We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View Hotel to your Saves list
Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   44-29 9th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Long Island City
Sydney
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“nice stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

great bargain hotel. we couldnt have found a better hotel so close to manhattan if we tried.
2 train stops into manhattan, a great little street with shops and restaurants nearby, the hotel was lovely and modern and clean, staff very helpful and courteous.
the room was on the small side, but clean and functional.
beds were comfortable. would stay again and recommend to friends !! thanks

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey R, Manager at Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you so much for you kind review of the Wyndham Garden Long Island City Hotel. We appreciate your informative and great description of our location and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    266
    102
    42
    23
See reviews for
213
179
34
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

I did stay here last year And it was only when writing a new review I realised I hadn't reviewed the hotel! I genuinely loved this hotel!! We had read mixed reviews and were unsure but given the price different between here and the city we took a chance, needless to say we made the right choice! The staff were excellent, equipping us with maps, pointers and general info. There was a shuttle service to and from the subway but after our first night we felt safe enough to walk, partially because my boyfriend was there..took around 10 mins!The rooms were a nice size and bed was super comfy. We requested a room on the top floor to reduce traffic noise and it really helped! We were in the city really quicklyand I must say we did feel fairly pleased with ourselves that we didn't fork out Manhattan prices!! My go to hotel when I return!!

Room Tip: Try for top floor room away from elevators!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey R, Manager at Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review of our hotel. We appreciate your proper assement of our neighborhood and how easy it is to get around. We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

We returned from a short stay at the Wyndham Garden Long Island Ciy a few days back and have only positive things to say about the hotel.

We were staying with a wedding party and so didn't actually choose the hotel ourselves, but I am glad that we ended up staying here as it was perfect.

Don't let the fact it is in Queens and not Manhattan put you off. Having previously stayed in a Manhattan hotel which was at least double the cost, I can honestly say the rooms at the Wyndham were twice the size and 110% better quality. It was great to get away from all the noise of Manhattan but was still close enough to make it easy to pop back to the hotel to recharge or grab something you'd forgotten.

The room was really well equipped, and the check-in staff were extremely helpful with anything you asked and our request for a room with two beds rather than the one king size bed we booked was honoured without problem. The free wifi is available in the hotel rooms, as well as an iPhone dock (which doesn't take the new iPhone 5/5s/5c lightning connection, but is still handy.)

Cannot believe some of the reviews saying the area isn't safe.. I felt perfectly safe and it is right next to a highstreet with plenty of great businesses on.

Above all it is extremely modern and clean.

A few tips:

Get a cab from the side of the hotel rather than asking the front desk as they only use their own car service and whilst it's a great service, it is on the costly side compared to a yellow cab unless you fill the car (for example we had 7 people and it was $60 to Central Park. It was $17 the next day for a similar cab ride but we'd have needed three cabs.)

If you make use of the shuttle service to the subway in the morning, ask them to drop you at Court Square Diner. Great breakfasts, big portions and really reasonably priced as well as conveniently located right out the subway station where the number 7 train goes straight to Times Square.

Buy a Metrocard ($31) from the subway station and you get unlimited travel for a week. Which is great and works out the same cost as just a few subway rides.

If you do get a cab, keep the address of the hotel in your phone or on a slip of paper as not many cabbies seem to know where it is. They need a 'corner' address- so I used to say 44-29 9 St.

If you're coming in from the night in the city and are peckish, get off at Vernon Blvd rather than Court Square, there is a few shops, restaurants and burger places along the way including a Dunkin' Donuts.

Coming from Newark, you need to take the airrail train to Newark International, then take the New York line to New York Penn Station. Then take the E line downtown (towards the Jamaica Centre) and get off at Court Sq 23 st. If you call the hotel they will send the shuttle down to collect you from there, or it's a short walk.

Room Tip: Rooms with odd numbers have a better view of manhattan
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey R, Manager at Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are delighted you had such a nice visit and that the wedding guests stayed with us. Your very accurate and glowing review of the area is wonderful and we thank you for that as well. We hope you choose to stay at the Wyndham Garden Long Island City on your next visit to NYC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amagansett, Ny
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

We stayed at the Wyndham LIC for 6 nights. The weather was awful, cold and snow, but the hotel staff were welcoming and efficient. We will return.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey R, Manager at Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review of the Wyndham Garden Long Island City Hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and sorry that the weather was so cold. Winters in NYC can be hit or miss. This is one of our not so nice Winters.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Stayed here for a few nights in January, hotel staff are really friendly and will go out of there way to help you. Easy to get to the subway station and just a few stops to time square. Safe neighbourhood (ignore previous reviews that say it's not!) some nice bars near by. The only minus was that we were asked for a $250 deposit on arrival and hadn't been previously told about this, so it came as a bit of a shock!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey R, Manager at Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of the Wyndham Garden Long Island City Hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed our very safe and fun neighborhood.

We apologize that you were not aware of the security deposit, but we do have it stated on the website and you may have missed that. Unfortunately we cannot change the font size of that statement when making the bookings, but hopefully discussing it here will keep our future guests from be suprised should they miss it as well. Security deposits are a standard for hotes in the US and especially in NYC for potentail Incidental Room Charges.

Thank you again so much and hope you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockwall, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

I had a great stay at this hotel, granted its not located in the city and walkable to things to do...But for the price it is a clean, quiet and safe hotel. The staff was very friendly and the corner store across from it does a great made to order bkfst sandwich.

The restaurant in the hotel is not open in the AM. But the food is good and the staff there also friendly. You cannot charge to your room, so take a credit card or cash.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey R, Manager at Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Thank you so much for your review of the Wyndham Garden Long Island City Hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View Hotel

Address: 44-29 9th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes from New York City’s midtown, the Wyndham Garden LIC Manhattan View hotel offers guests the perfect proximity to the Big Apple without the hassle or expense of a Manhattan address.This newly built hotel is located in an eclectic neighborhood of Long Island City with views of the city skyline, the East River and the Queensboro Bridge, allowing guests to take a step back and take in the city’s true beauty.Business travelers will appreciate the convenience of the 24-hour Business Center along with free Wi-Fi and copy and fax services. Those who find themselves exploring the Long Island City area can take advantage of the hotel’s complimentary local shuttle, available to take you to the nearby subway. The Wyndham Garden LIC hotel also has an on-site restaurant and a 24-hour fitness center, providing guests the conveniences needed for a comfortable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Wyndham, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.