We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, location is a bit remote” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View Hotel

Save Saved
You added Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   44-29 9th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #11 of 23 hotels in Long Island City
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, location is a bit remote”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I booked this hotel because we drove to NYC and wanted to be able to park at our hotel. The hotel was a good deal compared to Manhattan hotels or even New Jersey hotels ($160/night though I had to pay up front and the reservation was non-cancellable and non-refundable). Our room was a good size, clean, comfortable and well designed (big closet, fridge, iron, hair-dryer, good sized dresser, etc.). Our room at the end of the hall was quiet and traffic noise was minimal. I would classify this as a "no-frills" type of hotel, but staff is friendly, the whole place is fresh and new and they offer little conveniences we appreciated like a microwave and computer with printer in the lower lobby.

The only negative about this hotel is the location. The subway is a good 10-12 minute walk away (10 for the E or M train and 12 for the 7 train) and there isn't much in the way of shopping or restaurants close by. The neighbourhood seems safe, but is pretty deserted after midnight. The area right around the hotel is still industrial/commercial and there's no place to buy food or incidentals, especially late at night. If you're willing to walk 10 - 15 minutes, there's a Duane Reade (drugstore) on 47th and 5th with a good-sized grocery section, and the Court Square Diner at 23rd and Jackson is good, reasonably priced and open 24 hours (they also do take-out). We also had dinner one night at John Brown BBQ which is only 2 blocks away. It was very good, but when we got there at about 8:00 they were already out of quite a few items.

Once you're on the subway, it's only 10 minutes to Manhattan. We got unlimited Metro cards and generally when into to city in the morning, came back to the hotel in the late afternoon, and then when back to the city at night. We didn't mind the walk in the morning, but coming back late at night it was sometimes a bit much (and you can't count on getting a cab as there aren't many around). I was never worried about my safety, but I wouldn't want my mother or daughter doing that walk alone after dark. The area to the west of Vernon Blvd. starting at 46th street is lovely, with a water-front park, running trails, lounge chairs and a great view of Manhattan. I was there at 7:00 one morning and there were already lots of runners and dog walkers out.

I would say that this hotel is best for couples or families with older kids. If you're energetic and don't mind walking, you'll likely be very satisfied, but if you'll be toting toddlers or want to go back and forth to the hotel several times a day, it might be a bit remote.

Room Tip: If you want a view of Manhattan, be sure to ask. Request that you don't get a room directly acr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey R, Manager at Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We sincerely appreciate your feedback as on a daily basis our goal is to make our guests have the best visit to NYC they can.

For our future guests please note we are far from remote and the subway is only 3 blocks away. We also feature very close by with-in a 5 minute walk an amazing downtown LIC area with a multitude of restaurants, bars and food shopping establishments. Just a quick 10 minute walk there is a beautiful waterfront park. When visting NYC always be prepared to walk, that is what NYC is all about, walking and discovering and LIC has a ton to offer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    215
    257
    99
    40
    23
See reviews for
209
173
34
98
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

This is actually my second time staying here. Once again their services met as well as exceeded my expectations. From their customer service to the room cleanliness it was a comfortable stay. Dante at the front desk remembered me from my previous stay. He was truly polite and helpful just like last time.

The location is ideal if you don't mind taking the subway. Manhattan is only one stop away. A person may feel uncomfortable traveling alone if returning late. I didn't have any issues traveling alone or with another individual. It's quiet at night, but the streets maybe kind of dark for someone's taste.

Before you leave make sure you check out the Manhattan view at the Gantry Plaza State Park
http://nysparks.com/parks/149/

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey R, Manager at Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We sincerely appreciate your feedback as on a daily basis our goal is to make our guests have the best visit to NYC they can.

We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights, 2 adults 3 kids. They had a playpen for us which was great. The room was clean and a good size. The location was great. Close to restaurants, grocery store and subway 10 minute walk with kids. It was great to get out of manhattan. The shuttle we used to get to stations but after been forgotten when we requested pick up we would walk home from subway.
When we checked out we left our ergo carrier (baby sling) at the hotel. The following day when we realized we emailed them telling them where it was left in the room. They email back saying it was not found by house keeping. We are 100% sure we left it in the room so we have to assume someone took it. Very disappointing and unfortunately for us putting a dampner on our hiking plans for the rest of our trip. Please take good care of your valuables this time it was an expensive baby carrier next time it might be something more valuable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

My husband and I were visiting New York for the first time when we stayed at this hotel. The staff was very helpful and nice. Our room was a little small, however it had a great view of Manhattan as promised, a very comfortable bed and a really nice bathroom. One of my favorite things about this hotel was the fact that there were wall outlets close to the bed and above the table in the room which made it easy for us to charge our phones. We even tried the restaurant in the hotel where we were able to eat Italian dinner by candlelight. Overall I loved this hotel. After a long day of walking around New York City I would look forward to our arrival back at this hotel. The staff were so friendly and the room was so comfortable it was like a home away from home.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey R, Manager at Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We sincerely appreciate your feedback as on a daily basis our goal is to make our guests have the best visit to NYC they can.

We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

First and foremost, its out of manhattan.. meaning u have to walk a lot inside subways and get to manhattan.

hotel is not closer to metro access as well; takes a good 10 minutes to walk.. manhattan view is a catchy place but I believe convenient is more important.

Especially people with children and older people shouldnt choose this location when you are sight seeing new york city;

Even though metro is well connected in nyc, they still make you walk a lot in getting you from one place to other.

I would say use sight seeing bus to avoid transportation hassle and choose places like times square or empire state building area

Room Tip: When booking a hotel, you can ask for manhattan view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey R, Manager at Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We sincerely appreciate your feedback as on a daily basis our goal is to make our guests have the best visit to NYC they can.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View Hotel

Address: 44-29 9th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes from New York City’s midtown, the Wyndham Garden LIC Manhattan View hotel offers guests the perfect proximity to the Big Apple without the hassle or expense of a Manhattan address.This newly built hotel is located in an eclectic neighborhood of Long Island City with views of the city skyline, the East River and the Queensboro Bridge, allowing guests to take a step back and take in the city’s true beauty.Business travelers will appreciate the convenience of the 24-hour Business Center along with free Wi-Fi and copy and fax services. Those who find themselves exploring the Long Island City area can take advantage of the hotel’s complimentary local shuttle, available to take you to the nearby subway. The Wyndham Garden LIC hotel also has an on-site restaurant and a 24-hour fitness center, providing guests the conveniences needed for a comfortable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Wyndham, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.