picky, it would have been nice to have a fridge in the room and a kettle (us British like our tea after all!) - but these are minor requests.

Breakfast is served daily. As others have mentioned, the breakfast area is very small. We managed to get a table a couple of times, however I found it easier to take a tray, load up and take this back up to our room. It really wasn't *that* much of a problem.

All in all, we'd definitely stay here again. Considering how easy it is to reach central Manhattan from the hotel it's an absolute gem!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortinnlic, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are thrilled to read that you enjoyed staying in our property and look forward to being of service to you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    199
    74
    15
    15
See reviews for
83
142
32
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bredsten, Denmark
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights during our stay in NY, and I would recommend to everyone visiting NY to stay in Long Island instead of Manhattan, as you get a lot more for your money here!

Two subway stations can be reached within 5 minute walk, there are several dining options near the hotel, and breakfast is included in the price as well as a prive bathroom!

Rooms are not really that big, but when in NY, who spends all their time in the hotel room??

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortinnlic, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are glad you find our hotel to be a good value. We are honored that you recommended us to other travelers. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton/Cincinnati OH
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

VERY clean. Not "old feeling" in ANY way.
INSANELY close to the Queensboro Plaza subway/train station (only 1 block).
Room was on the small side as others have mentioned, but still PLENTY big enough. (been in MUCH smaller rooms in Chicago)
Breakfast room was VERY packed every morning, but good HOT food (eggs, sausage) as well as hard boiled eggs, toast, cereals, donuts, and muffins.

Parking lots around the area SAY they only charge $15 (or whatever) for "overnight" parking, but the "trick" is it doesn't START till 10PM and you have to be OUT by 10am !! i.e. NOT practical in ANY way...
So they want you to pay the $15-$20 DAY rate and THEN the OVERNIGHT rate and then the next DAY rate too !!
We said NO WAY to that, and only drove around for 20min (on a Wed at 11:30-noon) and found street parking about 4 blocks southwest...
The area is "light industrial" with a few office buildings around.
The next day we drove down to Coney Island and Rockaway beach and didn't get back to the hotel area untill AFTER 5:30pm, and got a spot RIGHT next to the hotel !
So I agree with others reviews that once the "working people" leave the neighborhood you can EASILY find street parking. Just read the NO PARKING signs VERY CAREFULLY ! And google how close you are allowed to park from a fire hydrant or a corner...
Our car was unharmed in either place. Didn't see any evidence of cars broken into or anything like that.
Walked back from train (1 block away as mentioned) and bus terminal (a few more blocks over @ the Queens Plaza station on Jackson) AFTER DARK, with our 4yr old, with NO problems or worries...

Only $85 with advance purchase thru ChoiceHotels website (booked in May 2012).
As others mentioned, I asked for "NOT LOWER FLOOR" and was very pleased to get a room on the top (8th) floor.
Elevator is very slow and VERY busy in the mornings though.
There is NOT a "service elevator" so the cleaning crew uses the same elevator to lug all the laundry, etc. up and down also...

My wife says the fitness center is not great for cardio as there was only a stair stepper and an exercise bike. She would've preferred a treadmill beacuse she didn't feel comfortable running outside alone at 6am. She also said they did have a nice set of free weights. It was also a little weird that the business center is just a cubicle in the fitness center. While my wife was working out she had the TV cranked up and a family came in to use the computers... Not so great for them probably.

Overall, VERY PLEASED we stayed here. VERY great for the money, and SO SO SO close to everything via the subway or bus !
If you can just be patient and drive around to find street parking this hotel is THE PLACE TO STAY !!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortinnlic, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you for your thorough review. We are sure that by sharing your experience a lot of potential guests will be convinced to stay with us. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egypt
Level Contributor
39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Pros:
-Good location nears Queens plaza with direct subway accessibility to all NY destinations
-Price is OK
-Close to Manhattan

Cons:
-Receptionist gave us a room on 1st floor, which turned out to be a basement floor that has a bad smell all over, and room windows at foot level
-Excessive noise from cars
-Area is not nice and may be a bit scary at night
-Breakfast area is so cramped and has no space for more than 3-4 tables

