We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View Hotel to your Saves list
Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   44-29 9th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in Long Island City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cordoba, Argentina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great Value!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed for a week in a holiday journey walking Manhattan during all day. New Hotel in an excellent location for the price compared with Manhattan hotels (we payed around U$ 170/night). Nice rooms with Queensboro Bridge view, good restroom. The next Subway station is 2,5 blocks away. I recommend to take E train: The next Station is 53th and Lexington (next: 53th and 5th Av, etc.). They have a very good Shuttle service (almost every half of an hour during the day) to all near Subway Stations that we used a lot. A MUST DO: walking by the Promenade in Gantry Plaza State Park which is 6/7 blocks away from the hotel and you can see the superb Midtown Skyline....

Room Tip: We stayed in a King Room on 3rd floor facing 44 Rd with Queensboro Bridge. Very Nice ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    305
    118
    45
    27
See reviews for
241
204
41
112
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Staff was clueless. We check in at 3:30, and they tell us the room is not ready. We wait in the lobby and sit as other people come in check in, and go right to their rooms. Manager says they had a bunch of late checkouts and there was nothing we could do. I'm sorry how is that my fault!!!! We had all our bags, and things to do in NYC. All the while, the staff didn't know what to do because they lost someone's baggage. I ask what's going on here, and they tell me they are still cleaning the rooms, 30 additional minutes later. Never again staying here.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

First time NYC visit for our family, stayed on 4th floor in room with 2 double beds for 8 nights. Sufficient room for 3 adults but tight, thought as you will be out mostly its not a problem. Quite clean, feels and smells new. We found the area to be quiet safe, its in an industrial area though a 5 minute walk has you in the vibrant Hunters Point neighbourhood with many restaurants and bars. Hotel bar and restaurant is now open. We used the subway extensively and you can call up to 10.30pm for hotel shuttle pickup thought its not much more than a brisk 5 minutes walk from the E subway. We found the front desk staff very helpful if you have an issue, especially Dante who is a customer service star. As for value we paid about 50% less than a similarly appointed Manhattan hotel so would recommend if you want to experience a bit of the real NYC. So glad we trusted the positive reviews on the hotel. Definately will be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Great price compare to other hotels around the area. Free shuttle to/from subway stations.

Found a water bug as big as my head and scared the hell out of my wife. Showed the picture to front desk. Didn't even get moved to another room. I guess you get what you pay for so no complaints.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

My gf and I booked this hotel for 4 nights for our first time in NY because it was much cheaper to stay in Long Island City than Manhattan. Since most of our sight-seeing and excursions were in Manhattan, transportation was very important. Here are some information for those who are planning to stay here and explore Manhattan.


THE HOTEL

Our room was on the 7th floor with a nice view of the bridge and parts of Manhattan.
The room was very clean and from what I read, big for NY standards.
The bathroom was smaller than we liked and we had little room to put our things on the counter.
The LCD TV works and our bed was very comfortable and big.
The front desk was very helpful in answering all our questions and showing us around.
There is free WiFi and a computer with a printer downstairs which we used to print boarding passes.
There is no breakfast which we didn't mind because we wanted to eat more of the different types of food that NY had to offer.



TRANSPORTATION

The taxi fare from La Guardia airport was around $20.
I told our taxi driver the hotel was near 44th Ave and 9th St and he found it.
To get to Manhattan, we used the hotel shuttle to take us to the subway E every morning.
The subway gets very hot and getting to and from Manhattan takes no longer than 30 minutes.
Walking back from the subway to our hotel at night took about 10 minutes and was safe.


Overall, the hotel is nice and quiet. The front desk is very helpful and you can ask them anything. For those who don't mind walking and using the subway, it's a lovely hotel for those who want to explore Manhattan.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dronten
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

With a group of 23 people from The Netherlands, we stayed at the hotel for 5 days. The rooms were OK, but the service was very bad. Especially breakfast was a chaos; no flexibility and because of other groups, we were 'sceduled' to eat before 7:30 (!!). Many reasons not to return again !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey R, Manager at Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
We would like our future guests and groups to know that all groups require a specific breakfast time and that poor treatment of our entire staff was experienced. Our staff had been screamed at and had things thrown at them because of inappropriate behavior of this group and we encourage you to contact us for proper testimonials from Experience Group leaders who understand how group breakfast works.

We are confident that you will see in our previous review that we are very keen on giving our guests and groups the best treatment and most amazing possible service we can. We are very much care for correcting problems and errors that may occur and encourage you to account for all our amazing reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View Hotel

Address: 44-29 9th Street, Long Island City, NY 11101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Long Island City
#7 Business Hotel in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes from New York City’s midtown, the Wyndham Garden LIC Manhattan View hotel offers guests the perfect proximity to the Big Apple without the hassle or expense of a Manhattan address.This newly built hotel is located in an eclectic neighborhood of Long Island City with views of the city skyline, the East River and the Queensboro Bridge, allowing guests to take a step back and take in the city’s true beauty.Business travelers will appreciate the convenience of the 24-hour Business Center along with free Wi-Fi and copy and fax services. Those who find themselves exploring the Long Island City area can take advantage of the hotel’s complimentary local shuttle, available to take you to the nearby subway. The Wyndham Garden LIC hotel also has an on-site restaurant and a 24-hour fitness center, providing guests the conveniences needed for a comfortable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Wyndham, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Garden Long Island City Manhattan View Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.