We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Up to Usual Standards” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn to your Saves list
Comfort Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   42 - 24 Crescent Street, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #13 of 25 Hotels in Long Island City
Columbia, Missouri, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Not Up to Usual Standards”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

I am a Choice Hotels fan. I rarely fine fault with Comfort Inns, but I would have to say this was disappointing. Although only about a block away from the subway, the area around the hotel seemed less than desirable with few places to eat within walking distance--there were a few, but choices were limited. The room was minuscule and with a King Size Bed it made for tight quarters for two people. The dining area was very small and the breakfasts did not seem up to par with other Choice Hotels I have stayed at. There was a storm that knocked out the internet almost the entire stay and they could not get anyone in to fix it. So for the price I paid, I did not get internet service, not all the TV channels worked well, and breakfast was limited. If you are lucky you can park on the street for free, otherwise you have go a block or two to a private lot. The only reason this gets three stars instead of two is that the staff was friendly, and they did have a car to get you to the airport and it was there within 5 or 10 minutes of the time you needed it. That was a definite plus.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time post a review and sharing your opinion with us and other travelers.

In regards to the area, as other reviewers have mentioned as well, it may not be scenic, but is safe and above all conveniently located. The area is in the midst of a transformation with many hotel and high-priced condominiums under construction.

It is hard to compare a Comfort Inn located in the metropolitan New York area to those outside of New York City. Most hotel rooms in New York City would be considered small compared to hotels outside of NYC. The smaller space also carries over to the breakfast area. The hotel has however implemented the breakfast program as required by Choice Hotels International.

We do sincerely apologize that you experienced internet and TV issues during your stay. The internet issues have since been remedied by our ISP. As for the TV issue, that too was affected by passing storms. We are however in the process of upgrading our TV service to include a larger lineup that includes several more HD channels.

We hope that you see the value that our hotel provides in terms of location and price and give us an opportunity to be of service to you again when your plans bring you to New York.

Thank you once again for your post.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    174
    60
    13
    14
See reviews for
69
126
26
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Konigsfeld, Germany
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

First of all, the location of the hotel is in close proximity to two subway stations which take you either to Manhattan or the airport (JFK). That´s definitely a pro. We found the front desk staff to be very helpful which was nice. But those are about all the good news.
The room was very small, one of the smallest hotel rooms I´ve ever stayed in. We had two queen beds and were only two guys and their luggage but the room felt absolutely packed. In between the beds and the walls was a fair amount of dust and other dirt, the beds had woolen blankets like they used to have years ago. The furniture was rather worn. Beds themselves and bathroom were clean though. Wifi is free but wasn´t working the first day of our stay. Room has no fridge. As was mentioned by other people, the walls are pretty thin, I could hear our next door neighbor speaking on the phone at 4 a.m.
The breakfast area was always packed with people as it is far too small. Wasn´t too clean either, bread crumbs everywhere and sticky floor.
Upon returning from Manhattan on the first day we found the maid had turned off our A/C which made the room both warm and dampish. We placed a note on it asking her to keep it running which she did the next day.
Bottom line, if you´re looking for a modestly priced (under N.Y.C. circumstances) place just to keep your stuff and crash, this might be the one. If you´re looking for something more than that, keep looking.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. You mentioned several concerns in regards to maintenance and cleanliness, two areas that we take very seriously. We will be sure to address your concerns with the breakfast and housekeeping staff.
In regards to room size, that is the standard for most New York City hotels. Fridges are available in our suites, or one can be provided in a standard room for a small fee.
We are glad that you found the hotel to be a good value in terms of price and location and hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec,Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

When travelling to New York CIty, one may want to be in the heart of the action (Manhattan), but he must be willing to pay the price! I found this Queens hotel to be a good alternative to Manhattan hotels. Granted there is no parking on site, but it is a non-issue if you are travelling by plane or train. The closest subway station is only a block away and the train will bring you to Manhattan in about 15 minutes.

The rooms are clean and modern , but they are tiny. No space is wasted! This seems to be the norm in New York City. The bed was very comfortable.

This hotel is in an industrial area that seemed safe, although I would not go for a walk in the streets at night just for fun. There was a full junkyard on the other side of the street...

