We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the middle of nowhere.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bantry Bay Publick House

Bantry Bay Publick House
33-01 Greenpoint Ave, Long Island City, NY 11101
718.784.9500
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Irish, Pub
Dining options: Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner
Drums, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
61 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“In the middle of nowhere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at a nearby hotel. No bar there but they recommend this place for a quick drink and food. The bartender(she was great) made me feel like a regular! Typical pub food. Bar, service and Atmosphere outstanding! Creepy area tho. Across from a large cemintary

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    11
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Food!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I attended a private party in their back room. The staff was attentive and the food was delicious!! Definitely a diamond in the rough of an area.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Extremely Good Food at a Great Price in a Surprise Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This place is worth a side trip if you're in Queens or Brooklyn or Manhattan. It's an unassuming bar/pub, with surprisingly good food. I had the Jager Chicken Schnitzel in brandy-creme-mushroom sauce, which was a large plate of food that I managed to scarf down in 5 minutes flat. The meal started with a terrific green salad with a whole mustard, German-style, dressing. Loved the experience. Sandwiches come on pretzel bread. So, you can eat simply - or on the gourmet side, and you can eat well for under $20 (and a lot less). The service is wonderful - helpful, fast, funny, and knowledgable. I'll be back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“What we needed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Was just looking for a place to eat and drink and see a hockey game on cable near our Fairfield hotel.
This is about the only such place, and it was fine.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangeville
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

At the receptionist's recommendation, we walked over from our hotel for lunch. I wasn't impressed by the outside of the restaurant, or, at first, the decor inside, but the food was excellent! Freshly made, from scratch, by someone who knows how to cook. Had we stayed longer, we would have gone back for a dinner.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bantry Bay Publick House also viewed

Long Island City, Queens
Long Island City, Queens
 
Long Island City, Queens
Long Island City, Queens
 

Been to Bantry Bay Publick House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bantry Bay Publick House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.