We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local Pub with Amazing Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bantry Bay Publick House

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Bantry Bay Publick House
33-01 Greenpoint Ave, Long Island City, NY 11101
718.784.9500
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Irish
Restaurant details
North Canton, Ohio
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Local Pub with Amazing Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

We visited this pub while visiting the NY area. It's just a neighborhood pub, but surprised us with a lively packed bar and amazing food! The service was excellent and we immediately felt welcome! We will definitely return when back in the area!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

94% Recommend
    9
    7
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Drums, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“In the middle of nowhere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at a nearby hotel. No bar there but they recommend this place for a quick drink and food. The bartender(she was great) made me feel like a regular! Typical pub food. Bar, service and Atmosphere outstanding! Creepy area tho. Across from a large cemintary

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great Food!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I attended a private party in their back room. The staff was attentive and the food was delicious!! Definitely a diamond in the rough of an area.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Extremely Good Food at a Great Price in a Surprise Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This place is worth a side trip if you're in Queens or Brooklyn or Manhattan. It's an unassuming bar/pub, with surprisingly good food. I had the Jager Chicken Schnitzel in brandy-creme-mushroom sauce, which was a large plate of food that I managed to scarf down in 5 minutes flat. The meal started with a terrific green salad with a whole mustard, German-style, dressing. Loved the experience. Sandwiches come on pretzel bread. So, you can eat simply - or on the gourmet side, and you can eat well for under $20 (and a lot less). The service is wonderful - helpful, fast, funny, and knowledgable. I'll be back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“What we needed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Was just looking for a place to eat and drink and see a hockey game on cable near our Fairfield hotel.
This is about the only such place, and it was fine.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bantry Bay Publick House also viewed

Long Island City, NY
Long Island City, NY
 
Long Island City, NY
Long Island City, NY
 

Been to Bantry Bay Publick House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bantry Bay Publick House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.