We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Think we were just unlucky with our stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn Queens

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Red Roof Inn Queens to your Saves list
Red Roof Inn Queens
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3805 Hunters Point Avenue, Long Island City, NY 11101 (Formerly Queensboro Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 26 Hotels in Long Island City
Wellington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Think we were just unlucky with our stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

A nice hotel easy access from the highway and nice and quiet, it felt safe and has a nice pool. The breakfast was good, so why unlucky? After an easy check in we went to our room which had a musty smell, I soon found the reason, the carpet by the bed was soaked, it must of been recently cleaned and was still wet. We were offered another room but just wanted to get to sleep after travelling a long way. When we pulled back the covers the matress was wet as well, by now we were past complaining so decided just to use the other bed which was fine. Next day the reception staff were very apologetic and said they would inform the manager of the problems we had found.
I am sure this was just a one off mistake and we could of moved rooms if we hadn't of been so tired.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    149
    88
    54
    42
See reviews for
103
123
33
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lapeer, Michigan
Level Contributor
77 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

The bed was kinda firm. Pillows were great! Towels were not soft! Staff was great. Location was good for what I needed. Shower was great. Ac worked well. Breakfast was pretty average. Parking was super tight. I would stay again!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rural ak
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

This is budget (cheap) hotel in an old building in a safer neighborhood. If you are looking for a place to sleep and shower without spending double, triple the money, this is it. Yes, the carpet is stained, the rooms tiny and smelly, and the free breakfast area crowded. This is not a shiny, spacious suburban hotel. But there is free parking. It is a very quick drive into Manhattan. You can walk to the 7 subway train, which is an economical and quick way to get into the city. We had a room on the highway side, but did not notice any noise with the AC on. A dresser drawer was broken- didn't care. Also DON'T leave anything in your room when you leave, if you don't want it taken. A guest next to me said he had a phone and charger taken when they went out. Never leave valuables in your room, in any city hotel!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sooke, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Got a cheap price on Hotwire for 70 dollars a night, then when we checked in realized that this is really a 2 star hotel, not like a real Red Roof Inn. Only one garbage receptacle in the room, shower curtain didn't close so water dripped on floor, and mattress was very hard. Thin bed covering so had to crank up the heat. Threadbare towels.

The reason why there are so many reviews here is that the staff encourage customers to submit reviews, of course in a positive fashion, so don't believe everything you read here about how wonderful it is, especially from reviewers who have written only one review.

I agree with previous reviews that it is a long walk to the 40 st Lowry subway station, about 15 minutes. Hourly shuttle service stops at 7 pm. Need to let front staff know you are going on shuttle. There is no business center, just a computer in the lobby that you have to pay to use. The free wifi is really slow and kicks you out constantly. The continental breakfast is typical of the lower end chain motels. Maids were friendly. Russian lady stern.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kraft4a3
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Stayed 3 nights with 8 year old son. Needed a hotel between Citifield and Manhattan. It was a half mile walk to the convenient 7 train. The walk was safe even at midnight when returning from Citifield.

Service was good. Room was clean. Showers an AC/Heat worked. Some fixtures broke but didn't effect functionality.

We slept well. Breakfast was just enough to get us going. Free wifi worked well.

We spent little time at the hotel so it was just good enough to serve its purpose. If you are looking for a great place to spend time this not the hotel for you. If you need a place to sleep and shower it will meet your expectations.

People we dealt with were friendly and helpful.

Found a safe place to stay and we were happy. A little traffic noise due to location, but I am a light sleeper and slept fine.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

i've been staying at this hotel for a long time now, never had a problem.... breakfast had no plates, no fruit, no yogurt, and no juices. how can that even be acceptable by Red Roof?and my microwave and my refrigerator was not working. my complaint goes to the MANAGER i believe his name was Sanjay. i don't know where they found this man im sorry to say but i never met such a rude uneducated hotel manger in my years of traveling, not only to my husband and I but even to his own employers you can see on the outside the way he belittles them and talks to them as if they were nobodys im disgusted that someone can talk to their own workers in such way. especially when there is eyes and ears everywhere. ive asked to talk to the manager several times during my stay and he just brushed me off and pretended he was on his cellular device he walked by me about 5 different times knowing i was waiting to talk to him and didn't even look my way, he treated me as if i was not a paying customer or even a person at all. he uses the front desk as his messanger instead of being a MANAGER and hearing what we had to say. he did not care at all. he does not greet anyone or have any hotel hospitality. the front desk people were very nice i checked in with Bianca very well mannered i had a reservation but it was not in their system we were very upset since we made it in January im happy to say she did everything she could to put our reservation in the computer when they were sold out and did get us the room we booked for. she handled everything very well being that when we checked in it was very busy in the lobby and she was on her own, she kept calm and was very friendly this is what guests look for, followed by luiz very funny guy. i always come to this hotel and everything always was on point until our last stay a manager is the face of the hotel. why would red roof hire someone with no customer service skills is beyond me you can not have someone like that working with people traveling from allover. i will not be coming back to this hotel, we had the worse stay here,

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

This hotel is great value for money. Walking distance from station to Manhatten with free shuttle service available to station. Unlimited hot drinks 24 hours and good continental breakfast make this hotel a really good base for exploring New York City. Free wi fi and communication package. The staff are so friendly with nothing too much trouble - particular mention to Luiz on reception who goes the extra mile to make guests feel welcome. We will use this hotel again when visiting NYC

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Long Island City hotels
0.4 mi away
City View Inn
City View Inn
#25 of 26 in Long Island City
3.0 of 5 stars 271 reviews
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Long Island City
Days Inn Long Island City
#26 of 26 in Long Island City
3.0 of 5 stars 411 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ramada Long Island City
Ramada Long Island City
#22 of 26 in Long Island City
3.5 of 5 stars 667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn Long Island City
Quality Inn Long Island City
#17 of 26 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 317 reviews
1.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New York City in Queens
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#19 of 26 in Long Island City
3.5 of 5 stars 1,190 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sleep Inn - Long Island City
Sleep Inn - Long Island City
#8 of 26 in Long Island City
4.0 of 5 stars 591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Queens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Queens

Address: 3805 Hunters Point Avenue, Long Island City, NY 11101 (Formerly Queensboro Hotel)
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 26 Hotels in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof Inn Queens 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located hotel near the Midtown Tunnel, just four miles from Manhattan off the Long Island Expressway (LIE) Rt. 495 and Brooklyn Queens Expressway (BQE), Rt. 278. The hotel is located 5.2 miles from La Guardia Airport (LGA)/ 9.8 miles from John F. Kennedy Airport (JFK). We are at a walkable distance to many popular restaurants serving local cuisine. Hop and skip to Manhattan, Times Square, Statue of Liberty, Empire State, Wall Street, Brooklyn, Broadway, CITI Field and Yankee Stadium and many points of interest daily by the #7 train which is just 3 blocks from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Red Roof Inn, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Red Roof Inn Queens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Queens
Holiday Inn Queens
Holiday Inn Long Island City
Long Island City Holiday Inn
Red Roof Inn Queens Long Island City, New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn Queens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.