We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aloha Alobar *:)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alobar

Alobar
46-42 Vernon Blvd, Long Island City, NY 11101
718-752-6000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Alobar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $10 - $26
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 47 Ave. & 46 Rd.
Transit: One Stop from Grand Central Station on the 7 train, Vernon/Jackson Stop, 21st. Stop on the G train., 23rd St/Ely Ave. on the E train, B62 Train from Brooklyn, Q103 Train to Astoria
Sunnyside, New York
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Aloha Alobar *:)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

The food quality is very good. Fine wine selection. The neighborhood has changed a lot, better than some places in Manhattan. My friends and I came here to celebrate our belated birthdays. We had mushroom toast for appetizer. Tasty! I had chicken for my entree. The chef prepared chicken really well, just the way I like it. It's a little salty though. But I guess that's because I'm not a salt eater and didn't mention it. Still delicious! The service was great, warm waiter and gave good recommendations. Try the place and explore the area. Only 1 stop from Grand Central. It's worth coming here.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    13
    13
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Some unique menu items”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

This place has a small menu but the unique items make up for it. I recommend the maple bacon popcorn and/or beef tartare (if you're adventurous).

A word of warning; Get there early or menu items will run out. I experience this the last time I was there and it took our waiter almost 20 minutes to realize that they were out of the item so I ended up getting a few quick appetizers so my guest didn't have to wait. Jeff (owner) comped us desert which was nice of him. Regardless of that experience I look forward to going back and eating there soon...earlier in the evening.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“LIC Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

With places like Williamsburg stealing the spotlight for artisanal food, especially American fare, Alobar proves that creativity and quality food exists in other boroughs.
I was visiting the area around Gantry Park and wanted a quick bite to eat, so I headed to Vernon Blvd, which was teeming with activity.
Alobar is an open space, cleverly designed. A combination of industrial age design and reclaimed elements - the ceiling is composed of unfinished 1" strips of wood, laid at different lengths and in variegated colours. The bar stools and chairs are reminiscent of an iron age: forged fittings and dark satined wood. Clever stained glass details on the windows leading to the garden.
Now, for the food. The menu is quite eclectic.
I ordered the burger, it was delicious. The caramelised onions were delicious; the cheese was perfectly melted and the fries were nicely crisp - perfect.
Had the white peach soda, which was amazing. it had the peach nectar flavour.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“cool spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

stopped here for lunch.
Pulled pork sandwich delicious.
Waiter was really nice guy.
Wanted to come back for a drink in the evenings, but always too late as this place surprisingly seems to close pretty early.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, New York
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Beer and Popcorn”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Alobar is a nice place to visit especially if one is looking for something a bit different when it comes to beer and food menu. Prior to its official opening, the place, at least from just passing by it, seemed interesting and did offer some off the beaten path menu items like Maple Bacon Popcorn and Amish Pig Tail. It also boasts a few uncommon beer selection, both bottled and on draft.

Once inside, it gives off somewhat of a rustic feel, at least, for me it does, as they immerse everything from the tables and chairs and even the floor, and bar, of course, with natural wood. This is not bad and it does add quite a bit of a unique character to the establishment.

Ordering small menu items were perfect accompaniment to drinking beer but it seemed that Alobar’s small items were really just that---small. These are not big enough to be shared by two people. Nevertheless, one will not be disappointed with the Maple Bacon Popcorn. The Amish Pig Tail, well, I guess one has to have the palate for the dish. It is not bad, but coming from a country where most, if not all, forms of pork are either barbecued or deep fried, it was just not done as I would have preferred it.

Our initial visit, by just my wife and I, were followed by a group trip, after work drinks, with co-workers. Unfortunately, no one ordered any food items and just stuck to drinking. The price can get quite expensive. Please do not expect any happy hour menu nor any beer, bottled or in draft, under $7. But this, of course, goes along Alobar's intent on bringing something different to the neighborhood. And I would certainly return to Alobar and maybe take in a table to appropriately enjoy their dinner and entre menu items.

Overall, I would say, and I do realize, that considering the influx of dining places in this particular part of LIC over the past few years, Alobar and its proprietors, may have wanted to bring something different yet totally acceptable and quite delectable to the area. And they have. I just am not sure if it can carry on, especially in these changing times, to offer and deliver its unique perspective in bar food and experience.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alobar also viewed

Long Island City, NY
Long Island City, NY
 
Long Island City, NY
Long Island City, NY
 

Been to Alobar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alobar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.