We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Served its purpose” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Red Roof Inn to your Saves list
Red Roof Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3805 Hunters Point Avenue, Long Island City, NY 11101 (Formerly Queensboro Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 24 Hotels in Long Island City
kraft4a3
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Served its purpose”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Stayed 3 nights with 8 year old son. Needed a hotel between Citifield and Manhattan. It was a half mile walk to the convenient 7 train. The walk was safe even at midnight when returning from Citifield.

Service was good. Room was clean. Showers an AC/Heat worked. Some fixtures broke but didn't effect functionality.

We slept well. Breakfast was just enough to get us going. Free wifi worked well.

We spent little time at the hotel so it was just good enough to serve its purpose. If you are looking for a great place to spend time this not the hotel for you. If you need a place to sleep and shower it will meet your expectations.

People we dealt with were friendly and helpful.

Found a safe place to stay and we were happy. A little traffic noise due to location, but I am a light sleeper and slept fine.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    130
    70
    41
    32
See reviews for
79
108
28
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

i've been staying at this hotel for a long time now, never had a problem.... breakfast had no plates, no fruit, no yogurt, and no juices. how can that even be acceptable by Red Roof?and my microwave and my refrigerator was not working. my complaint goes to the MANAGER i believe his name was Sanjay. i don't know where they found this man im sorry to say but i never met such a rude uneducated hotel manger in my years of traveling, not only to my husband and I but even to his own employers you can see on the outside the way he belittles them and talks to them as if they were nobodys im disgusted that someone can talk to their own workers in such way. especially when there is eyes and ears everywhere. ive asked to talk to the manager several times during my stay and he just brushed me off and pretended he was on his cellular device he walked by me about 5 different times knowing i was waiting to talk to him and didn't even look my way, he treated me as if i was not a paying customer or even a person at all. he uses the front desk as his messanger instead of being a MANAGER and hearing what we had to say. he did not care at all. he does not greet anyone or have any hotel hospitality. the front desk people were very nice i checked in with Bianca very well mannered i had a reservation but it was not in their system we were very upset since we made it in January im happy to say she did everything she could to put our reservation in the computer when they were sold out and did get us the room we booked for. she handled everything very well being that when we checked in it was very busy in the lobby and she was on her own, she kept calm and was very friendly this is what guests look for, followed by luiz very funny guy. i always come to this hotel and everything always was on point until our last stay a manager is the face of the hotel. why would red roof hire someone with no customer service skills is beyond me you can not have someone like that working with people traveling from allover. i will not be coming back to this hotel, we had the worse stay here,

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

This hotel is great value for money. Walking distance from station to Manhatten with free shuttle service available to station. Unlimited hot drinks 24 hours and good continental breakfast make this hotel a really good base for exploring New York City. Free wi fi and communication package. The staff are so friendly with nothing too much trouble - particular mention to Luiz on reception who goes the extra mile to make guests feel welcome. We will use this hotel again when visiting NYC

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Free parking, SWEET! This hotel was clean and the staff was super sweet and funny!!!!! They offer free shuttle from certain times to the 7 train that runs into the city (which is not a long walk if you miss the shuttle times! its in a nice area). I was super scared when i booked my room and was super excited when i arrived and the room was really clean!!! The only complaint i had was that the room was a little musty smelling like a leak had happened and it was not caught for a wile. I did not have the breakfast so i have no comment about that!!! I would recommend this hotel!!! I am a picky person when it comes to hotels as i have worked house keeping and know how things work and what normal people dont look for! Its a good price :).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goffstown, NH
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

We had been to a Red Roof Inn in So. Deerfield, MA in February and the property was very good. So when I looked for hotels in the NYC area that were a good bargain I booked it. Sorry to say I made a mistake. We guy there 25 minutes before checkin and they would not do a thing for us. The room was small and had few amenities. The bathroom was awful, could not close the shower curtain. The subway was much further than they said in their add. There was a shuttle to it but it did not run in time and stopped at 7:00pm. The breakfast was only fair and there was no place close to walk to eat. My suggestion is to really check any place out more thoroughly before you book.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Des Moines, Iowa
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

This property is a bit hard to find but once you get there it is pretty good and for the price a great deal. Limited parking . Close to Expressway. Fairly decent breakfast. rooms appear recently updated. I thought the staff was very helpful. If planning to be in Mahatten a lot not the best location but for Brooklyn and east of Manhatten a good deal. Would stay there agan . paid 75 a night on Hotwire for 2 night weekend stay. FOr NYC that is a bargain

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights, overall the hotell standard is OK. The rooms are clean, lots of hot water in the showers etc. short walk(10 min) to subway(40 lowry street) and a great diner (petes diner)

The Subway takes you in to the center of manhattan, grand central/times square.

The breakfast on red roof inn is OK!

friendly staff, and helpfull reception!

Room Tip: if you can choose room, choose one not on the ground floor, it could be a bit noisy when people came...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Roof Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn

Address: 3805 Hunters Point Avenue, Long Island City, NY 11101 (Formerly Queensboro Hotel)
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 24 Hotels in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located hotel near the Midtown Tunnel, just four miles from Manhattan off the Long Island Expressway (LIE) Rt. 495 and Brooklyn Queens Expressway (BQE), Rt. 278. The hotel is located 5.2 miles from La Guardia Airport (LGA)/ 9.8 miles from John F. Kennedy Airport (JFK). We are at a walkable distance to many popular restaurants serving local cuisine. Hop and skip to Manhattan, Times Square, Statue of Liberty, Empire State, Wall Street, Brooklyn, Broadway, CITI Field and Yankee Stadium and many points of interest daily by the #7 train which is just 3 blocks from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Reservation Counter, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Red Roof Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Queens
Holiday Inn Queens
Holiday Inn Long Island City
Long Island City Holiday Inn
Red Roof Inn Long Island City, New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.