The continental breakfast was standard and was served in an area that could seat about twenty people.

I would stay there again without hesitation, especially considering the very low rates ($ 120 for the room in my case)

Room Tip: Avoid first floor because of street noise (as per other reviews).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Thank you for your review. You have managed to highlight some great features of our hotel that continue to be a great selling point for us. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Stayed here last-minute under my Choice Hotels employee rate in 2010, now I am with Hilton. Payed an extra $50 or so to have a room with two beds, but, I wasn't surprised, it was a busy week after all and I was already getting an excellent employee discount...so what the heck! Rooms were clean. Hallways were quiet. The subway station is a quick walk, it didn't take us very long after that to go everywhere that we wanted to. As long as you are with a group of friends walking to and from the subway station, there should be no problems with the nearby homeless folks.The guys in front office were really cool, really outgoing. He recommended some hot spots for dance music, which I live for. They were also kind enough to store my leftover Chinese food in their refrigerator since I don't think there there wasn't one in the room...either that, or the box did not fit. I had a fun time in NYC and a pretty good stay at this place!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience. We are glad that you had a good time in New York and that our hotel and its staff had a small hand in making your trip enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

Great hotel near the subway (although it is actually not underground at this point), only a 2 minute walk away. The hotel is convenient for mid-town, only 1 stop to Lexington and 59th (Bloomingdales). Another 3 or 4 stops to Times Square. At $2.25 per subway trip it is also cheap to use and we never felt unsafe even later at night. We went from Queensborough Plaza to Statten Island Ferry Port and it was only $2.25

We had a 2 bedded room on 5th floor. Found beds very comfy. The shower was difficult to work out but a quick to call to reception sorted that out (you have to pull down the bottom of the bath tap to get the shower to work) Could hear a little street noise from about 6 am but nothing too loud that would keep you awake. Breakfast was a great bonus (toast, cereal, pastries,, fruit etc) and when any time I went to the breakfast room there were only about 4 people in there but I did my food back to my room. Found the receptioni staff extremely polite and helpful, ordered us a car back to JFK airport and it only cost $40 as opposed to the $60 the taxi charged us on our arrival!!! Also being able to use the free business centre was a bonue to check in on line and print out boarding passes.

If I went to New York again I would stay at this hotel and would recommend it to friends

Room Tip: Pay that little bit extra for a room on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortinnlic, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward being of service to you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012 via mobile

I'll start with, don't ever get a room on the 1st floor of this hotel. There's SO much noise from the outside streets that penetrates the walls like nothing. That was my only dislike of this hotel. Definetly would stay here again, just not on the 1st floor. Staff was extraordinarily friendly and helpful. Free breakfast was pretty good, got up every morning to get some. I can also add from the other reviews that space to eat breakfast was limited in these cases, just grab what you want and go back to hotel room to eat. Location was very convenient, considering the closeness of the subways to this hotel. That helped immensely getting to the major attractions in the city, only taking about 15 minutes to Manhattan. The neighborhood seemed okay, it looked a bit beat up, but didn't feel unsafe what so ever. Walked back from the subway at 3AM to hotel, and got through without a problem. Overall pretty decent hotel, would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortinnlic, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to post a review. We are glad you enjoyed breakfast and found the location to be convenient. In regards to rooms on the first floor, we have made sure to specify these rooms as "Lower Floor" on our website as well as third-party sites. Lower floor rooms are sold at a slightly discounted rate compared to our other rooms. We hope that this helps travelers make the distinction if they choose.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 42 - 24 Crescent Street, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn - Long Island City is located at the base of the famed Queensboro/59th st. bridge that connect Queens to Manhattan. We are just minutes away from Midtown Manhattan. We are located just 1 block away from NYC Subways - which is the best way to get around NYC. Located just 7 miles from LGA and 12 miles from JFK. A great way to stay in NYC without having to pay the high Manhattan prices. Free Wi-Fi, Free Breakfast, Complimentary use of Business Center and Fitness Center, Free Newspapers, Iron/Ironing boards, In-room Safe, In-room coffee makers all come standard with your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Otel, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Hotel Long Island City
Long Island City Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Long Island City, New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.