I should have chosen another hotel even if it was more expensive

Room Tip: Don't take a room on floor #1. It's the basement
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortinnlic, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
We are sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. Our lower floor rooms are discounted and therefore may have been assigned to you based on the rate.
As other reviewers have noted, the area is still somewhat industrial, and therefore may appear not to be safe, however is perfectly safe. We hope that you stay with us again. You may find a higher floor room more to your liking next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Falls, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

This hotel has the perfect location to the City. It was very clean and comfortable. We wanted a nice place to sleep not to hang out - it fit the bill. I see that someone else commented about room 508- my room. It does face a junk yard but while its not attractive, we didn't mind. It was a good value. Safe neighborhood and one block from the train (number 7 to Manhatten) . The staff was super helpful to. We will definately stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortinnlic, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our service and location. It will be our pleasure to be of service to you again. Thanks for your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, CA
Level Contributor
49 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

I am orginally from NYC and now live in Palm Springs, Ca for 9 years. I visited NYC one week ago and stayed at this hotel. It is a clean, efficient hotel with a helpful staff. The rooms are small but cosy and very clean. My room, #508 looked out upon a junk yard. The neighborhood is ugly but very safe and the hotel is located near all the subway transportation one could need to get quickly into Manhattan. There is the Queens Borough Plaza station and Queens Plaza subway station. The train ride into Manhattan is about less than 10 minutes. Twenty five minutes to the World Trade Center. Broadway 15 minutes. I noticed that the clientel staying at this hotel seemed to be high end very experienced travelers; Europeans, Middle Eastern, Indian, South American and of course American. You can take the number 7 train to Jacksons Heights (10 minutes) and visit all the international culture and restaurants there. I would stay there again as a former native New Yorker. By the way, there is a complimentary breakfast buffet service in the morning.

Room Tip: I feel all the rooms are the same. They are not noisy eventhough there are the subway lines and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortinnlic, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
We are glad that you chose to stay with us on your trip back to NY and that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again on your next visit to NY. Thanks for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

I arrived super early without even thinking about it, very sleep deprived. The Front desk personal checked me in early without my even having to ask, so nice! He was very polite, he actually suggested information. The hotel felt good when I walked in. When I opened the door to my hotel room I was so happy. It's very cozy and immaculate! Small, but laid out roomy. It's fantastic for a budget hotel. Very quiet. I will def recommend this to everyone;} There are healthy affordable deli's just across the street and around the corner. Free delivery too! The Train is just around the corner, easy. More train lines are 3 blocks over.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortinnlic, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
We are thrilled to know that you were pleased with the hotel. We hope that you continue to stay with us when your travels bring you to NY. Thanks for your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel
BEST WESTERN Plaza Hotel
#12 of 26 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 969 reviews
0.3 mi away
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collection
Verve Hotel, An Ascend Collectio...
#5 of 26 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,245 reviews
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#19 of 26 in Long Island City
3.5 of 5 stars 1,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sleep Inn - Long Island City
Sleep Inn - Long Island City
#8 of 26 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 592 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhattan View
Holiday Inn L.I. City - Manhatta...
#3 of 26 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 679 reviews
0.4 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York Long Island City/ Manhattan View
Home2 Suites by Hilton New York ...
#2 of 26 in Long Island City
4.5 of 5 stars 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 42 - 24 Crescent Street, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 26 Hotels in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn - Long Island City is located at the base of the famed Queensboro/59th st. bridge that connect Queens to Manhattan. We are just minutes away from Midtown Manhattan. We are located just 1 block away from NYC Subways - which is the best way to get around NYC. Located just 7 miles from LGA and 12 miles from JFK. A great way to stay in NYC without having to pay the high Manhattan prices. Free Wi-Fi, Free Breakfast, Complimentary use of Business Center and Fitness Center, Free Newspapers, Iron/Ironing boards, In-room Safe, In-room coffee makers all come standard with your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Choice Hotels so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Hotel Long Island City
Long Island City Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Long Island City, New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.