We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very reasonably priced...as long as you don't mind bed bugs” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn

Save Saved
You added Red Roof Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3805 Hunters Point Avenue, Long Island City, NY 11101 (Formerly Queensboro Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 23 hotels in Long Island City
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Very reasonably priced...as long as you don't mind bed bugs”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Location - Best part about this hotel....It's about a 10 minute walk to the subway, which is a quick ride to Times Square. Beats paying over $200/night in Manhatten. The neighbourhood looked a little run down but I think it's just old. Columbian restaurant close by serves up big servings. There was also a Williamsburg burger place close by - twas ok. Hotel was close to the highway.

Hotel - parking was limited, but I got a spot. Parking lot on the side of the hotel is tight. There is also parking in front of the hotel.

Breakfast - hard to find seating, crowded. Enough food to eat for me but my son got tired of the selection and wanted hot food. Oatmeal, yogurt, waffles, fruit, cereals, bread, bagels, coffee, tea, hot chocolate, juice, fruits.

Room - small - we were 4 people. Appeared clean. Not enough towels and depending on when you asked, you may have to wait until housekeeping comes in the morning. Every morning housekeeping would knock on our door and ask if we needed our room cleaned that day. That's the first time this has happened to us. Shouldn't housekeeping just clean your room every day - no need to ask?

The Staff - no complaints about the staff. They were accommodating. Not overly friendly but certainly polite.

Bed Bugs - About 3 days after I arrived at the hotel, I got a few itchy spots on my arms and thought mosquitos in Central Park might have bit me that day. The next day I saw a bug on a towel on the bathroom floor. I googled bed bug images and confirmed this bug was a bed bug. This bug appeared in daylight. There must be an infestation if you can see it in the bathroom...away from the bed..in daylight. Did a little more googling later on that night and saw that some people only react to bed bugs bites after a few days, so I suspect the bugs were biting me from day 1. Some people might not even react to their bites. I think I was the only one in the room who reacted to the bites...and thank goodness I did. If I had no reaction, I would not have inspected every piece of clothing and placed each piece of clothing into garbage bags. Took 3 of us 3 hours, until midnight, to go through all the clothes, bags, etc. Since bed bugs come out when it's dark, I thought if I left the light on, they wouldn't come out...But they did,,,I slept in the car that night, and checked out the next day.

I was still reacting to bug bites days after I arrived home. Got corticosteroids prescribed to help with the blisters & itchiness due to the bites. Left the clothes, luggage in the sweltering heat of the car, for
days, in the hopes that if there were any little hitchhikers, they would die. Then washed/dried all the clothes. Left all the luggage in the garage for a month. Took a few weeks before all the blisters fell off. I still have scars where the bigger blisters were. Spent more time learning about these critters and worrying that I brought them home, given they can survive without a meal for months.

I would not recommend it...Although very reasonably priced it's not worth the $$ in savings in exchange for bed bug bites and the effort you have to put in to prevent them from coming home with you.

In fairness, I heard that NYC is the worst place wrt bed bug infestations, but maybe housekeeping should make it part of their job to vacuum each room, every day, instead of finding a way to skip out.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    60
    127
    64
    38
    29
See reviews for
72
102
28
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Missouri
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

We stayed here during the weekend of the New York Marathon. Very good location and not nearly the price of staying on Manhattan. You can take the shuttle service to the nearby subway station and catch the Number 7 into Manhattan with little trouble. We chose to walk to and from the station and found the neighborhood part of the New York experience. We are small town people and this was all very different for us. We never felt unsafe, even when getting off the train late in the evening.
As for the hotel, it is a basic property, average hotel breakfast, average cleanliness for NY, helpful and pleasant staff. It is right by the freeway, but with the fan of the AC unit on it never bothered our sleep. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio F, General Manager at Red Roof Inn, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Thank you. I appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Queens Red Roof Inn,
I will make sure to share your comments with the rest of our team. Feedback from our guests is always welcome as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our service,

Thank you again for sharing your experience. We look forward to seeing you in your future travels.

Sincerely,

Ignacio Fonseca

General Manager
Red Roof Inn – Queens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We turned up at the Red Roof Inn and was pleasantly surprised by the hotel. Its location is awesome and the free shuttle service to the train station is handy. 10 mins into times square. All staff were very kind and helpful. The only reason I did not give it 5 stars was we had a room at the side of the expressway and you could hear those impatient new york car drivers peeping their horns until evening. And the breakfast could have had a better selection but was still great.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not beside the expressway
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio F, General Manager at Red Roof Inn, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Thank you. I appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Queens Red Roof Inn,
I will make sure to share your comments with the rest of our team. Feedback from our guests is always welcome as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our service, also I will like to apologies about the noise at the high way bother you during you rest time.

Thank you again for sharing your experience. We look forward to seeing you in your future travels.

