We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, nice people, reasonable price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn

Save Saved
You added Red Roof Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Red Roof Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3805 Hunters Point Avenue, Long Island City, NY 11101 (Formerly Queensboro Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Fort Wayne, Indiana
1 review
“Great service, nice people, reasonable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was visiting New York City for a week, and all I had heard about it was how rude the people were. However, my hotel stay, at least, was an extremely pleasant experience. The front-desk attendant, Remi, was very helpful. He was friendly and even helped us park our car. The rooms were clean and nice, and overall my stay was excellent. The hotel is in the suburbs so it's quiet, and it's a quick 8 or 10 block walk to the 7-train. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    66
    138
    66
    38
    28
See reviews for
67
93
26
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Lafayette, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Overall a very good place to stay at for a vacation in NYC, not too far away from the metro station, the staff was very helpful too, the area also has a lot of restaurants in the area, which is quiet helpful on a trip like this.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here on a weekend trip to New York City. Would recommend it. In a quiet residential neighborhood and a 10 min walk to the train. Continental breakfast is good. Parking is limited. Better get there early for both

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

with the amenities provided at this price, nothing can beat it. some reviews said that they were not satisfied, but i had no problems.. the room and bathroom was clean, warm staff. i would come here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

You get what you are promised. I was there for 3 nights and felt comfortable. The rooms were good & the complimentary breakfast was decent. But the best part about this place is the service, the staff is friendly and helpful. Another good thing is the locality is safe. The location is also comfortable for people travelling on a tight budget (spending more in NYC) since it is located close to a subway station. I would recommend this to my friends.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

After checking in for a two night stay we were very unhappy with our room, #329. After reading many good reviews of this hotel, which is located facing the Long Island Expressway, we requested a room on the side of the hotel not facing the expressway. The hallway and room was very dirty, extremely worn and abused. Our king sized bed was very tattered looking with a wrinkly dirty coverlet. The furniture was stained and dirty, potato chip crumbs on desk, and a used toiletry bottle was laying on the floor at the foot of the bed. The white fiberglass shower was dirty and had a huge amount of black duct tape which was securing the hand rail and soap dish. The floor was very spotty soiled. The carpet in this unit was very old and dirty and had an inch of grey "dust" and other residue all the way around the perimeter. We went back to the inappropriately flirtatious man at the reception desk and told him the room was totally unacceptable. Although feigning shock that I said it was very dirty, he gave us a new room,#112, and we inspected it before accepting a key. Much better, newer carpet and furnishings. Much cleaner although some areas of bathroom baseboard were crumbling and mildewed. Free breakfast was good, breakfast area clean.

Room Tip: No restaurant in or near this hotel. Breakfast buffet average and maintained by pleasant staff. Be s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

I recently spent 4 nights at this Red Roof Inn. First of all, it is not in Long Island City (as most of the booking sites list it), but rather in Sunnyside Queens (a very nice, quiet residential neighborhood.) I found my room to be small but comfortable (Samsung flat screen is a plus) with decent linens and a clean room. The staff is friendly and the price was definitely the selling point. There was some repair work to the bathroom that distracted from the overall appearance to the room. The hotel is directly on an exit from the Long Island Expressway, facing Calvary Cemetary and the Kosciusko Bridge (in the distance.) It is a more attractive hotel for those who arrive by car because of its proximity to major highways. If you rely on the subway, the closest station is a little more than six blocks away (15 minute walk.) Once on the subway (7 train) its only a few stops before you're in Manhattan. Once again, this is a residential neighborhood and absolutely nothing "touristy" is going on here. Even the restarants available are limited. But it is a nice, safe neighborhood. I experienced very little noise from the traffic that was literally just outside of my window. I would expect the rooms on the opposite side of the hotel to be even quieter. One thing I noticed was that my room had no drawers to put clothing in, only a wardrobe with a top shelf. Also, the only flat surfaces in the room were the end table (which afforded very little space) and the window sill. There is no table in the room. Microwave and refrigerator were greatly appreciated!

Room Tip: Get a room that is not on the Long Island Expressway side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Red Roof Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Queens
Holiday Inn Queens
Holiday Inn Long Island City
Long Island City Holiday Inn
Red Roof Inn Long Island City, New York
Address: 3805 Hunters Point Avenue, Long Island City, NY 11101 (Formerly Queensboro Hotel)
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 23 hotels in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located hotel near the Midtown Tunnel, just four miles from Manhattan off the Long Island Expressway (LIE) Rt. 495 and Brooklyn Queens Expressway (BQE), Rt. 278. The hotel is located 5.2 miles from La Guardia Airport (LGA)/ 9.8 miles from John F. Kennedy Airport (JFK). We are at a walkable distance to many popular restaurants serving local cuisine. Hop and skip to Manhattan, Times Square, Statue of Liberty, Empire State, Wall Street, Brooklyn, Broadway, CITI Field and Yankee Stadium and many points of interest daily by the #7 train which is just 3 blocks from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Red Roof Inn, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Red Roof Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.