We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inexpensive option in NYC.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Red Roof Inn to your Saves list
Red Roof Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3805 Hunters Point Avenue, Long Island City, NY 11101 (Formerly Queensboro Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 25 Hotels in Long Island City
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Inexpensive option in NYC.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed in the hotel for 9 nights on B&B basis.I must say that the breakfast is very basic + the paper plates and plastic cutlery as well as the tiny breakfast area...but at least they make an effort to include something in the very reasonable price.
We found all the staff very helpful and nice.
It is about 10 minutes walk to the metro station in a nice,quiet and safe area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    135
    72
    44
    33
See reviews for
82
111
31
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I had booked a room for a week with a king size bed on May 26 for 9/26-10/6 and received a confirmation # and they took my credit card # as well., mind you I had called them up directly, didn't use the internet. They answered all my questions and I felt good about my booking. I was coming from CA and since my plane would be arriving about 9:30 pm I called THE DAY BEFORE to let them know I was coming in late and was confirmed that was alright and they still had my king size room.

When we arrived at LaGuardia we found that one of my wife's luggage did not make the trip with us (that's a story for another time). By the time we pick-up our rental car and arrived at the hotel
it was about 12:30 am. Exhausted, but finally got to we thought check-in. The person at the front desk was nice and we gave him our name and confirmation #. After asking me alot of questions that he was inputing in his computer we start waiting. Five minutes, then ten minutes pass, he is looking at his computer and not saying a word. Then he lets me know that they tried running my credit card earlier and it was rejected and did not have my room. REJECTED WTF, never happened before, so my wife immediately calls the credit card company right in front of him and
they tell her that there was never any rejection today or ever on my credit card. After telling this to the front desk clerk, he starts with all this BS. He finally tells us that he has one room left on the 1st floor that he can give us. Sounds good, my wife asks to see the room. Well she comes out screaming, its a twin bed, on a steel frame with what looks like a prison mattress (that thin), and the rest of the room was not any better. After another 10 minutes of arguing, he says that he
will look for another room for us at nearby hotels. He finally finds a hotel that has 1 room left with a king-size bed, the Fairfield Inn about 5 minutes away. He than tells us he got a great deal for
us (were thinking, at least we will have a comp room for tonight), it will cost an extra $50 more than we were going to pay with Red Roof. At this point it was almost 1:30 am, where the hell will we be going in New York. Needless to say, we told him to hold the room and finally got into our room at the Fairfield at about 2 am, as it turns out the hotel was nice and we stayed the whole week.

This was a long review on what happened to us with the Red Roof Inn. I would recommend that you stay away as I'm sure they where getting more for my room since they where sold out. This was a very deceptive way to treat a customer and lie about what happened.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I booked this hotel as i had stayed in Long Island City before found Manhattan easy and quick to reach so why pay expensive city prices? Its around a 10 minute walk to the 7 train. The area is fine with no problems after dark. The hotel check in was smooth. There are safety deposit boxes behind the desk. The room was clean and tidy. There is a bit of noise from a main road outside but you are in NYC! I didnt bother with the complimentary breakfast as Petes Diner is just up the road for brilliant hot breakfasts. If your on a tight budget then give this hotel a go. It will also get you used to using the subway.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights in October 2012. Rooms 323 and 325 have bedbugs. I was bitten and two friends in another room were fairly eaten alive. The management doesn't even bother to get the hallways vacuumed. I felt dirty staying there even before I was bitten. The breakfast room is not very big but people tend to eat quickly so it isn't really an issue. The self serve breakfast is substantial which is the one good thing. The photos you see on Trip Advisor are older and a bit misleading: the place doesn't look that good in real life and is definitely not clean. When we brought live bedbugs to the front desk upon checkout they seemed unconcerned and unapologetic.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

We found this hotel was the cheapest place too stay for our 1 night trip to NYC. About 3 blocks from the subway it was a decent location. The rooms however were subpar. The first room they gave us smelled of mold so we asked to switch which they did without a problem. Our second room smelled better but everything looked like it hadn't been vaccuumed in some time. The whole place needs a facelift but it is decent for the price. One perk was the continental breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sourthwest Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

This place was great. We booked thru priceline and were able to get a non-smoking room with a queen size bed for $119/night -- and it was a "pay when you stay" room so they didn't even charge the credit card until we checked out.

This hotel is about a 10 minute walk to the 7 line at the 40th St-Lowery stop -- it'll take you right into Manhattan. The end of the line is at the Times Square stop - it takes about 20-30 minutes.

We flew into JFK - took the airtrain to the E and transferred to the 7. Took us about an hour but it's MUCH cheaper than a cab. I used to live in NY so I'm familiar with the subways - that might make a difference.

The hotel itself was clean and the staff was friendly. We arrived around 1pm and were actually able to check in right away. The rooms are small (but it's NYC so everything is tight on space) - it was kind of like a room in a Microtel. But, it was clean the the AC worked. Even in Oct, we kind of needed it. The room had a mini fridge and microwave, a full size ironing board and iron, coffee pot and hair dryer. Free wifi also.

The beds were a little too firm and the pillows kind of sucked. But, for 120 a night, near Manhattan, I'll take it. Our other option was sleeping on the couch at a friend's place. We were on the second floor on the front side of the building which faces a very busy street. It's a little loud but it's NY and I knew that it would be. I'm used to that.

Breakfast was pretty good BUT... GO EARLY. During the week, they serve breakfast from 6:30-9am. If you don't get down there before 7AM, the place is a MADHOUSE. Seriously, it's not a large space for breakfast and it gets super crowded. The food was good. They had some cereal options, toast, bagels, muffins, a Belgium waffle maker, yogurt, apples, oranges, and several juice and coffee options. They have sort of a breakfast attended who keeps everything full and clean and they will often come around and take your trash from you.

The stop on the 7 line has a lot around it - there's a CVS, a few fast food places, a bodega/deli, a few bars, and a pizza place. Great for grabbing a slice late at night.

As a former New Yorker myself - I was pretty pleased with finding this place. If you don't mind walking, it's a great location to stay. The price is great and the breakfast saves you from spending a fortune on overpriced eggs and coffee in the city.

Room Tip: Get to breakfast EARLY. It gets really crowded down there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Rooms really grubby ,hallway carpets disgusting, bed bugs room 225 , hot water is a plus ,breakfast room really small,central to manhattan on train, staff friendly enough but when I complained about bed bugs said was not his fault , the pictures are misleading , this hotel needs an update big time

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Roof Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn

Address: 3805 Hunters Point Avenue, Long Island City, NY 11101 (Formerly Queensboro Hotel)
Location: United States > New York > Long Island City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 25 Hotels in Long Island City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located hotel near the Midtown Tunnel, just four miles from Manhattan off the Long Island Expressway (LIE) Rt. 495 and Brooklyn Queens Expressway (BQE), Rt. 278. The hotel is located 5.2 miles from La Guardia Airport (LGA)/ 9.8 miles from John F. Kennedy Airport (JFK). We are at a walkable distance to many popular restaurants serving local cuisine. Hop and skip to Manhattan, Times Square, Statue of Liberty, Empire State, Wall Street, Brooklyn, Broadway, CITI Field and Yankee Stadium and many points of interest daily by the #7 train which is just 3 blocks from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Red Roof Inn, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Red Roof Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Queens
Holiday Inn Queens
Holiday Inn Long Island City
Long Island City Holiday Inn
Red Roof Inn Long Island City, New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.