We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So pleased with this hotel ;}” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn to your Saves list
Comfort Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   42 - 24 Crescent Street, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #14 of 25 Hotels in Long Island City
Miami Beach
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“So pleased with this hotel ;}”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

I arrived super early without even thinking about it, very sleep deprived. The Front desk personal checked me in early without my even having to ask, so nice! He was very polite, he actually suggested information. The hotel felt good when I walked in. When I opened the door to my hotel room I was so happy. It's very cozy and immaculate! Small, but laid out roomy. It's fantastic for a budget hotel. Very quiet. I will def recommend this to everyone;} There are healthy affordable deli's just across the street and around the corner. Free delivery too! The Train is just around the corner, easy. More train lines are 3 blocks over.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortinnlic, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
We are thrilled to know that you were pleased with the hotel. We hope that you continue to stay with us when your travels bring you to NY. Thanks for your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    175
    63
    14
    14
See reviews for
70
127
27
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Not the best Comfort Inn. It was a solid "OK" but nothing more. Room cleanliness and furnishings not up to standard. Breakfast area is so small, plan on eating in your room. I've generally had better breakfast offerings in other CI's. Very small room for 2 double beds, difficult for more than 2 people to be comfortable if you have luggage and are interested in cramming more than 2 people in to one room.

The location is great for getting into Manhattan, and despite looking a bit trashy in places it seems safe, and is being revitalized extensively. Hotel is near a commercial area with a few fast food options and convenience stores, and is very close to a subway station. So very convenient and much cheaper than hotels on Manhattan.

I was expecting this hotel to be better than the nearby Quality Inn, but I was surprised in that I would rather stay in the QI again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortinnlic, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We are glad that you found our hotel to be convenient. Unfortunately, as is the case with most New York City hotels, rooms tend to be on the smaller side. Over the next few months, we will be updating and renovating different room elements. We hope that the changes will make your next stay with us more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We booked this hotel based on a reference from a friend and the reviews here and were not disappointed.
The obvious pro of this hotel is the distance from a Queensboro Plaza, its a 1 minute walk and it takes about 10 minutes to get to Manhattan. The room was very clean when we arrived and the maids did a good job bringing fresh towels every morning and keeping the room clean.
The breakfast is pretty standard and I've seen much worse, if you don't like what they offer, there is a Subway, small Supermarket, Hamburger Joint and two sandwich/mix of everything places within 2-3 minute walking distance. On that note the area where the breakfast is, is very small and there are only 3-4 tables, but we just brought the breakfast up to out room the one time we couldn't find a place to sit and that was it.
The area around the hotel is nothing special, but it is safe and I had a random act of kindness when a woman told me that I had a bill sticking out of my pocket. At least we felt safer there than in some streets in the big city.
The room size was fine compared to many hotels we have gone to in Europe with bigger price tags, don't know what the standard for rooms size in america but it was plenty enough for two persons and the bathroom was very clean and roomy.

The staff is very friendly and helpful, just talk to them and they will help you out, everything we asked for was done quickly and right.

The overall experience was excellent and I would recommend this hotel to anyone going to NYC on budget.

Room Tip: We had a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortinnlic, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you and your friend who recommended us. We are glad that you enjoyed the location, room, cleanliness and service of our staff. We hope that when your travels bring you from Iceland to NY again, that we can be of service to you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

I was very disappointed with this hotel and the service that we received. The maids that clean rooms wear masks over their faces. Never seen that before. You'd think that management would indicate that maybe this would scare off some guests. I asked two maids that were working together why they were wearing them and they indicated that it was because they had allergies. Both of them? Really? Interesting.

No extra towels (only one large towel per person), ceiling peeling in the bathroom.

The phone in our room didn't work and when I brought it to hotel staff's attention the response wasn't really adequate. They indicated that the phone may not be able to be fixed but they would try and that if we wanted we could move rooms (that's a big hassle) but needed to notify them before 12pm. We didn't want to move because it would be a big hassle. No one ever came to try and fix the phone.

The rooms were WAY too small. Beware. I stayed in a room for 2 which was only appropriate for 1. I would suggest staying at a competitor hotel in Long Island City.

The bonus for this hotel is its proximity to the metro station. It also was quieter that I expected given some of the other reviews about noise.

