We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Less expensive option for visiting NYC” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View Hotel to your Saves list
Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   44-29 9th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #11 of 25 Hotels in Long Island City
Berks County, PA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Less expensive option for visiting NYC”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We recently spent 2 nights at the Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View Hotel. The hotel is clean, the staff was friendly and helpful, and we got a good rate on the room in comparison to options in Manhattan. Our room was on the first floor--right next to the icemaker. We heard a bit of noise from that. We had a view of a parking lot and an adjacent brick building. I imagine some of the rooms on the upper floors on certain sides of the building might have a decent view of the city.

There are several subway stops within walking distance, but it's a bit of longer walk. The hotel does offer a free shuttle service to and from the subway stations at intervals throughout the day. We utilized this option when we were leaving the hotel.

There are numerous restaurants on Vernon Boulevard within a 5 - 10 minute walking distance from the hotel. There was also an Italian restaurant on the lower level of the hotel. We would have gone there for breakfast but were told that they are in a transition process and not currently open for breakfast. There's a small coffee shop next door which offers a few inexpensive breakfast options. I wasn't clear on the room service options. The literature stated there was room service (from an area restaurant?) but there was no menu provided.

The subway ride to Manhattan was probably less than 10 minutes--not bad at all.

The accommodations were nice enough--but our particular room was not in a good location. Downside was the walking distance to subway stations, industrial feel of the immediate area around the hotel, lack of hotel bar and room service. Pros were the friendly staff, the price, and the short subway ride (once you got to the station). I'm rating it 3 stars.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on upper floor with city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey R, Manager at Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We sincerely appreciate your feedback as on a daily basis our goal is to make our guests have the best visit to NYC they can.

No need to stay in Manhattan, save money and stay in LIC at the Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View Hotel. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    287
    114
    44
    26
See reviews for
232
191
36
107
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed here one night after a wedding near by in the metropolitan bldg.. The rooms are decorated contemporary. King size comfortable bed. Flat screen TV, dresser and large mirror. Good ventilation system. The bathroom has a floor to ceiling glass door, nice water pressure. Above counter white ceramic bowl sink with standard toiletries, thick towels and low water conserving toilet. A hair dryer was in the bathroom. Our view, Room 320, faced the brick building next door. If you want a view, I would suggest asking what floor you would need to be on. I do think some rooms must have views of the city since we could see a bridge and view from the 3rd floor of the metropolitan bldg.. There is a restaurant and bar in the lower level which was quite good.

Room Tip: Ask what kind of view you have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey R, Manager at Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We sincerely appreciate your feedback as on a daily basis our goal is to make our guests have the best visit to NYC they can.

Thank you for sharing about how convenient and well kept our hotel is. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I come to NYC a couple of times a month, usually staying in the city. This week was the UN General Assembly, so city hotels were sold out or had prices higher than their roof decks. So I went back to Long Island City where I lived parttime for almost two years. The Wyndham is fairly new, about 18 months old, depending on who you ask. The hotel is small, but very modern, with generously sized rooms for NYC.
While nicely outfitted, the room could have used a thorough cleaning. I pulled the mattress up a bit and found a lot of hair and "crumbs (?)" on the box spring. It was obvious that they don't spend enough time doing a deep cleaning.
The employees were friendly and made the stay somewhat enjoyable, but please, with today's concerns about hotel horror stories, don't give me something else to think about when I go to bed.

PS. There is a restaurant on the lower level in the building but it is not affiliated with the Wyndham. The bartender was great, the food was very good, but the manager bad-mouthed the front desk clerks and left the door to the street open because he was hot. It was 62 degrees outside and the door is only three or four feet from the bar. I was cold, as were the guy next to me, the bartender and a waitress. I asked the bartender to close the door, but the manager refused. I then approached him myself, and he did close the door, but then went over to the thermostat and openly said, "Are you kidding, it's 82 in here?" If I wasn't hungry, that would have been it for me. Plenty of other options well within walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey R, Manager at Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We sincerely appreciate your feedback as on a daily basis our goal is to make our guests have the best visit to NYC they can.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

I booked through booking.com and got a great deal. 210$ per night. If you book at the counter, the same room was 379$ per night. The rooms are large compared to other hotels in New York. They are very clean. Excellent value for money

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey R, Manager at Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We sincerely appreciate your feedback as on a daily basis our goal is to make our guests have the best visit to NYC they can.

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to NYC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View Hotel

Address: 44-29 9th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
#8 Business Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes from New York City’s midtown, the Wyndham Garden LIC Manhattan View hotel offers guests the perfect proximity to the Big Apple without the hassle or expense of a Manhattan address.This newly built hotel is located in an eclectic neighborhood of Long Island City with views of the city skyline, the East River and the Queensboro Bridge, allowing guests to take a step back and take in the city’s true beauty.Business travelers will appreciate the convenience of the 24-hour Business Center along with free Wi-Fi and copy and fax services. Those who find themselves exploring the Long Island City area can take advantage of the hotel’s complimentary local shuttle, available to take you to the nearby subway. The Wyndham Garden LIC hotel also has an on-site restaurant and a 24-hour fitness center, providing guests the conveniences needed for a comfortable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.