We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Valentine's Day Win” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Laughing Devil Comedy Club

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Laughing Devil Comedy Club
4738 Vernon Blvd, Long Island City, NY
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Special Offer
Laughing Devil Comedy Club - Up to 90% Off
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Reservations
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Valentine's Day Win”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We'd only just started seeing each other, so doing something special on Valentine's Day was critical. Noting her interest in comedy, I surprised her with reservations to the evening's showcase at Laughing Devil. The club was welcoming and very neighborhoody--not the intimidating, blase' Manhattan experience that I've had before. True, it's tiny, but if you're from here that's perfectly natural. Being seated right next to the stage was initially intimidating, but the waitress and the performers made it not only painless but a great experience--they actually take the time to interact with their customers, and we were really made to feel comfortable and appreciated. We had a fantastic time, our faces ached from laughing so much, and we'll definitely be returning! I'd also say it would be a fantastic place to take out-of-town guests, not just for the comedy but the drink menu and light fare; it's also a great location for Hunter's Point in LIC, with a lot of options for local food and drink (and late-night waterfront strolls).

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    7
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
“Great laughs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

First time visiting this place with my friend. Didnt know what to expect. Food is exelent and service too. Drinks was delicious. Great place to relax. Cant wait to be back!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fun, reasonably priced night out.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Went with a few friends to this spot. This is my second visit. Not too far from the G train and a few buses. It looks more desolate than it is when you get out of the train at night as it's in a residential neighborhood. The commercial strip it's on is pretty lively though, especially on the weekends.

This is a nice incubator for new comics and more established folks trying out new material. Kinda old-school that way, out of the glare of more 'high stakes' locales like UCB and PIT or Caroline's, etc. A relaxed, small space. My friends ate up their food and seemed to have no complaints about the drinks. The prices were good. Better than usual for bar food at a nightclub. There are other places around if you want a big meal before checking the comics out.

This would be a nice place for a date night (just don't sit near the front if you don't want to be called on -- as is the case with most comic clubs) as it's dark and intimate. So far the comics I've heard have had a bit of an edge but haven't been super-confrontational. Then again, I haven't gone on a night where there was a major headliner yet.

They have a bar in the back of the club/front of the building and there were quite a few merry-makers there. Sometimes the sound came through or they decided to heckle a little but just enough to give the comic something to bounce off of. They seem to cultivate adult material but not to raunchy from the comics or the crowd. It's more low-key.

Older teens/college students seem to like it here as do a few out-of-towners who don't want the pressure of going to a place in the city. Very easy to get around once you become familiar with the area or use a GPS device. The instructions via subway could be a bit clearer on the website and a bit easier to read there but they're not at all hard to figure out.

Personally, I'm glad there's a place like this out of the glare of hyper-hipster 'hoods. A nice evening with light fare to check out on it's own or before heading out for late night clubs or maybe as a hang out after dinner. They usually have shows on the weekend at around 8 and 10:30.

Oh -- and their tchotchke and t-shirts are kinda cute! Nice souvenirs if you're visiting from out-of-town.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great night out in LIC.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

Laughing Devil is a small intimate club that seems to really appreciate its guests. Everyone was very polite and homey and they don't give off the usual too cool for school comedy club attitude. With its narrow, small environment, it's not necessarily the best way to experience live comedy but that's more the comedians' brunt to bear than the audience. The food is pretty good and the servers were very attentive, even in the dark.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Laughs , Great Food, excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Second time there. It is so worth taking the trip there for an excellent experience. Try the portobello quesadilla and salad- best food I have ever had in a comedy club. Cant wait to be back!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Laughing Devil Comedy Club also viewed

Long Island City, NY
Long Island City, NY
 
Long Island City, NY
Long Island City, NY
 

Been to Laughing Devil Comedy Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laughing Devil Comedy Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.