We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn to your Saves list
Comfort Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   42 - 24 Crescent Street, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #13 of 26 Hotels in Long Island City
Royal Wootton Bassett, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Comfort?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

I booked a family room for four, and accepted that two double beds was the best I could get at the price. However, "double" is a gross exaggeration! The beds were barely 1.5x - much less than the 4ft width I would say was the minimum requirement for a double. This left me far too tired to enjoy the city as much as I would have liked. GOOD BIT: The continental breakfast at the self-service bar was extensive, good quality and well accommodated. The staff were helpful and pleasant. The gym equipment, located alongside the 3 computer terminals for guest use, looked good quality, with a full wall mirror alongside (but not much room for floor aerobics!). I would stay here again (it's cheap, and very close to the Queensborough subway - only 7 stops from Grand Central Station, and a second subway station - Queens - that connects with the Airtrain); but next time I would ask for better beds!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    188
    70
    15
    14
See reviews for
75
136
32
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burnt Hills, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

I stayed here for 2 nights with my friend in July 2011. Yes, it is overlooking a junk yard, but…who cares? It was the best price of them all (and I looked for 4 hours straingt). I did not go to the City to enjoy the view, and, naturally, just went to the hotel to sleep. During the night it was super quiet, which i did not expect at all and it was a nice surprise. The location is the key since 2 stations for different trains are about 2 minutes away (literally), so you can get to Manhattan no matter what at any time of the night. Rooms were clean, staff friendly; I personally did not see water standing in showers or anything in that realm. For the combination of the price and the location will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

When we arrived we liked the hotel alot, the lobby was very neat, the room itself was clean and the bathroom was also very tidy .. So we were very happy with it :) The elevator is kinda slow but that just gives you a reason to take the stairs and work your butt ;) The location is excellent with the subway nearby and VERY easy to go to Times Square and Central Park.
The main reason for this review is what a good service we got from the staff of this hotel when we lost our flight and had to go back to the hotel but is was full, they went out of their league to get us another hotel overnight and they helped us get a new flight with no additional cost for us. One of the staff Prem Jogi called from his cellphone to Delta and let us use his phone(for hours and hours! Sorry Prem for your phone bill) to talk to the airlines and personal calls to help us and he showed so much kindness in our crisis! We also would like to thank Rohit and Jesus for the wonderful hospitality they gave us during our stay .. The owners and managers of this Hotel Chain should be very grateful to have wonderful people like these guys working for them!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

Hotel staff were always friendly and helpful. Room was clean and spacious enough for two. Stayed on the 8th (top) floor - could hear traffic noise a little bit but it didn't really bother us. The elevator was really slow though. Even though the hotel was only a 3 minute walk to the subway I never really felt comfortable/safe during that walk because of the area. It didn't seem to be the nicest area and there was a lot of construction. The free breakfast was good - same thing every day but that's not a bad thing because you knew what to expect.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenben46
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011

A basic hotel but very reasonably priced for a stay in New York. Just round the corner from the subway station which took 10 minutes to get to Times Square or 1 stop to Bloomingdales! The only down side was the size of the breakfast area as there were only 3 or 4 tables to sit at, mind you there was good deli on the corner which is worth a visit. The rooms were big enough and clean but could have done with a bit of modernising. Other than that enjoyed our 4 night stay and would go back.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

Spent 4 nights here on our trip to NY. This was 110/night on average and gave us quick access to manhattan.
First the location. It is less than half a block from the trains. Bus stop also close by but never took it. We flew through laguardia, and we could easily get to the hotel without taking a taxi. Takes about 35min. It is true what others have said, it is in an industrial area. I want to make clear that industrial does not equal ghetto. After about 6pm, the streets around it are quiet and no people are visible. It is well lit and safe to walk, but just not a lot of people.
There is a deli right near by that sells good sandwiches etc. Also a barbor shop, fenced in parking lot, goodwill, and a large recycling area behind the hotel that is a bit unsightly.

The rooms were quite small, but clean and provided everything we needed. No issues with dirt, hair or insects. The gym is a treadmill, elliptical and stairmaster, thats it.
Morning breakfasts were fine, eggos, pastries/danishes, cereal, juice, egg and oatmeal. Nobody was complaining about the food.
The desk clerks were friendly, they are Indians and very friendly. No attitude like some of the other hotels in NY. We had a couple issues related to an annoying guest down the hall and it was resolved asap. Very happy with the service.

The walls were thin, relative to other hotels I've been in, but since our neighbors weren't noisy we slept great.

There are several hotels in this area but I have only been to this one. Given my satisfaction I would return, unless the prices went up dramatically. Currently a good value.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle upon tyne
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
187 helpful votes 187 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2011

Spent 11 nights here, after initially looking at reviews of 20-30 cheap (vastly overpriced) hotels in Manhatten, and thought the hotel was excellent value (by NYC standards). Clean & quiet, & just 15 minutes travelling time to the midtown area. Subway station just 2 minutes walk away, & a few 24 hour deli's to buy food etc from

Reading some of the critical reviews, you just have to assume these people didn't bother doing any research at all about the hotel.

Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 42 - 24 Crescent Street, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn - Long Island City is located at the base of the famed Queensboro/59th st. bridge that connect Queens to Manhattan. We are just minutes away from Midtown Manhattan. We are located just 1 block away from NYC Subways - which is the best way to get around NYC. Located just 7 miles from LGA and 12 miles from JFK. A great way to stay in NYC without having to pay the high Manhattan prices. Free Wi-Fi, Free Breakfast, Complimentary use of Business Center and Fitness Center, Free Newspapers, Iron/Ironing boards, In-room Safe, In-room coffee makers all come standard with your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Choice Hotels and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Hotel Long Island City
Long Island City Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Long Island City, New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.