We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only go here if you are on a tight budget and can't stay in Manhattan” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Red Roof Inn to your Saves list
Red Roof Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3805 Hunters Point Avenue, Long Island City, NY 11101 (Formerly Queensboro Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 26 Hotels in Long Island City
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Only go here if you are on a tight budget and can't stay in Manhattan”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Drab, high-carb only breakfast, but close enough to walk to the 7-Flushing which will take you in to Manhattan quickly. The room was your average room, fine for sleeping at night but I wouldn't want to spend any more time here. I'd prefer to eat for under $5 at the liquor store around the corner rather than eat the complimentary breakfast here. Besides the small dining room is crowded if you sleep in (maybe 9am ish).

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    148
    80
    51
    40
See reviews for
95
118
33
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Booking.com handled the electronic reservation, Amex guaranteed the rooms. Yet even with two heavyweights on our side, we did not get what we paid for. Two queen beds became one. The "city view" became a room overlooking the expressway; and it was a loud, busy expressway.

Breakfast was 7-9 am, but even at 8 am there was no milk for the cereal or coffee, no juice in the machine and lean pickings for the rest. The dining room (actually its the lobby and service entrance) attendant explained the delivery was late. We stayed there 3 nights. Breakfast did not improve. Cleaning staff were friendly, but missed things like the in-room coffee machine.

Free parking, but only 15 spots for 80 guests. Tip: get there early, and take the rooms in the back, they are infinitely quieter. Free shuttle if you have lots of time, but don't expect it to be there on schedule. Sort of a hit and miss.

Room Tip: rooms in the back of the hotel only. the front faces expressway. Rinse out the in-room coffee maker...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Stopped at this hotel on a USA roadtrip - easy access from the highway. Had to circle the block to enter the car park but we were pleased to find a space to park for free. Arrived at 10am so obviously couldn't check in but they let us leave our car. We walked the 10/15minutes up to the subway station - seemed pretty safe to us but we never did it after about 9pm.

The room was clean and the bathroom had everything we needed. The TV and wi-fi worked well for us. We weren't in the room a lot but didn't suffer from any bed-bug or noise-related issues. We also, perhaps naively, left our laptops, i-pads etc. in the room and they were still there everyday when we returned. The breakfast was pretty basic but we managed to grab bagels or muffins, even though there is nowhere near enough seating. Most people have to take it back to their rooms to eat. The woman in charge of breakfast was a lot less friendly than most of our breakfast experiences along our trip, it must be said.

Our biggest issues were that the phone in our room was completely non-functional, as was the hairdryer. This is a very basic hotel but I think these things should be checked as a standard.

Nevertheless, if you want to see all the sights in NYC and yet stay in a budget hotel, this will work well for you. We were two young females and always felt safe both in, and travelling to/from the hotel. Would not recommend if you want a luxury/particularly special trip to the city, but for a budget traveller I would definitely recommend, especially if you have a car.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynwood
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

The first time i stayed at the Red Roof inn was in November 2011, but back then it was called the Queensboro Hotel. This year i chose it again because my first stay was pleasant, and loved that the subway was of walking distance. Mr. Gonzalez, the night manager made us feel welcomed again. Didn't expect he'd still be there. Very friendly and helpful just like the first time we stayed. Also Mr. Remy was a big help. It is of walking distance to the subway 7 that takes u just about everywhere. If u are not going to spend much time in the hotel, this is the hotel for you. It is located in a nice, quiet, and safe area. Our room was clean, the bathroom spotless, and noise free. Loved the free wi-fi. Hands down to the night staff. Great customer service is what made me go back. Thank you again Mr. Gonzalez and Mr. Remy. You made our stay great, and i wouldn't hesitate to book there again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I thought I was lucky to find this hotel - free parking, 30 minutes to Midtown Manhattan by subway, almost half price of other comparable hotels. Those perks still are there, but... after 3 nights stay, I have 30+ bedbug bites all over my arms and legs. Now I spend my days in fear of bringing some undesired souvenir (aka bedbugs) back home with me...

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

A nice hotel easy access from the highway and nice and quiet, it felt safe and has a nice pool. The breakfast was good, so why unlucky? After an easy check in we went to our room which had a musty smell, I soon found the reason, the carpet by the bed was soaked, it must of been recently cleaned and was still wet. We were offered another room but just wanted to get to sleep after travelling a long way. When we pulled back the covers the matress was wet as well, by now we were past complaining so decided just to use the other bed which was fine. Next day the reception staff were very apologetic and said they would inform the manager of the problems we had found.
I am sure this was just a one off mistake and we could of moved rooms if we hadn't of been so tired.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lapeer, Michigan
Level Contributor
77 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

The bed was kinda firm. Pillows were great! Towels were not soft! Staff was great. Location was good for what I needed. Shower was great. Ac worked well. Breakfast was pretty average. Parking was super tight. I would stay again!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Red Roof Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn

Address: 3805 Hunters Point Avenue, Long Island City, NY 11101 (Formerly Queensboro Hotel)
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 26 Hotels in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located hotel near the Midtown Tunnel, just four miles from Manhattan off the Long Island Expressway (LIE) Rt. 495 and Brooklyn Queens Expressway (BQE), Rt. 278. The hotel is located 5.2 miles from La Guardia Airport (LGA)/ 9.8 miles from John F. Kennedy Airport (JFK). We are at a walkable distance to many popular restaurants serving local cuisine. Hop and skip to Manhattan, Times Square, Statue of Liberty, Empire State, Wall Street, Brooklyn, Broadway, CITI Field and Yankee Stadium and many points of interest daily by the #7 train which is just 3 blocks from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Red Roof Inn, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Red Roof Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Queens
Holiday Inn Queens
Holiday Inn Long Island City
Long Island City Holiday Inn
Red Roof Inn Long Island City, New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.