Sincerely,

Ignacio Fonseca

General Manager
Red Roof Inn – Queens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San José, San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Good price in a location very close to Manhattan. We came to this hotel through Hotwire and it was a great pick. Very good priced, very close to town, a little bit far from train station but management solved it by having a free shuttle! Luis at the front desk is a great guy always trying to help!
Would go back there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio F, General Manager at Red Roof Inn, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you. I appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Queens Red Roof Inn,
I will make sure to share your comments with the rest of our team. Feedback from our guests is always welcome as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our service,

Thank you again for sharing your experience. We look forward to seeing you in your future travels.

Sincerely,

Ignacio Fonseca

General Manager
Red Roof Inn – Queens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We arrived at the red roof inn at 11.00pm and were met by friendly check in staff. When we went to our room we could smell dampness but we were that excited to be there after a long journey we left it. In the morning we went to breakfast which was very busy. We just got a couple of yoghurts and took them to our room. The room was dusty and needing a hoover and clean.
We generally left the hotel about 11.00 and did not return till very late. It's a great location and a good neighbourhood, some good pubs and takeaways close by.
Overall we enjoyed our stay, however, the only suggestions I would make would be that the rooms could be cleaner, ours certainly had not been hoovered properly the whole time we stayed and that breakfast finished too early at 9.00am when we were still sleeping from the night before. We also had housekeeping chap on our door at around 8.00am on a couple of occasions.
New York was amazing though and we will certainly be back.

Room Tip: get a room at the back if traffic bothers you, it was not a problem for us though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio F, General Manager at Red Roof Inn, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you. I appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Queens Red Roof Inn,
Please take my apologies for any inconvenience, I will definite I will have our housekeeping department take action’s on the cleaning part, I will do all my best to have rectify this issues so we can serve you better on the future , I will make sure to share your comments with the rest of our team

Thank you again for sharing your experience. We look forward to seeing you in your future travels.

Sincerely,

Ignacio Fonseca

General Manager
Red Roof Inn - Queens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I'm going to try to make this more subjective and objective and as non-judgmental as possible. They got my name and email address wrong on the reservation; the first room they had for us was unprepared in that the beds were unmade; the room we moved into had mold in the bathroom; the room's phone jacks were falling out of the wall; some of the switches were out altogether; the room's curtains were not properly hanging; that room's toilet kept running; the room's sink leaked out of the handle when turned on; the room's clock and phone did not work; the room cost roughly $200 for 2 people for one night with all of this stuff present. I can say more but I'm afraid the rest of it will come off as an opinionated rant and won't accomplish my objective of successfully ruining this red roof inn's reputation.

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel aside from this one, for the price of this one, if you pay ten to twenty dolla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio F, General Manager at Red Roof Inn, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you. I appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Queens Red Roof Inn,
Please take my apologies for any inconvenience, and am sure I will take care this issues personal so this don’t happen again, I hope you give us the opportunity to serve in the future, and I sure that time will be much better, so our hotel be in your future plans, I will make sure to share your comments with the rest of our team

Thank you again for sharing your experience. We look forward to seeing you in your future travels.

Sincerely,

Ignacio Fonseca

General Manager
Red Roof Inn - Queens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeuwarden, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Located near the highway this hotel was easy to find with our rental. We dropped our luggage, drove the car to LaGuardia and grabbed a taxi back to the hotel (around 20 dollar, tip included).

The rooms are not big, but large enough for just the 2 of us. When you have more than 2 suitcases, the rooms might be too small. Everything was clean!

While the breakfast itself is good (waffles, toast, muffins, cereal, yogurt, etc.) the room is way to small. There are only seats for about 20-30 persons.

The hotel is located 10 minutes walking from the 44st Lowery St. metro (Line 7), which will take you to Manhattan in around 10-15 minutes. We always felt safe while walking from/to the metro. If you prefer to take a taxi, the staff can arrange a taxi for you.

Overall, this hotel offers good value for your money. It's a bit further from all Manhattan-based attractions, but it's much better for your budget.

Room Tip: Need a taxi? The staff can help you with that. If you want to pay with a creditcard, don't forge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ignacio F, General Manager at Red Roof Inn, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you. I appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Queens Red Roof Inn,
I will make sure to share your comments with the rest of our team. Feedback from our guests is always welcome as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our service,

Thank you again for sharing your experience. We look forward to seeing you in your future travels.

Sincerely,

Ignacio Fonseca

General Manager
Red Roof Inn – Queens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Red Roof Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn

Address: 3805 Hunters Point Avenue, Long Island City, NY 11101 (Formerly Queensboro Hotel)
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 23 hotels in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located hotel near the Midtown Tunnel, just four miles from Manhattan off the Long Island Expressway (LIE) Rt. 495 and Brooklyn Queens Expressway (BQE), Rt. 278. The hotel is located 5.2 miles from La Guardia Airport (LGA)/ 9.8 miles from John F. Kennedy Airport (JFK). We are at a walkable distance to many popular restaurants serving local cuisine. Hop and skip to Manhattan, Times Square, Statue of Liberty, Empire State, Wall Street, Brooklyn, Broadway, CITI Field and Yankee Stadium and many points of interest daily by the #7 train which is just 3 blocks from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Red Roof Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Queens
Holiday Inn Queens
Holiday Inn Long Island City
Long Island City Holiday Inn
Red Roof Inn Long Island City, New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.