We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad for the money and free breakfast.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn to your Saves list
Comfort Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   42 - 24 Crescent Street, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #14 of 25 Hotels in Long Island City
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not bad for the money and free breakfast.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012 via mobile

Hotel held over $400, then they denied that the charges were theirs even though it clearly stated it was comfort inn. it took over 24hours to release but it finally cleared. The bed was uncomfortable but the room was ok. The view was of a trash dump and a high rise being built. The view of the sky line from the roof was awesome though. It was also cheaper than staying in Manhattan and the subway was just a block away.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    175
    62
    14
    14
See reviews for
70
127
27
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

The hotel is nothing special, but the location is terrific for getting into Manhattan either on East or West sides. The staff is friendly and helpful. Also, on weekend it is easy to park on the street, saving on the expense of parking. The neighborhood is industrial and lacking amenities such as restaurants or grocery store. But, I would definitely return. Its hard to beat the price for a comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, MN
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

This hotel is a reasonably priced, close to Manhattan hotel that is a very short walk from the subway. The hotel was clean; the rooms were modern and comfortable. The bed was above average. Granite counters in the bathroom and a shower with good water pressure. Large flat screen TV. Breakfast is about what one would expect for the price, but the bakery items were a step above average.
The neighborhood has been changing into more residential area which will continue to improve it over time. A gas station with hot food is next door. The nearby Chinese and Mexican restaurants are less than ideal in appearance, but the food was very good at both. The Mexican restaurant’s staff was fun and helpful and the items on the menu went well beyond Mexican food. Both restaurants are about two blocks away toward the plaza. Dunkin Donuts is a few doors down. Just across the plaza a new Checkers hamburger restaurant about to open. There is a Chase Bank branch with a very helpful staff, and an ATM with a security guard.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

Comfort inn - lic crescent rd.

Location: great location ,right off the 7 and 1min walk from queens plaza subway.

Food: good selection little places to eat, a few pizza spots,chinese, subway, taso deli

Room: one king suite
Large room, clean bathroom , flatscreen

Cons:
Hotel seems a bit older. The room smelled like pee and hallways small. Right next to subway and backs to an alley, so you can hear your neighbors the people yelling in the streets too.

Price: The regular rates for this hotel are average. I would book here again if needed.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Opelousas, LA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

I've stayed here before when I traveled solo. I used priceline and when I arrived, everything was fine.

This trip, not so. I priceline (name your own price) all the time and have never had any problems with room requests unless the hotel is packed. Comfort Inn was not fully booked. When I requested 2 beds, the man at the front desk snidely said that since I paid such a low rate, I would have to 'up grade' to 2 beds to the tune of $40/night. He was quite nasty about it as well. Had he had a better attitude, I probably would have taken it better. He just seemed like an unpleasant fellow. I ended up sleeping between my 15 year old son and my fiance. That was pleasant but it's the chance of NYOP priceline. **The other front desk guy was quite friendly and pleasant.

We then had to go down to get towels and cups since there weren't nearly enough towels (even for 2 people). The hallway smelled like old, musty dog and the room wasn't much better.

I can't complain about the view or the subway. We weren't there for the view but we did appreciate the close proximity of the subway.

The breakfast was pretty good with plenty to chose from considering it's free and it's pretty much exactly what you expect from a continental breakfast.

The proximity to Queens Plaza subway station is great. You couldn't get much closer. The neighborhood has always been fine for me but is a bit desolate at night so even though I lived in NYC for many years, I still walk with a purpose when coming back late.

Overall, it was a fine enough hotel the first time but crap the second.

I might stay again if the bed preference wasn't an issue. Although, by the time we paid for the 3 of us to get to and from the city, we should have just paid the extra to stay in the city.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comfortinnlic, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are glad to know that you are a repeat customer, and would love have you stay with us again.
When it comes to booking rooms through Priceline, you have the option to select the room type you would like, or bid for a room. When you bid, Priceline will take the lowest priced room, which happens to be a single bed room. If you need to make the change to a higher priced room, then a fee will apply.
Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience you encountered at check-in. We hope that you find it to be an isolated incident.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

I was two 1/2 blocks from the metro, so I feel, even in the later evening hours, as long as I walk with a purpose, I can probably make it to the hotel unscathed. The hotel pictures show a treadmill. The front desk said "we have no treadmill" and low and behold, there was empty floor space where a treadmill once was. Breakfast wasn't bad. There was some lite yogurt and hard boiled egg for protein. Overall not bad for the price to sleep and have breakfast.

Room Tip: Queen beds are on the opposite side of the subway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

We stayed at Comfort Inn Long Island City, for ten nights while visiting New York for Macy's Thanksgiving day parade and lighting of the Rockerfeller Tree. We chose this hotel mainly for the price, much cheaper than staying in Manhattan so more to spend on other things.We had a twin room on the 7th floor. The hotel was very clean, comfortable beds, and a offered a decent enough complimentary breakfast, the staff were all very pleasant. We used the subway to get into the city. Queensboro Plaza station is on the doorstep and only took about 10 minutes to get to and from Times Square, we usually came back late, never before midnight and never felt unsafe.in the area. I would stay here again, it is a good hotel for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 42 - 24 Crescent Street, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 25 Hotels in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn - Long Island City is located at the base of the famed Queensboro/59th st. bridge that connect Queens to Manhattan. We are just minutes away from Midtown Manhattan. We are located just 1 block away from NYC Subways - which is the best way to get around NYC. Located just 7 miles from LGA and 12 miles from JFK. A great way to stay in NYC without having to pay the high Manhattan prices. Free Wi-Fi, Free Breakfast, Complimentary use of Business Center and Fitness Center, Free Newspapers, Iron/Ironing boards, In-room Safe, In-room coffee makers all come standard with your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Hotel Long Island City
Long Island City Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Long Island City, New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.