We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the middle of nowhere.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bantry Bay Publick House

Bantry Bay Publick House
33-01 Greenpoint Ave, Long Island City, NY 11101
718.784.9500
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Cuisines: Irish
Restaurant details
Drums, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“In the middle of nowhere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at a nearby hotel. No bar there but they recommend this place for a quick drink and food. The bartender(she was great) made me feel like a regular! Typical pub food. Bar, service and Atmosphere outstanding! Creepy area tho. Across from a large cemintary

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    8
    7
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Food!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I attended a private party in their back room. The staff was attentive and the food was delicious!! Definitely a diamond in the rough of an area.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Extremely Good Food at a Great Price in a Surprise Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This place is worth a side trip if you're in Queens or Brooklyn or Manhattan. It's an unassuming bar/pub, with surprisingly good food. I had the Jager Chicken Schnitzel in brandy-creme-mushroom sauce, which was a large plate of food that I managed to scarf down in 5 minutes flat. The meal started with a terrific green salad with a whole mustard, German-style, dressing. Loved the experience. Sandwiches come on pretzel bread. So, you can eat simply - or on the gourmet side, and you can eat well for under $20 (and a lot less). The service is wonderful - helpful, fast, funny, and knowledgable. I'll be back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“What we needed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Was just looking for a place to eat and drink and see a hockey game on cable near our Fairfield hotel.
This is about the only such place, and it was fine.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangeville
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

At the receptionist's recommendation, we walked over from our hotel for lunch. I wasn't impressed by the outside of the restaurant, or, at first, the decor inside, but the food was excellent! Freshly made, from scratch, by someone who knows how to cook. Had we stayed longer, we would have gone back for a dinner.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bantry Bay Publick House also viewed

Long Island City, NY
Long Island City, NY
 
Long Island City, NY
Long Island City, NY
 

Been to Bantry Bay Publick House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bantry Bay Publick House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.