Room Tip: don't choose room 401 (seemed very small compared to the other rooms on the floor).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortinnlic, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
We are sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. We try our best to remedy any maintenance issues that are brought to our attention on a timely basis. If we are unable to fix it, we offer to change a room. Understandly this may cause an inconvenience for which we are terribly sorry.
As for the housekeepers wearing masks, they feel it necessary to do so since they are constantly exposed to cleaning solutions and solvents, and others may indeed have allergies. Wearing a mask is common practice amongst cleaning staff and we have not seen it deter any of our guests.
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

The breakfast was terrible, absolutely garbage. "Hot" breakfast meant stale cold bread and cold eggs (disgusting) and warmed but not cooked sausage patties. DON'T EAT THE COMPLIMENTARY BREAKFAST! Grab a cup of orange juice or apple juice and spend a few bucks somewhere that you won't puke from. But otherwise, good amenities, great space and comfort, and tiny but usable fitness center.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortinnlic, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the breakfast selection. The breakfast is served as per franchise standards and is purchased from approved vendors. Choice Hotels International has extensively researched their breakfast spread via guest feedback and Choice properties, such as ours, provide breakfast as per these standards. We will share your comments with Choice Hotels and our management team. Thank you for your invaluable feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

I am a Choice Hotels fan. I rarely fine fault with Comfort Inns, but I would have to say this was disappointing. Although only about a block away from the subway, the area around the hotel seemed less than desirable with few places to eat within walking distance--there were a few, but choices were limited. The room was minuscule and with a King Size Bed it made for tight quarters for two people. The dining area was very small and the breakfasts did not seem up to par with other Choice Hotels I have stayed at. There was a storm that knocked out the internet almost the entire stay and they could not get anyone in to fix it. So for the price I paid, I did not get internet service, not all the TV channels worked well, and breakfast was limited. If you are lucky you can park on the street for free, otherwise you have go a block or two to a private lot. The only reason this gets three stars instead of two is that the staff was friendly, and they did have a car to get you to the airport and it was there within 5 or 10 minutes of the time you needed it. That was a definite plus.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time post a review and sharing your opinion with us and other travelers.

In regards to the area, as other reviewers have mentioned as well, it may not be scenic, but is safe and above all conveniently located. The area is in the midst of a transformation with many hotel and high-priced condominiums under construction.

It is hard to compare a Comfort Inn located in the metropolitan New York area to those outside of New York City. Most hotel rooms in New York City would be considered small compared to hotels outside of NYC. The smaller space also carries over to the breakfast area. The hotel has however implemented the breakfast program as required by Choice Hotels International.

We do sincerely apologize that you experienced internet and TV issues during your stay. The internet issues have since been remedied by our ISP. As for the TV issue, that too was affected by passing storms. We are however in the process of upgrading our TV service to include a larger lineup that includes several more HD channels.

We hope that you see the value that our hotel provides in terms of location and price and give us an opportunity to be of service to you again when your plans bring you to New York.

Thank you once again for your post.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Konigsfeld, Germany
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

First of all, the location of the hotel is in close proximity to two subway stations which take you either to Manhattan or the airport (JFK). That´s definitely a pro. We found the front desk staff to be very helpful which was nice. But those are about all the good news.
The room was very small, one of the smallest hotel rooms I´ve ever stayed in. We had two queen beds and were only two guys and their luggage but the room felt absolutely packed. In between the beds and the walls was a fair amount of dust and other dirt, the beds had woolen blankets like they used to have years ago. The furniture was rather worn. Beds themselves and bathroom were clean though. Wifi is free but wasn´t working the first day of our stay. Room has no fridge. As was mentioned by other people, the walls are pretty thin, I could hear our next door neighbor speaking on the phone at 4 a.m.
The breakfast area was always packed with people as it is far too small. Wasn´t too clean either, bread crumbs everywhere and sticky floor.
Upon returning from Manhattan on the first day we found the maid had turned off our A/C which made the room both warm and dampish. We placed a note on it asking her to keep it running which she did the next day.
Bottom line, if you´re looking for a modestly priced (under N.Y.C. circumstances) place just to keep your stuff and crash, this might be the one. If you´re looking for something more than that, keep looking.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. You mentioned several concerns in regards to maintenance and cleanliness, two areas that we take very seriously. We will be sure to address your concerns with the breakfast and housekeeping staff.
In regards to room size, that is the standard for most New York City hotels. Fridges are available in our suites, or one can be provided in a standard room for a small fee.
We are glad that you found the hotel to be a good value in terms of price and location and hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 42 - 24 Crescent Street, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 25 Hotels in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn - Long Island City is located at the base of the famed Queensboro/59th st. bridge that connect Queens to Manhattan. We are just minutes away from Midtown Manhattan. We are located just 1 block away from NYC Subways - which is the best way to get around NYC. Located just 7 miles from LGA and 12 miles from JFK. A great way to stay in NYC without having to pay the high Manhattan prices. Free Wi-Fi, Free Breakfast, Complimentary use of Business Center and Fitness Center, Free Newspapers, Iron/Ironing boards, In-room Safe, In-room coffee makers all come standard with your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Hotel Long Island City
Long Island City Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Long Island City, New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.