We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice breakfast on Marathon Sunday morning” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Court Square Diner

Court Square Diner
4530 23rd St, Long Island City, NY 11101-4726
718-392-1222
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Ignore all the photos on their website. The place was updated to a wonderful diner motif about a year ago. It didn't change the food, however, which has always been "very good restaurant" quality.
Galway
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Nice breakfast on Marathon Sunday morning”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We were staying at a local hotel during our NYC visit and decided to go for a 'special' breakfast on Marathon Sunday morning. Court Square Diner certainly served up a very nice meal indeed, my eggs Benedict were very tasty and the kids also enjoyed their fried eggs. Plenty of OJ and coffee as well. This place does offer a genuine American diner experience with booth seating and plenty of chrome in evidence. Service was good too.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    43
    10
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A good, enjoyable breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

First, the Court Square Diner is attractive to look at. With it's bright exterior, It looks like a movie set for an attractive diner in its heyday. You almost know it's going to be good before you step inside.

The menu is what you'd expect in a diner, but I found that everything tastes somewhat better here than in most other diners or breakfast places. I enjoyed the nice choice of veggie omelets, (we went here two days in a row, and I could try different ones), plus the good coffee (with free refills, orange juice and home fries.

Service was good and the prices were fine. If this place was near where I live in the Boston suburbs, it would be mobbed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Pretty great diner when you're done with graffiti”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

After you've had your fun exploring 5Ptz and if you'd like pathetic PS1, feel free to grab some food at this diner. It's pretty good diner food especially their brunch deals with mimosas and a regular drink item. I had some great breakfast burritos and my friend had decent french toast. I'm willing to bet that their milkshakes and pies are great but I lay off the dairy these outside of cheese so yeah.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Great Prices, Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stopped here on a Monday evening on the recommendation from a nearby restaurant that was closing, so figured it must be good. The prices were decent with $12.95 specials. I got a half (baked) chicken with leek gravy over rice. The chicken was very tender, basic but good. The gravy was more like cream of chicken soup but satisfying. I paid $1 more for French Onion Soup that was a bit plain but smothered with cheese-yum.

My husband got the 1/2 pound grilled hamburger steak with salad, baked potato and peas and carrots. The steak was very tasty with a good grilled flavor.

The rolls were dry and basically not edible.

We shared a piece of chocolate cream pie. Here looks can be deceiving. It was huge and looked great. Well, the "crust" was a thin layer of stale chocolate cake. That was covered with chocolate pudding and then there was a huge layer of stiff white cream that had absorbed fridge taste. The other desserts all looked huge and delicious but if the result is like this I would skip them.

While we were there many locals came in for takeout. They take credit cards, which is a plus for a diner in New York.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
“A great diner experience 24 / 7”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Stopped here for a late night meal - nowhere else seemed to be open (though Dutch Kills probably was but fancied the diner experience instead)
Chicken and spinach wrap was delicious (and huge); husband really enjoyed his corned beef hash.
Proper diner fare and experience - what's not to like?!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Court Square Diner also viewed

Long Island City, NY
 

Been to Court Square Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Court Square Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.